We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #498 of 723 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed March 3, 2014

have been to Hong Kong 3 times but only stayed here once. This was definitely the best hotel I stayed in. The price was very reasonable, the location is excellent - very close to subway, and the room was fine. Staff were very attentive and friendly also. Probably wouldnt suit families, with there being quite a few loud bars on the same street but that certainly didnt bother me. I will certainly return if I'm in Hong Kong again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dongyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (932)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

338 - 344 of 932 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Location from the airport is very easy and we are comforted by the hotel receptionist in good manner. This hotel located in the center place of all the areas like Kowloon, tsim sha Sui , chipmunk and others. I been to Hong Kong 17 times and I stay in This hotel all the time except once due to rush of my ticket an d also in the new year time. cost is the hotel is average. The best part of this hotel location is you can get anything and everything. We can go to swimming, gym and spa. It's completely free.

Room Tip: Get booked to this hotel atleast 2 weeks before for happy trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peacockindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

First question, what are you looking for the hotel? Is it place to sleep which great location or nice room with great service

If you are looking for some place to sleep only and easy for traveling around, this is one of the best place I must suggest! because it is located so near to MTR Wan Chai station and there are many things you need around the hotel, i.e., convenient store, restaurant, pub, club.

However, if you are looking for other things such as room quality, service, etc.., forget this hotel and find somewhere else. In my opinion, it doesn't deserve 4-star hotel at all. I don't know how they get this. Room is ordinary. Bathroom is quite old with a lot of stain. For my case, I went there during Chinese new year which make the room rate even more expensive - -*

I booked the room with breakfast because I wouldn't like to spend time so much in the morning for finding restaurant. Moreover, I came with my family (5 members) which will make things more inconvenient. To comment, breakfast is fine! however,if you have some time, you'd better find some restaurant around the hotel instead.

To conclude, only good things for this hotel is location!

Room Tip: If you booked with promotion, be prepare for room with messy building view, not the one stay aside t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SutthapornT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Location is very convenient if you do not mind to be in a bar street, however this is only a nighttime problem. If you can book below 1000HKD it is a very good deal. Service started even for HK at a low, checking in at 2pm, no room, no wifi in the lobby because no room but got an executive floor room for the deluxe booked and this was brand new renovated. Rather quite for the location as long as there is no cricket match celebrated, wifi worked flawless (hint ignore the option that the password can be the room number, it does not work). There is a trick how to flush the toilet (pull quickly three times then let go), once you figure this out you will have a very nice stay. Room service was spotless, amenities are all provided. Good choice of restaurants near bye, also a small supermarket on Jaffe Road.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_in_Asia74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I chose this hotel for its ease of transfer from the Airport Express, connecting on the shuttle bus which drops you right outside the hotel for free.

I got the view facing the swimming pool so its pretty boring. The location is rather unique as I was taken aback when I found myself walking through tons of bars and clubs and women soliciting customers.

Train is about 2 minutes walk and the trams are easily accessible.

Rooms had cabinets and mini-fridges with good room space to fit 2 travelers with huge luggage.

However you have to take not that the hotel requires a deposit fee of 10k HKD. Their rationale was that the deposit was to act as prepaid money for services such as room service and for taking any items out from the mini-bar.
You can request not to deposit (which I did because I found it ridiculous to plant 10K while I go out with 10K less to eat and drink). Thereupon where they would send the chamber maid to wipe out your entire mini-bar.
Well, I just went to the nearest K-Mart to stock-up on beers, milks and water.

Overall the room is very comfy and I enjoyed my sleep there. Wifi is rather stingy because they only allow one connection at a time.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierratwo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Well located close to train, tram and ferry options. Despite some reports to the contrary I found the service to be very friendly. I enjoyed the spacious gym and the room was more than adequate. I was also given an excellent 9th floor view of Lockhart Road which I enjoyed. The right light district is very close by but I felt the environment was very safe. Only minor drawback was that the lifts can fill up quick and take a while to go up and down. I enjoyed this hotel immensely and will almost certainly use it again should I return to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LamaTemple40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel is located in wanchai district , where all the expat bars and clubs are , there are lots of eateries around and is very near to The Hong kong convention center , just 5 mins walk , that isthe reason I stay in this hotel , the wifi is slow , room price is average , do not take breakfast as it is useless and overpriced ,

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doogie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#82 of 723 in Hong Kong
141 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#128 of 723 in Hong Kong
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#192 of 723 in Hong Kong
157 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
Gloucester Luk Kwok Hong Kong
#131 of 723 in Hong Kong
386 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#115 of 723 in Hong Kong
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#138 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $91 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of accommodation are required whenever you go to some place for any purpose. The purpose can either be tourism or it may be the profession. Hong Kong is also one of the best places of attraction without any second thought. It is the place with tourist attractions, which are enjoyed by a large number of people throughout the world. Hong Kong has done every best effort to give the tough c ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharney Guang Dong Hong Kong
Wharney Hotel Hong Kong
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing