We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$77
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
$77
View deal
Agoda.com
$73
View deal
Expedia.com$77
Trip.com$76
ZenHotels.com$84
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,345)
Filter reviews
3,345 results
Traveler rating
1,419
1,188
458
159
121
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,419
1,188
458
159
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr dennis executive club lounge walking distance other hotels late check business trip nice room hotel staff buffet breakfast shuttle bus mezzo kowloon mtr hk shopping avenue hong
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,385 - 2,390 of 3,345 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Regal Kowloon is an excellent value for the cost and a nice, affordable hotel only a couple of blocks from the harbor. I was there with family and friends - family who travel yearly to HK. They've stayed in numerous places on the Kowloon side and agreed that this is one of the nicer hotels in this price range.

We stayed on the club level and had access to the Regal Club which included a generous breakfast (salad, cereals, two egg options as well as custom omelets, assorted dim sum, salads, breads, cheeses, juices, coffee, potato and breakfast meat selection) and heavy appetizers and cocktails in the evenings. The Club Room also had access to computers and printers and the staff were able to arrange everything from airline needs to private transportation.

I cannot say enough good things about the staff in the Club Room - they were attentive, knowledgeable and clearly placed an emphasis on quality service. The additional cost of the club room booking was definitely worth it, just in terms of the breakfast and cocktail hour drinks and foods.

The rooms were standard sizes with chair, work table and chair, cushioned window seat which provided additional seating space, flat screen tv and good lighting. The closet was small, though, with some of the floor and hanging space taken up by the safe. The bathroom was fine but the shower door only covered half of the shower. Perhaps this was a Chinese thing, but it seemed to work without letting water get all over the vanity. I did like that I had unimpeded access to the vanity while in the shower, which gave me plenty of space for my shampoo, soap, razor, etc...

The bed was a bit harder than I'm used to, but there was a good selection of pillows, adequate blankets and excellent air conditioning.

The building is not new, but is clean with good service all round. There is no pool, but there is a nice outdoor terrace that was cool in the evenings. It's hard to find a quiet place in the downtown areas, so the terrace was a bit noisy for me.

It was in a good location with museums, shopping and dining within easy walking distance. The MTR (subway) was about two blocks away, but it required a further walk underground to the actual train access. As the walkway is air conditioned with moving walkways, this was not a problem.

Our group decided we would definitely stay there again - and even in other Regal properties across the region. My aunt and uncle, who travel regularly to HK, decided to join their frequent user program because they liked it so much.

Room tip: Club level rooms are definitely the best value. Club level rooms were also quieter.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwife82
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Booked online directly on their website - easy and fast.
Excellent shuttle service from/to the airport.
Helpful staff, but maybe they are under-staffed, because they were always (at any time) very busy.
This is not a 5* hotel, neither a new building, but definitely a good value for money.
Room was on the 14th floor and size was more than ok.
Pillow menu available.
Yes, maybe the elevators are a bit slow, till you discover that at the end of the corridor there are another 4 and you don't have to always wait for the 2 in front of the reception.
The lobby has only 2 arm-chairs, but perhaps this is intentional.... Who wants to spend hours in the lobby anyway?!
The location is perfect to explore the Kowloon area and very close to 2 MTR lines.
I didn't experience any restaurant (not even for breakfast - Starbucks for the morning coffee is just out of the door).

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorenzaG_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

It was a value for money deal, the hotel had everything, very helpful staff, a good position for everything in Hong Kong and just near McDonalds!!! The rooms were good hotel style, not over big but plenty adequate. It was an ideal location and I loved Kowloon.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CleoneJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

The only highlight of this hotel is the Concierge staff and it's location. Spent 4 days in the Hotel during a business trip. hotel has seen better days perhaps in the 80's. The room I was placed in was extremely tiny as it had only one bed, which was all I really needed. The room was obviously old , from the retro bedside lighting system to the worn out furniture which was clearly spot painted with a slightly different brown color. The two chairs in the room both were statined, not sure from what. The curtains were dingy and stained.
The wall immediately inside the room where stained with scuff marks noticeable even with the poor lighting. While looking for an outlet to plug in my computer, unfortunately I noticed garbage left from the previous occupant. One day I left my room at about 11am returned at 4pm, and my room had not been serviced. I again left at 5pm, returned at 9pm and still the bed was undone and the towels had not been replaced. Had to call housekeeping for towels, I inquired about whether anyone would come to clean, with no real response from housekeeping, but I did get the towels.
Oh, and don't be fooled by the room images or the free internet sign in the small slow moving elevators, My room looked nothing like the image they portrayed, also I was promptly charged for Internet upon checkout.
Hotel staff was generally pleasant, but why offer lobby wifi if there is nowhere to sit and enter codes to access, only 2 chairs in the lobby, which can be attributed to the amount of traffic in the lobby, but at one point I noticed about 8 people standing around trying to enter the codes (which are given by the concierge on a tiny strip of paper) on smart phones and iPads.
Extremely busy in the courtyard behind the hotel, in the daytime its pleasant, as the sunsets,the courtyards fills with prostitutes, who will offer you services as you attempt to enter and exit the property, no fault of the hotel, just a warning.
It's said cause he hotel has a central location in Kowloon, near the water, with all the restaurants and shops, but there is an obvious neglect in the restoration of the rooms as well as the care.
I guess for the price it will continue to attract high levels of occupancy, but not me.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 11Jacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Lured by the "good" value for money deal on the hotels.com & booking.com, we were excited to book this hotel for our 5-day trip in Hong Kong..
"Award winning" business hotel for 2011 & 2012.
Not sure who gives these awards, perhaps some clueless government official.
Careless staff, dingy and old rooms and nothing like the photos on their website!
Staff was unhelpful and rude, the que of irritated guests for the check in/check out was a familiar sight every day. The "free Internet" is a complete lie, you get it only in the lobby for max. of 2 hours per day. Otherwise €20 per 24 hours.
'Pushyhookers' are of abundance on the square in front of the hotel in the late hours of the night, if that's what you're after..
The only good thing was the location, if you'd like to be in the middle of overpriced Kowloon!

Good luck!

Date of stay: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bransonltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews