We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #52 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013

If your budget will stretch to it, this hotel is well worth staying in. Service, food, and facilities are all excellent. The rooms are clean, spacious, and well maintained. The staff at reception are most helpful and the staff in the spa are particularly friendly. The room service is very good quality but the buffet on the ground floor is even better and very fresh, especially the pastries at breakfast. I stayed in January and the rooftop swimming pool was open but deserted, a pleasant surprise in such a large hotel.

Don't be put off by the location. The free shuttle bus to Tsim Sha Tsui negates this, and taxis back from there cost ~HKD25 if you plan on having a late night out.

Only two (tiny) downers spring to mind. The TV was badly tuned and had a dull selection of channels, almost all news. Not even the random inclusion of MTV China, which is highly entertaining because it is so bad, made up for this.

The other downer is the Hoi Yat Heen restaurant on the 2nd floor. A restaurant with the cheek to suggest a HKD1000 per head set menu should have absolutely faultless service. The waiting staff are rude, unable to answer basic queries about the dishes, and masters of bustling around without actually doing anything. They go way past offensive to the point of being unintentionally hilarious, in stark contrast to the rest of the hotel where everyone is very pleasant. This would be a reasonable, if pricey, restaurant if they took all the waiters on a week's holiday and trained them properly.

Room Tip: Go for the top floors to make trips to the spa & gym easier!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank T0m1337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,946)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Grand Kowloon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,796 - 1,802 of 2,946 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel met with all our expectations. A stunning location and beautiful room. Though some distance from the Star Ferry the hotel provided a free shuttle service every half hour. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we were too tired after a long haul flight to do it justice so went to the hotel bar for a snack and glass of wine. The bar was comfortable and service good. However the live music was unbearably loud and the food and wine expensive. Breakfast in the dining room was buffet style with a good choice of ethnic dishes, but not much to suit western taste. The tea served by a particularly surly waiter was always cold, even though topped up regularly..The orange juice not fresh but from concentrate. Eggs cooked to order were good.
The hotel pool on the 21st floor was amazing though a bit blustery on our last day. The staff everywhere were friendly and efficient. Our room was immaculate and refreshed beautifully each day. The concierge was brilliant when we were told our flight had been cancelled. He did everything possible to assist us in obtaining information and kept us informed throughout the day. All in all a fantastic hotel in a beautiful city. We would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for harbour view
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmblesideMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Our travel agent had recently stayed there and gave the hotel such a good rap that after TA reviews, we decided to stay here for 5 nights and were happy that we did. We thought our room smelt of smoke but as we arrived at 1am we didn't bother complaining.
The views were stunning, bathroom huge, extremely comfortable bed, lounge, desk etc. We found the reception staff were helpful, not gushy, but all spoke english which made it easy for us. Housekeeping was excellent, and both cleaners and pool staff were always saying hello and smiling.
Surrounding area, you could easily get food/coffee at Pacific Coffee, Starbucks, McDonalds or Das Gute Cafe also some excellent fancy free restaurants.
Shuttle bus to Tsim Sha Tsui took 10 minutes and always left on time. We loved the location to get away from the hustle and bustle of downtown and the pool with its views were a nice end to the day. Gym was under refurbishment, but that didn't bother us as we were exhausted from sightseeing.
Walking at night time to view the lights was very pleasant along the promenade and only took about 20 minutes.
Last night, we had a few drinks at Happy Hour at the Waterfront restaurant with a club singer who had a beautiful voice. Lovely ambience and again friendly staff.
The hotel was grand and decorated beautifully for Chinese New Year.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room
Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank blossySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Walking distance to Whampoa shopping centre and restaurants. Regular shuttle service every half hour to Tsim Sha Tsui. Last service back to Hotel 11PM nightly.
Rooms were clean, but beds could have been a bit more comfortable.
Great service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gjo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Upgraded to 19th floor overlooking HK. Courteous staff throughout, from concierge to managers. Large room with good facilities. Regular shuttle service to ferry and we thought better to be a little distance away from the melee. Star ferries great fun and cheap and efficient. Visited family whilst in HK on three day stop over. Would upgrade to club floor when next staying.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArcticFox1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Just spent a week at harbour grand Kowloon hotel. Possibly one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Perfect location with exceptional facilities. Staff were very attentive and professional. Positioned away from the hustle and bustle but as taxi fares are so cheap was certainly not a issue. If you can't decide where to stay in Hong Kong/ Kowloon stay at the harbour grand, can't recommend it enough !!!

Room Tip: Go for the harbour view
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kaye1959627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and i visited the hotel alongwith our 9 year old daughter. we stayed on the club floor (without the view) for three nights.

The hotel was a perfect base for our trip to Disney and some shopping and sightseeing. The hotel extended me the courtesy of early check in and late check out as I was on the Club Floor. The service of the staff on the Club Floor was exemplary and more than made up for the limited menu / beverages as compared to some other Club Lounges I have visited.

My wife and daughter were made to feel very comfortable and the staff was always prompt with suggestions in planning our activities and travel within HK. Sari, Agnes and Molly (?), made our holiday memorable.

We didnt eat at the hotel but went for some desserts to the Waterfront. Apart from the view, everything else was average there.

The room itself was comfortable, we took a twin bed room type and were very comfortable. The housekeeping was efficient and ensured the fresh fruit platter was always refreshed alongwith the daily water bottles.

The pool on the roof top was fantastic and worth a swim for relaxation.

I had been warned that the hotel was a bit off from all attractions (Tsim Sha Sui etc) but the quiet and peaceful ambeince was just what we needed for our holiday and even though there were hotel shuttles but we never took them as Taxis / MTR were reasonable for our destinations.

All in all a perfect stay and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the 19th floor. The pool is just a walk up. The doormen are better informed than the Con...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#51 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,363 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,937 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
536 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#47 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#49 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $162 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing