We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Harbour Grand Kowloon
Ranked #55 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

When I stayed here in 2007, I really enjoyed this hotel. I liked the quieter area and the abundance of shops and restaurants. There was a nearby Star ferry that went to Central and the free shuttle bus service to Tsim Sha Tsui. I enjoyed it so much, we booked it again. However, this time, I was disappointed to discover that the ferry no longer went to Central. Another ferry company has taken over this route and it goes to North Point which is not convenient at all for most tourists. The shuttle was still available, but it only runs every 30 minutes. With traffic, the ride to and from TST took anywhere from 15-35 minutes. It was a real time waster. A couple times, the shuttle bus was full, so you'd have to wait another 30 minutes for the next shuttle. And since a lot of the time, you want to take the MTR from TST to another place, it takes half an hour for the first leg of your journey. The only other option is to take taxis. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms that have views of the water are nice; the sunrise makes the water shimmer and sometimes you can catch a sampan sailing by. A fallback of the hotel is the lack of free wifi anywhere. My Hong Kong stay was at the end of a two week trip through China, and every hotel I stayed in Beijing, Xi'an, Guilin and Shanghai all provided free wifi access. I was disappointed that in 2012, this hotel did not, not even in the lobby. And on top of that, they did not even provide some free Internet access computers in their business centre. We wanted to just do online flight check-in and print boarding passes and this hotel wanted to charge $45HK for 15 minutes, and $5HK per page printed. This isn't a budget hotel so it seemed very stingy of them to not even offer basic business centre access. I don't think I've ever stayed in any hotel that didn't at least provide this. Another downfall is that we booked a non-smoking room and the first room we were assigned reeked of smoke. The front desk insisted it was a non-smoking room and that they'd send someone to "clean" it. There was no way any cleaning would remove that smell. Finally they gave us another room that was much better. So in the end, this hotel didn't live up to a repeat stay. It's way too inconvenient and it's not that cheap, so there are plenty of other places in Hong Kong to try for the next trip.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms have a couch and coffee table which gives you more space. Water view rooms offer a nice...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stayklassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank for taking the time to leave a review. Your comments are well noted and we are disappointed to hear that this second stay did not live up to your expectation. We are currently working on several of the areas you have mentioned and hope that we will be able to provide you with the service you expect in the near future. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,945)
There are newer reviews for Harbour Grand Kowloon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,924 - 1,930 of 2,945 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Awesome roof top pool with uninterrupted views of Hong Kong Island - great cocktails to match.
Extensive buffet breakfast and can recommend their waterfront Bar and Cafe for dinner.
Shopping and getting to the star ferry is made super easy with their free shuttle that leaves every half hour - make sure you are on the correct shuttle getting back to the hotel as we made a mistake by getting on the wrong one - some shuttles are the same colour

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirstoNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The hotel really is very nice! There is nothing to say. Really nice spacious rooms and all that. The breakfast I think is just too expensive, 198 HK for one person. About the location, well I think if you have the time, and you are one of those liking to walk a lot and be on foot the whole day vationers, you won't mind the location. And actually HK is not that big and you really can get to everywhere.

Room Tip: Choose a room with side to the sea....
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yifan_31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Whilst some may say this hotel is out of the way it does offer tranquility and a chance to escape the crowds. And lets face it - where in HK is too far away when cabs are so cheap. The hotel is close to Hong Hum - perfect the trip into Shenzen and a very short walk to the Hong Hum/North Point ferry. And there is some good shopping and restaurants in Whampoa.
Whilst we stayed on the Club Level (very good value) the service was excellent and the staff were very friendly and professional. The front desk were excellent in helping on any issue - large or small.
The rooms were relatively large and comfortable - my only complaint being the range and quality of toiletries was very poor. The pool on the whirlpool were also very good on the roof.
The buffet lunch downstairs was excellent - great range, quality and good price.
Considering that Nathan Road is only a HK$20 approx ride away I find this oasis a great place to stay in HK.

Room Tip: Harbour views are by far the best rooms but you do pay for the view. The other views face onto other...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starfish2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your lovely review. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In regards to your comment about the toiletries - it is true that the displayed range maybe limited but it part of our effort to be conscious of the environment. It is still very important that we provide what our guests need so we have most things available and housekeeping is more than happy to deliver those items to a guest room whenever necessary. I hope this helps in explaining the supply. Thanks again for your comments, I hope you will chose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our stay was in a harbour view room on the 12th floor. Room was ore like a mini suite with superb bathroom, dressing area, king size lovely comfortable bed and a nice seating area with sofa and chiase lounge as well as desk and dressing table.
Mini bar well stocked but expensive. For example 68 HKD for a litre bottle of Evian.
Breakfast buffet superb and plentiful as well as good value for money. Lovely bar area outside overlooking harbour and swimming poorly on 20th floor is small but nice.
If returning to Kowloon/Hong Kong, I would choose a more centrally located hotel but the Harbour Grand, Kowloon (not to be confused with a hotel of the same name on Hong Kong island) is an extremely lovely, opulent hotel with great service and loads of staff who are only to happy to make your stay as comfortable and easy as possible.
It should be said that although hotel is not central there is a free shuttle bus every half hour.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTunnacliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave such a kind review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Myself and my husband have just returned from 6 nights at Harbour Grand Kowloon.
We were orIginally booked into Harbour Grand Hong Kong but it has recently had a fire and the pool was not in use so we changed to this hotel.
Thank goodness we did, not only is this a much nicer hotel but in my opinion the location is so much better too. Kowloon is a lot more 'Chinese@ than Hong Kong island and it's also nowhere near as busy.
The hotel is not far from the Tsim Sha Tsui area of Kowloon and in an area called Whampoa Garden which is mainly a residential area. The area itself has plenty of shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance from the hotel.
The centre of Kowloon with it's main shopping area of Nathan Road is only 10 minutes in a taxi and the hotel offers regular free shuttles to this area for guests.
The front of the hotel was quite impressive with a big round drive and the waterfront setting was spectacular both day and night.
The lobby of the hotel was really bright and airy and had a gorgeous sweeping staircase and amazing harbour views from the large windows.
Our room was on the 13th floor and we had a Superior Harbour View room. The harbour views from the panoramic windows were phenomenal and I would suggest that you only book a harbour view here as it's well worth the money and I don't think you'll be disappointed. The room itself was pretty roomy and had most things that you would need i.e safe, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities. The decor of the room was a little dated but everything was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was ample with a bath and great powerful shower. The only negative I have about the rooms is that there is no free wifi in the rooms or anywhere in the hotel. It is chargeable and costs around £10.00 per 24 hours. In this day and age, I find it very unusual not to have free wifi in hotels.
The rooftop pool area on the 21st floor was great and just what you need in 36 degrees. There was a glass wall so it gave the feeling of an infinity pool and loungers,chairs and a small bar area serving food and drinks. The service was a little slow and we did wait over half an hour for 2 burger and chip. Also, there were not enough sun loungers so unless you got up there first thing, there was nowhere to lay or sit.
There was also an adequate gym up there with amazing harbour view but we didn't use it. The view from the roof of Kowloon and Hong Kong was stunning and it's worth going u there even if it's just to take photos.
We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on the food but the restaurant area next to the lobby looked impressive and was constantly busy both AM and PM.
All of the staff at the hotel were very helpful, polite and friendly and the two guys on the door were especially helpful in getting us taxi's.
One thing I would say is that hardly any taxi driver knew where our hotel was and most struggled with English so take a business card from reception when you go out each day and show it to the drivers. Taxi's are extremely cheap in Hong Kong and very easy to get so I would advise taking advantage of this.
I loved this hotel and even despite the wifi issue and dated room decor I would still come back here. Kowloon is a better location to stay in my opinion as Hong Kong island is just too busy and too cosmopolitan. If you want the 'real' Hong Kong stay here. You won't be disappointed and the harbour front setting and view are amazing.

Room Tip: Try and book a Deluxe harbour View room instead of a Superior as the windows are much larger and the...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Around the world in 80 days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

This hotel deserves its 5 Star rating. From check in to check out all was fine. We arrived early and they sorted a room without a problem. Good selection of resturants within hotel area. Dont be put off by its location. It is away from the main street (Nathan Rd) but that is a good thing. There is a hotel bus but its only $4AU by taxi to the center of Kowloon. They were happy to hold bags, after check out and made sowers available so we could freshen up before heading to airport.
The harbour view and the excelent staff make this a perfect spot.

Room Tip: The higher up the better
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HGKLN, Manager at Harbour Grand Kowloon, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so pleased to have been able to serve you and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that we will have the chance to serve you again on your next visit to Hong Kong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Fortress Hill
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Hong Kong
#53 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,360 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,934 reviews
Mong Kok
Royal Plaza Hotel
Royal Plaza Hotel
#25 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
6,547 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Royal Garden
The Royal Garden
#47 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbour Grand Kowloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbour Grand Kowloon

Address: No. 20 Tak Fung Street, Whampoa Garden, Hunghom, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Hung Hom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#21 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#32 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#51 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $162 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harbour Grand Kowloon 4.5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbour Grand Kowloon is a deluxe five-star hotel situated on the Victoria Harbour waterfront and in the heart of the vibrant Whampoa Shopping district with over 300 local shops. The Hotel is just a few steps from MTR Whampoa Station, Exit D2 (scheduled to open on October 23, 2016) travelling to major tourist destinations such as Temple Street at Jordan and Ladies Market at Mong Kok, and eight minutes away from the bustling Tsimshatsui by Hotel shuttle bus available every 20 minutes. The ferry to North point is just footsteps away where all local attractions and entertainment on Hong Kong Island are within reach. With most of the hotel’s public area enjoying the spectacular harbour views, hotel features 555 beautifully appointed rooms and suites, six restaurants, certified Halal food available (advance order is required), a rooftop glass-framed swimming pool, a deluxe fitness centre with fully equipped gym facilities available 24 hours daily; sauna, steam bath and spa services are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbour Grand Kowloon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Plaza Hong Kong
Hong Kong Harbour Plaza
Harbour Plaza Hotel Hong Kong
Harbour Grand Kowloon Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing