We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regal Riverside Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$150
$141
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$420
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel ICON(Hong Kong)
$267
$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Hong Kong(Hong Kong)
$234
$166
Cordis Official
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$603
$330
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Royal Garden(Hong Kong)
$138
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$108
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$178
$129
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong(Hong Kong)(Great Value!)
$97
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$172
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,710)
Filter reviews
1,710 results
Traveler rating
341
710
423
134
102
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
710
423
134
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssha tinmoon rivershatin mtrriver viewmun rivernew town plazanew territoriespublic busbus stopbig roomoctopus cardlate checkshopping mallairport shuttlefree shuttleroom ratebuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,710 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Pros
Early check-in possible subject to room availability, big room, comfortable bed, efficient housekeeping services

Cons
Hotel asked me for deposit of HKD500. Not having enought HKD at that time, I handed them my debit card which front desk swiped in the card machine. Check-out was efficient and I was cleared of all charges. I asked for the cancelled debit card transaction receipt but Front Desk said that it had been automatically cancelled. A month after, I discovered that the hotel DID charge my debit card for the card currency equivalent of HKD500. I wrote and phoned the hotel several times (that was in 12 September 2013) spending for overseas calls, and I was assured that the refund would be made in four weeks. To this day, after 6 weeeks, I still have not received the refund. When hotel asks for deposit, don't make the same mistake of handing them your credit/debit card.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HIKER2013PHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear HIKER2013PHL: Thank you very much for your comments contributed to TripAdvisor travel web site, first of all, we thank you for your compliment on the check-in and size of guestroom that you have enjoyed. On the other hand, we were embarrassed with the debit card issue that you have so kindly stated. We traced on the correspondences between our hotel and you, and reviewed the procedure on credit authorization with your debit card; it was indeed swiped during check-in for the purpose of credit authorization only, to cover other possible incidental charges, which was quite common in most hotels. But we can assure you that no charges were actually processed on your bank card, we believe since it is a debit card, the issuing bank went ahead and posted the pre-authorized amount as a charge.

From the time you first wrote to us, there was indeed a delay in following up on the traces on the pre-approved credit authorization, please accept our most sincerely apologies. Rather than more delay in waiting for information on expiry date in order to put through the request for the bank to reverse the charge, we telephone the bank for help to issue an urgent request for the credit reversal, trusted you should be able to see this credit entry in your next month’s statement.

Once again, we like to extend our sincere apologies on the delay, and thank you so much for bringing it to our attention. Trusted it is an isolated incident and we look forward to your return visit in the near future.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

When I checked in this hotel I was taken aback to see a big ,beautiful exterior in sha tin wai. But when checked in ,I was a lil bit disappointed to see how old style washrooms and rooms they have. Ten eleven restaurants ,swimming pool ,spa and a good connectivity approved my praise for it.my kids were happy but I was annoyed to see a non English understanding lady in executive club lounge.she was a litte bit rude but I forgive her as she did not know she was playing with heat.
The BF at lounge was not upto the mark,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanjy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Sanjy66: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that you and your family enjoyed the peaceful environment surrounding our hotel but regret that our room furbishing was not up to your expectations. Your comment on the attitude and English level of our associate in Club Lounge is well noted, we will certainly reinforce our internal training and emphasize the importance of customer service. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience may have caused.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Easy accessible location, an hr on bus A41 & R8 too Disneyland 45 mins on 81c too Nathan road. Hotel reception is pitiful, slow and very cold towards hotel patrons, I waited for almost 45 minutes too check in and on check out they only billed for one room, very poor for such a large hotel as this. Breakfast is $27 AUD once again poor for the price most hotels offer free buffet breakfast, Room amenities serve the purpose but if you drink coffee bring your own, they allow 2 satchels per day. We had two rooms one had no mini bar, no views and the rooms were hallways apart. Close walk to New plaza Mall.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Markus_OZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Markus_OZ: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments with us.

We are pleased to learn that you found our hotel is easily accessible by the public transportations. With the great support from our esteemed guests, Regal Riverside being one of the very popular hotels in the district and the lobby traffic can get congested during the prime time. We apologize for any inconvenience may have caused and will certainly reinforce our internal training on customer service. We do have many types of rooms and promotional offers, you may wish to check on our hotel’s website for good deals for your next visit so that you can enjoy various privileges.

Thank you again for your constructive comments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at a suite at this hotel because it is close to my family's apartment. We checked in at the Club Floor and was first given a room that was not a suite, then a room that reeked of smoke, even though it was a non-smoking floor. The third time was a charm but it was a very small, odd shaped suite with only one bathroom when it was supposed to have two. We were too tired to protest but this was corrected by Simon, the manager, next day. The staff were polite. The location is great, right in front of bus station. In the evening though, the street is congested and we had to get out of the taxi to walk the short block to the hotel. The rooms we were in (both suites) look dated. Most disappointing was that the pool was not heated.

Room Tip: Higher floor facing the river
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Catlady88: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your constructive comments on Trip Advisor.

We are sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the room assignment upon your arrival but glad to know that Simon has resolved the problem to your expectation. Your positive comments on our services and location are greatly appreciated. All of us at Regal Riverside look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We are a family of 4 (Me, my wife & 2 adult children) who travelled to Hong Kong last Oct 13 to 16, 2013. We had a blast in HK and made a good decision to stay at Regal Riverside in Sha Tin. Apart from the reasonable room rates that we got from booking directly on their website, the room we got was spacious enough to accommodate the 4 of us comfortably (Spacious hotel rooms that could accommodate 4 adults are a rarity in HK). Though we arrived at around 10am (Rode the Regal shuttle from Regal Airport, free also when you book at their website), the front desk staff who attended to us, Aasma (Hope I got the name right) was very cheerful and did everything to check us in before 2pm. We deposited our bags with the Concierge and walked around the hotel neighbourhood and had lunch in one of the many dining places just a short walk from the hotel. We returned to find out that our room was ready.

I read in one review that it was a long walk from the hotel to the MTR (Sha Tin Wai). A 5 to 10 minute leisurely walk is not long. Buses to and from downtown conveniently stops in front of the hotel. Over all, if you are travelling with a big group or family, then Regal Riverside is your best bet.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickydandan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear rickydandan: Thank you for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is our great pleasure to learn that you and your family had a pleasant stay with us. Your compliments on our facilities and services, in particular, the service provided by Aasma are greatly appreciated.

Thank you again for your nice comments and support, the entire staff and management look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews