We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, you'll love it or hate it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong
Ranked #501 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Personally I love it, the location that is. You are a short walk from the MTR so easy to get around Hong Kong, and when you get back in the evening you right in the middle of all the bars, restaurants and nightlife that Wanchai is famous for.

The hotel itself is nothing special but it represents good value for what it is. The rooms may be getting a bit tired however they are clean and reasonably well maintained. The service I encountered was briskly efficient in the normal Hong Kong way.

I would have liked to comment on the quality of the breakfast that was included in my room package however, and this is a location-driven problem, I found I overslept in the morning before finally waking with a somewhat fuzzy head. Breakfast therefore consisted of several paracetamol from the 7-11 around the corner and a vow never to stay so close to the bars of Wanchai again. This will be of course until my next visit where I will most likely choose to stay at the Wharney again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank Hatter10-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (945)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 945 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Well located near the HKCC and the MTR station, as the hotel is in the busy part of Wanchai it can get a bit crazy at night will all the clubs and bars around.

There is a good selection of restaurants around or you can get the MTR to Central or Causeway Bay for a more civilised variety.
The hotel itself was Ok - I booked an executive room which was slightly bigger but still small by other standards.
The Bed was hard as a rock and the pillows were too high to sleep on, but a positive is you can turn off the aircon which makes it more bearable.
You get free wifi but it keeps dropping out and you have to log in again - a bit of a pain .
For breakfast your better off walking 100m to Deli France and having a half decent breakfast - the hotel option is very limited to bread , cereal and coffee.
There seems to be newer hotels being built in the area if you are visiting for a trade show - I'd look around or try Causeway Bay as its only 10 mins travel by the MTR.

Room Tip: Check that there is no construction going on - I caught with this from 9am to 6pm 6 days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvHoche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed for the April trade show always stay in wanchai district this hotel has a great location for the hk con centre and the bars and restaurants. Hotel lobby is nice and clean we had a executive room with breakfast. Breakfast was ok the room is not very executive but nice and clean. The biggest problem is the Internet access 1 device for one room especially in a executive room is poor and they wanted 15hkd per hour not the cheapest either!!! Other problem we found was the concierge not very helpful at all!!! I prefer the metropark wanchai very welcoming every time I have stayed!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Well located near HKCC and night clubs and plenty of restaurants around .Rooms are just fine with nothing to write about .Breakfast not much variety and staff more interested in collecting around for their gossips rather than taking care of the guests who pay for their salaries.It would be better if more english speaking staff is hired to understand guests requirements .

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim_gsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My most recent stay was 4 nights with my wife in an Executive Room to visit friends who live nearby.
Getting there in a taxi from HK central Airport Express station take about 10minutes and just goes over the initial flag down fare of HK$22.

On arrival at 5pm, check-in was quick and easy (the room had been reserved through www.zuji.com) and the double bed, no smoking, Executive Room was available as requested.

I have stayed at the Wharney Hotel many times; with family groups, with a partner and solo. For me it offers the best mix of location, room quality and price. But mostly location.

Location
Other reviews say that it is in the heart of the red light district which make it sound very sleazy. Yes, there are several go-go bars with attractive women sitting outside from late afternoon onwards but if you are with a partner or family they will not call out to you or get in your way. But there are also many, many 'normal' pubs/bars as well as restaurants for every taste and at good prices. All within 100 meters.

The Wanchai MTR/Underground train station is about 100 meters away, where its only 5 minutes to Causeway Bay, Admiralty and central HK and ferry terminals. It's easy to get a taxi for HK$25 to these places too.

10 minutes walk will get you to Wanchai Markets where there is lots of cheap fashion, accessories and toy shops.
If you are up for a hike then head out the back of the markets to Wanchai Gap Road. In 20 mins this steep incline will take you up to a pedestrian-only road, popular with joggers and lovers holding hands, overlooking Wanchai and Central. From there you can find a number of trails including a tough 3 hour hike to Stanley.

Room quality
This is a budget hotel, popular with conference attendees and lower end business travelers. So do not expect a large, plush room with marble bathroom etc. The room is small, clean, tidy and functional. The bathroom is very small and plastic moulded with the shower over the bath and a single hair/body liquid soap. No shampoo or conditioner. Amenities did include toothbrush, shaving kit, hand soap and comb. We had a safe, iron and ironing board in the wardrobe.

The view from the room is of rather rundown highrise buildings so we kept our curtains closed most of the time.

The TV is small and carries some international news channels but that's about it. There is a pay-TV service but the television is not big enough to make it worth using that. So don't plan any cozy nights in with a movie!

The room had free wifi but allowed only one device to be connected at any time. With four iDevices we found this to be a real pain - for example, my device connects via the login process; then my wife connects via the login process which kicks me off, which leads to a discussion and agreement about how to manage it going forward and going through the login process every time it's your turn!

And like other people have commented, unless you sleep on the floor at home, you are likely to find the beds the hardest you have ever slept on. I'm ok with this for a few days but if you enjoy sleeping on a soft mattress then the Wharney may not be for you.

Service
Be prepared for a 50/50 chance of getting your bed choice and smoking/non-smoking room choice. Even the non-smoking rooms smell a bit of smoke. If you complain the staff will mechanically reply that they are full and so you have no choice. The staff at reception are busy and officious, they are not friendly and welcoming. But I don't expect that in these types of hotels in HK.

Price
When I shopped around, I found some better looking, newer hotels closer to Causeway Bay for about HK$1500. The Wharney was about HK$1750 per night. But in the end it is the location of the Wharney that swayed me; it has so much right on the doorstep.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank speaktothemanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Stayed here for only a few nights while in Hong Kong, its central enough. The restaurant was great, although we only ate breakfast there.

Down side was the beds were very hard and it's not a no-smoking hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meatm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great location in the heart of wan chai. Hotel was clean with OK presentation fo a hotel of this price point in Hong Kong. We booked a triple share as staying with friends. Were told we had an upgrade to a nicer room but looked quite basic to us. The terrible aspect however were the beds. They were the hardest beds I have ever slept on in a hotel (felt like we were laying on the bed base) and I travel a lot for business. It got to the third morning and I woke up with awful back pain (which i never get). Asked on our final night for some extra padding as it would be impossible to spend another night and was provided an overlay on the ed which helped slightly.

Was also put by default on a smoking floor which we didn't like at all but couldn't be bothered moving after we realized this.

If it wasn't for the bad beds i would stay there again as everything else was fine.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Kew Green Hotel Wanchai Hong Kong
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#59 of 726 in Hong Kong
166 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
The Empire Hotel Wan Chai
#128 of 726 in Hong Kong
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OZO Wesley Hong Kong
#80 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,024 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
Brighton Hotel Hong Kong
#195 of 726 in Hong Kong
161 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Novotel Century Hong Kong
Novotel Century Hong Kong
#116 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Address: No.57-73 Lockhart Road, Wanchai Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#137 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $100 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The places of accommodation are required whenever you go to some place for any purpose. The purpose can either be tourism or it may be the profession. Hong Kong is also one of the best places of attraction without any second thought. It is the place with tourist attractions, which are enjoyed by a large number of people throughout the world. Hong Kong has done every best effort to give the tough c ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wharney Guang Dong Hong Kong
Wharney Hotel Hong Kong
The Wharney Guang Dong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing