We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stench makes staying in room unbearable” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regal Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Regal Riverside Hotel
Ranked #154 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stench makes staying in room unbearable”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife left her newly bought jacket on checking out on April 11th. We're delighted to be able to get it back on September 12th. Heartfelt thanks to lost and found!

The room 1388 checked in on September 11th needs attention on the following:
1.. English newspaper was given, though Chinese had been requested on checking in. This occurred on our last trip, and highlighted in writing to the FO Manager on our last trip.

2.. The sink stopper malfunctions. Water can't be held.

3.. The sliding door of the closet/cupboard keeps "derailed" from its track.

4.. Smelly stench is blown into the bathroom by the exhaust fan from the ventilating duct. We suspect leakage from the pipe of toilet bowls above.

A maintenance staff simply lowered the fan speed. This, however, fails to stop the stench. The room should be blocked to settle the problem once and for all, so guests won't have to endure the stench while staying in the room.

We like Regal Riverside Hotel for rooms with much space left fitting a super-kingsized bed laid with comfortable, high-quality American branded Simmons mattress, free internet access and airport transfer for reservations made and paid in advance. Attention must be paid on maintenance otherwise guest comfort is compromised.

Room Tip: The smelly stench appeared to come from drain pipes (of toilet bowls?) of rooms above. We wonder if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freetraveltips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear freetraveltips: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are happy to learn that our Housekeeping was able to retain your jacket and returned to you in good order. Your constructive comments regarding our services as well as room furbishing are well noted. I have shared your comments with our Housekeeper and Engineer who are reminded to pay more attention on room cleaning and maintenance, and ensure all rooms assigning to guest are in top notch condition. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and rest assured that immediate actions will be taken to rectify the problem.

Trusted the bad smell was an isolated incident. We look forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    613
    355
    113
    78
See reviews for
392
311
130
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed there for two nights.

Most hotels in the world do charge a fee for wifi service in the room but offer free service in the lobby. This hotel claimed that they offer free wifi service in the lobby, with a limit of 30 minutes in every 12 hours. This is not the worst part. The worst part is that if you use the wifi service for only 15 minutes, don't think that you still have 15 minutes to use within the 12-hour limit. Sorry, no more service will be provided and you have to wait until the next 12-hour. I don't understand how can they be so mean on this.

As other reviews disclosed, this hotel caters mainly tour groups from Mainland China and so sometimes the hallway or lobby can be extremely noisy and crowded.

Another thing I would like to mention is about the attitude of their staff.

I bought a bread in the Regal Patisserie in the afternoon. I was the only customer. I did not realise that this is self service until the lady told me that I have to put the bread in the paper bag by myself. It's OK for me but unfortunately my hand lack the dexterity to open the paper bag. The lady just watched me and offered no intention to help until I requested for her assistance. She had an indifferent attitude all through the process, a rare situation one will encounter in a tourist hotel.

Overall speaking, I cannot say this hotel offers poor service. Perhaps the hotel is too comfortable with its prevailing business volume or may be the staff are too tired in serving the mainland Chinese customers. Staff in the hotel, especially those in lobby, give me a feeling that they do offer efficient service but in lack of smile, caring and tenderness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dusty747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Dusty747: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We were sorry to learn of the unpleasant experience you have encountered at our Patisserie, our Food and Beverage Manager has investigated the incident and briefed our team of the importance of customer service and our guests are entitled to every courtesy.

With regard to the free Wifi, you may wish to check on our hotel’s website for good offerings for your next visit so that you can enjoy free in-room WiFi, airport shuttle and many other privileges.

Thank you again for your support and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hong Kong hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

This IS an average hotel but I would say it provided us with good service and a good room for our 3 night stay. We were using the hotel for a place to stay while we arranged our move out of our nearby flat. We received excellent service from the charming receptionist who gave us a lovely family room with 2 double beds overlooking the river. I'd booked through hotel.com who offered an early bird special deal and had to opt for 4 single beds in the family room but I pointed out to the receptionist that there were now only 3 in our party she revised the booking. On leaving a staff member helped us beat the long queue and provided a personal express service. This is a very busy hotel catering mainly for mainlanders. It is reasonably convenient for Sha Tin's overcrowded New Town Plaza shopping mall.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seacroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Seacroft: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your positive feedback on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us and you found our staff helpful. Positive comments such as yours are certainly a driving force for continuous improvement to exceed our quality standards.

Thank you once again for your valuable comments and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

this used to be a pretty good hotel but watching it turned into a tour and travel hotel for the past few years, i just dont know if i wanted to be back. the front desk is inundate with check ins and check outs and at times, way understaffed.

however, the housekeeping department still are in sync and doing great job in turning over the rooms. they are helpful and very timely, the rooms are very clean. kudos!

in short, if you do not mind standing in line for checking in and checking out ... this is a pretty gold hotel and it is centrally located in a some great malls and parks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear jim I: Thank you very much for your support and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to learn that in general our services including the housekeeping met with your expectations. Your constructive comment on the check in and check out procedures is well noted. We think part of the reasons for the longer wait is that we actually have less group tours but much more independent travelers like your goodself. We will certainly review our operational measures and immediate actions will be taken for appropriate improvement. Meanwhile, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Rest assured that customer service is always our prime concern and we treasure your goodwill.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is quite nice for a few days' stay in Hongkong. Better than hotels in center of Kowloon, but going anywhere is a bit of a trouble. MTR is walkable, but not too near, bus station is closer. Food is available outside, there is a supermarket and Watsons store. Rooms is hotel are big and clean, though somewhat old. Lack of free wifi is disappointing. Overall, not bad, but there are better options almost for the same price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arjuna93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Arjuna93: Thank you very much for choosing Regal Riverside Hotel during your recent visit to Hong Kong and sharing your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to learn that in general our services were to your expectations and you liked our room furbishing. We have many types of rooms and you may wish to check on our hotel’s website for good offerings for your next visit so that you can enjoy free WiFi and many other privileges.

Thank you again for your constructive comments and we look forward to your future stay at Regal Riverside Hotel.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

At around 10:00 hrs. On 26 Aug. 2013. I went to the Cakes Shop to pick up two boxes moon cakes from my room on 14th floor.. I purchased the cakes coupons during my last stay in this hotel when I dined in the Chinese restaurant. It was a lovely morning but my day was ruined by the lady at the cakes shop.
I approached the shop and noticed a lady was opening the shop. I said, "Excuse me, may I have my boxes of moon cakes please." She gave me an angry look without saying a word she kept on minding her own business. I thought she would entertain me as soon as she would finish her business but I stood there for ten minutes hopelessly I asked her again for my Moon cakes she angrily picked up two boxes from the drawers without saying a word. No explanations or apologies were given. I picked my cakes and left disappointingly. I never understood why a fine hotel like this would have a staff like this.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lau A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Lau A: First of all, thank you very much for your support to Regal Riverside Hotel and sharing your valuable comments with us.

We were disheartened to learn of the unpleasant experience you have encountered at our Patisserie. I can fully appreciate the frustration and we would like to sincerely apologize for such unacceptable behavior. We are taking your comment very seriously and our Food and Beverage Manager is to remind his team of the importance of customer service and necessities true professionalism at all times.

We once again thank you for your continuous support and we treasure your goodwill.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Airport shuttle good service but long and complicated walk to sister hotel to catch the bus.
1st room given had a massive crack in the mirror wardrobe which had a strip of tape to secure it. Not acceptable. Got moved to another room with no apology. New room - large with good view.
Hotel very busy and although the concierge are very good at sharing local knowledge etc, I feel the staff lack giving that warm welcome and personal service.
The location is ok if you don't mind getting on busses or getting taxis. I would have preferred somewhere more central and walking distance to more shops and restaurants.
Disappointed to find pool is in shade after 4pm.
Main restaurant for breakfast really overpriced.
We over slept on our last morning and mistakenly left items in the room. After contacting them to post items on they have advised that they have not found our items which is odd.
Overall good value for what we paid but think I would pay a bit more for an alternative hotel.

Room Tip: Riverside view a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter C, General Manager at Regal Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Liana V: Thank you very much for staying at Regal Riverside Hotel during your recent visit to Hong Kong and posting your valuable comments on Trip Advisor.

We apologize for the negligence on room assignment but glad to learn that our associates have arranged room change immediately that was to your satisfaction. Thanks to the great supports from our guests, which enable us to become one of the most popular hotels in the district. Our Front Desk area can get congested at times, however, our Front Office Manager is reminded to brief his staff that our guests are entitled to every courtesy.

Thank you again for your constructive comments and we apologize for any inconvenience may have caused. The entire staff and management look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
Peter Chiu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Royal Park Hotel
#44 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Kowloon City
Regal Oriental Hotel
Regal Oriental Hotel
#148 of 713 in Hong Kong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Tsuen Wan
Royal View Hotel
Royal View Hotel
#116 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Hong Kong Sha Tin
#73 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Tai Kok Tsui
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
Dorsett Mongkok Hong Kong
#76 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Riverside Hotel

Property: Regal Riverside Hotel
Address: 34-36 Tai Chung Kiu Road, Sha Tin, New Territories, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Hong Kong
#28 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#111 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Regal Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 1138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Shing Mun River in Shatin, Regal Riverside Hotel is only 30-minute drive away from Hong Kong International Airport and is located conveniently near 2 MTR stations and a mega shopping complex featuring over 900 brand boutiques, individually operated shops, dining and entertainment places. The 1,138-room hotel operates routine shuttle services to Hong Kong International Airport, Hong Kong Disney Land, Ngong Ping 360 and Tsimshatsui East together with other public transports right on the hotel's doorstep, guests can easily connect to all shopping, entertainment and business districts in Hong Kong. Shatin features places of interest such as the 10,000 Buddha Temple, the Hong Kong Heritage Museum and the Jockey Club, a famous world class horse racing arena, Chinese University of Hong Kong and the Science Park. The hotel also features 10 restaurants and bars as well as a wide range of recreational facilities such as the beautiful outdoor swimming pool (closes during winter period), spacious fitness center with sauna, steam, Jacuzzi and beauty services. The hotel's OM Spa, designed in contemporary Thai style and infused with a soothing sense of harmony and serenity, provides professional spa and massage services to discerning guests for nourishing their body and soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Regal Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regal Riverside Hong Kong
Hotel Regal Riverside
Regal Riverside Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing