We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go by website”
Review of GDH Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
GDH Hotel
Ranked #212 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't go by website”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Don't go by the photos on the website, the rooms look nicer and bigger than they actually are.
The rooms could do with a freshen up and facelift. Hair dryer was prehistoric and so was the TV,
The air conditioning in the eating area, (breakfast), was always on and cold.
Good location, very helpful at the front desk...........
Please give this place a huge face list and we will return!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    285
    154
    46
    25
See reviews for
64
55
40
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed at the Guang Dong Hotel last week. The hotel is located on Prat Avenue, (2-3 min) walk to TST station and a 10 min walk to Avenue of star Promenade. Bus A21 Airport shuttle dropped us on Chatham road and it was a short walk to the hotel. Check in was smooth and took very little time. Staff was friendly, very helpful and english speaking. I wont say they have the best rooms in town but it wasnt bad either. We found the room size comfortable and easy it move around. However, we also felt the the mattress to be a bit hard but that is something we don't mind.
There is free wifi in the room which is quite reliable. Tea/coffee making facility plus a mini fridge also available.
Bathroom was small and clean but needs an uplift. Water pressure in the shower slow.
Buffet Breakfast was average, Air conditioning in the breakfast room was fierce.
Plenty of eateries right outside and across the hotel. Our favorite was a turkish doner kebab house serving delicious food open 24hrs.
7/11 right down the street to get your daily supplies.
Short walk to Harbour city shopping mall, a huge mall with all the designer labels.
Overall good value for money-Great Location-Comfortable stay.Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zizumum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've made about a dozen trips around Asia and the South Pacific over the course of the past two years and have done a pretty good job finding good places to stay based on TripAdvisor reviews. (Last year we stayed in another Kowloon hotel in Hong Kong that was fabulous.) However this year at the Guang Dong Hotel, which we opted for because the price was a bit lower - I was very disappointed. While the lobby is pristine and led me to believe the rooms would be just as modern and clean, I was very (very, very) mistaken. I understand that the price is more reasonable than many HK hotels, but that does not mean that 1) it should be okay for there to be mold in the bathroom and 2) the beds should be as awful as they were. The beds were horrible. I live in Japan and I'm aware that many people in this area of the world are used to firmer beds than us Westerners but this took the prize. It was like sleeping on a wooden plank. The pillows were just as bad. There was zero cushion to them. My husband and I aren't the type to lounge around the hotel room all day - we were out and about all day, every day. So to come back to a bed that was that uncomfortable was absolutely miserable.

I will say, however, that my friend and her husband chose a larger room because they had a child and from everything she said, her room was quite nice. So perhaps some rooms have been updated and some haven't? Also, the staff were very friendly and the train is pretty close. But regardless, I definitely would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kryan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Without a doubt, hotel's location is one of the best areas to stay when in Hong Kong. Lots of shopping, restaurants and convenience stores around the area. Plus A21 bus, from/to the airport, stops along Chatham Road near Prat, 3-5mins walk from the hotel.

But rooms hasn't changed since I stayed here almost 12yrs ago. Shower room is moldy. Carpet needs replacement. Bed is too low and mattress isn't very comfortable. Free wifi was reliable. Staff were nice and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MaWenLi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chisinau, Moldova
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Ask taxi drivers to go to CANTON Hotel- as most of them know Guang Dong Hotel by this name. Wi- Fi in the room is slow. Use cable for connecting your lap-top- should be faster. Great location. Korean, Japanese, Stake, Cantonese, etc. restaurants in radius of 50 m. Few nice pubs around as well. Plenty massage places and sauna just opposite hotel.

Gym is not existing- small room with 3 old machines. Allow time for check-in and out- as normally reception is very busy. Also (e.g. in the raining day) its difficult to get a taxi as Prat Avenue is slow with taxi traffic.

Overall- GD Hotel is cheaper than most of the hotels in same area of TST- not too bad for money paid. Recommended.

Room Tip: no any difference, really
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sveta s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

This hotel is good value for your money. We stayed there for 4 days in Jan this year. Its definitely not a luxury hotel and is affordable. The rooms are not that big but comfortable and has enough space to still move around. The bathrooms I think need upgrading as well as the furnitures in the room. But you do get what you pay for. The best thing about this hotel though is its location. It is right in the middle of Tsim Sha Tsui. It is surrounded by many bars and restaurants, even McDonalds. So if you are so over Chinese food, you can drop by this fast food chain. The shopping areas are just walking distance including Harbour City which is a huge shopping mall which includes all the high end shops as well. You will never run out of shops to enter. So if you are only after a place to sleep in and shower after a day of shopping and sight seeing, then this hotel is the one for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great location! Every year, my family and I would go to HK for a short vacation, and we always book our rooms in Guangdong Hotel. It's located along Prat Avenue. It's surrounded with various restaurants, bars, fast food chains, shops of local and internation brands. It's a few minute walk to Harbour City, a huge mall along Canton Road. Along that strip is the Outlet City Gates (full of outlet stores!).

The nearest mtr is also a few minutes away. If you are commuting to and from airport, there is the nearby airport shuttle right across Park Hotel, free of charge, which will bring you to the airport express station. Really tourist friendly! :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carrothead_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Harbour Bay Hotel
Harbour Bay Hotel
#132 of 718 in Hong Kong
138 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel Benito
Hotel Benito
#164 of 718 in Hong Kong
434 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#262 of 718 in Hong Kong
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Stanford Hillview Hotel
Stanford Hillview Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
753 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Butterfly on Prat
Butterfly on Prat
#50 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,855 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Bauhinia Hotel - Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GDH Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GDH Hotel

Property: GDH Hotel
Address: No.18 Prat Avenue, Tsimshatsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #212 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — GDH Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GDH Hotel is managed by Guangdong International Hotel Management Holdings Limited. Ideally located in Tsimshatsui which is surrounded by a busiest commercial, shopping and entertainment area. The elegant 244 guest rooms & suites are a great place to relax and work. GDH Hotel is only steps away from Mass Transit Railway giving easy access to all parts of Hong Kong. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your GDH Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guangdong Hotel Hong Kong
Guangdong Hong Kong
GDH Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing