We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoying our stay, hotel is wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #126 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoying our stay, hotel is wonderful!”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We are in the middle of our stay at the Regal, the hotel is lovely, our room is very nice, fittings and furnishings are good quality. The only down side for me was the lack of information of where the local attractions are and how to get there!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Alison

Thank you for taking the trouble to write-up your comments after your recent visit to the Regal Hongkong Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and your feedback helps motivate us to continually work on improving our standards.

On the other hand, there is some information of our local attractions available at our Concierge at G/F Lobby. Please do not hesitate to check with our staff on your next trip to Hong Kong with us as they are always ready to serve and introduce the beautiful side of the City to our guests.

Please do have a look at our website for more details about Regal Hotels International, especially the great deals offered when booking through our website. The promotion that you enjoyed is still on which included complimentary internet in the room and free use of the shuttle bus to and from the airport.

Thank you for your support of the Regal Hongkong and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    508
    225
    85
    77
See reviews for
257
235
81
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Have travelled to HK many times but this was the first (and will be the last) time we stayed at The Regal HK. We only chose this hotel because of the swimming pool and close proximity to Causeway Bay shopping district. While the hotel is in a convenient location with tram stop out the front and short walk to MTR, this is probably the only saving grace. Hotel is in dire need of refurbishment and this extends to the rooms. The hotel is suppose to be 5 star - perhaps back in the 1980's given the mirrors, glass, marble and gold/brass fixtures and fittings now bordering on tacky. Our experience was more like 3 stars.

We had pre-booked and paid for a 3 night stay in a non smoking deluxe room which we had subsequently confirmed by emailing the hotel. When we arrived we were told that there were no deluxe non smoking rooms available - and to compensate the hotel would be upgrading us to a suite - but only for one night which meant repacking our bags the next morning and changing rooms. After advising the hotel this was extremely inconvenient and our preference was for a deluxe room for the entire stay rather than have to shift rooms mid way, we were advised we could remain in a suite for our entire stay at no additional charge.

The room was spacious but the fixtures and fittings very dated and whilst the hotel tried to compensate for this with the replica Florence Knoll sofa and armchair, there is still much work to be done. In terms of cleanliness, the carpet was stained and dirty. The bathroom had a very unpleasant odour and we were forced to keep the bathroom door closed at all times. The hairdryer did not work and when we notified housekeeping, rather than sending up a portable hairdryer immediately, they attempted to fix the existing hairdryer. It was was almost 30 mins before I was able to dry my hair (using the portable hairdryer).

Floor is supposed to be non smoking, but the guests in the room next to ours were smoking. This became problematic as the cigarette smell was seeping into our room through the gap between floor and door adjoining the two rooms. To rectify this we needed to complain to reception.

Hotel is suppose to have WiFi in rooms but the reception was extremely weak. Unlike most other hotels, the Regal HK did not offer free WiFi access in the lobby. Additionally, the cost of WiFi was on the expensive side with room WiFi being the same price as that in the lobby. Whilst the lobby did offer better reception, there was nowhere for guests to sit and relax without being obligated to purchase a beverage, as we were told the lounges were only for use by hotel cafe/bar patrons (and there would be a minimum charge of HKD $40 for use by hotel guests)

You could probably describe this as a hotel popular with business travelers and large tourist groups from mainland China. The personal touch and customer service orientation were literally non existent. There are a number of hotels in the same area and whilst a swimming pool might be lacking, they more than compensate for this with features and benefits, contemporary styling and customer service.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atina2090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for highlighting the problems you experienced during your recent stay at Regal Hongkong. I regret the inconvenience you were put by not having your room preference available on arrival and am only sorry that the upgrade to the suite was not handled better. I have asked Housekeeping to have another go at removing the stain on the carpet. Then we have also investigated the smell in the bathroom and are working on a solution. Yes, I agree that the style of the room is a bit old fashioned but you will be pleased to know that 8 floors were upgraded last year and a further 5 floors will be completed in July this year. New carpets will also be fitted to all these rooms before the end of October this year.
Then for the WiFi service, we are working with our supplier to upgrade this facility in order to strengthen the signal in all rooms. I am so sorry that you were inconvenienced by this problem. Most rooms have a good WiFi signal, but from time to time we do experience some problems.

Please do contact me direct for your next trip to Hong Kong so that we can make your stay more comfortable that the one just experienced.

Yours sincerely
Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We regretted every second since we stepped into this hotel, we booked 2 rooms and planming to stay here for 3 days 2 nights, and our stay was started with rude treatment  and totally unprofessional local hire. We arrived at the hotel at around 2:45 pm,and our room was not ready, the late check out time was at 1 pm and in 1 hours 45 minutes of cleaning time the room was still not ready. So they made us linger in the lobby, unfortunately,there are no seats for us to sit on and wai t for the slowww service, there are empty chairs in the lobby lounge but the sitting hostess said that we cannot sit there unless we consume, which i think is so dumb, they have a group of waiting guests (waiting for their slow housekeeper to clean the room) and we are not allowed to even sit on their chair. After 30 minutes of waiting time, the receptionist informed us that it will take them another 45 minutes to get both room ready,that means the rooms were not ready until 4 pm.

After complaining, They offered 3 free drink vouchers for 4 of us at the lobby lounge which is the only seating area in the lobby (oh yeah, it's that area where we cant sit unless you consume).

We finally got the room, it was small, old, and definitely need to be spring cleaned real bad. Lack of power outlets for us to use, they offered travel adaptor for A price. 
To make matter worse, they are having construction work done right above of our room, they were drilling holes all morning, they started at around 10 and yes we were still in the room and even maxing the tv volume doesn't even mask the noise a bit. We finally complained to the receptionist to make them stop for a while or at least work on something else less noisy, the rude receptionist persistently said no we cannot do that because they need to continue working till 6 pm.
Breakfast was bad also,not enough selections for this type of hotel,it seems that they are just taking advantage of their location being close to the shopping district thus they can take it easy on service and products.
We should have just stayed at other BETTER hotels nearby.
WE ARE DEFINITELY NOT COMING BACK!!! And we believe to save your money, you shouldnt also..... Take your money some where else guys....they worth more at other place...Better Service, Better Product DEfINItELY NOT  the regal.

Room Tip: Spend your precious money elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank XoMartel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear XoMartel18

Please accept my apologies for the poor treatment that you received on arrival at the hotel and the unhelpfulness of the associates. This is certainly not the standard we want to offer and every effort is being made to address the shortcomings you experienced. As a rule, if you have to wait for your room, we will offer you a drink voucher that can be taken in either Café Rivoli or Tiffany Lounge. I regret that this was not handled properly. I am also sorry that you found the rooms not to your liking. We are in the process of upgrading them, 7 floors were completed last year and a further 5 floors are under refurbishment. It was also unfortunate that we were unable to offer you a room from the refurbishment taking place at that time.
I realise how disappointed you are with your stay but if you are prepared to give us another chance, we would be happy to make some special arrangements for your next visit. Please contact me direct at your convenience.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The hotel overall is a very nice hotel and it is located not too far from the Metro. The rooms aren't large but are pretty good all around. The buffet restaurant on first floor is OK but not if staying for a week! The Chinese and Italian are Michelin star level and priced accordingly. Still, there are lots of restaurants within 10 minutes walk and a really good Itlain about 3 minutes away opposite Victoria Park. I agree with the complaints about the internet. The wired internet runs around $150 HKD and the Wi-Fi runs at $170 HKD - both exhorbitant for what should be free service for guests. Would i stay here again (the acid test) ........ yes, but there are better hotels.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldbolter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comments and the positive comments about the hotel. I am sorry about the problems you had with the internet service and these are being addressed by the service provider. Please accept my apologies for this but do please contact me for your next visit so that we can ensure you a better experience.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The price for the room is at HK$1500 per night with breakfast and Internet, I find it reasonable for what I am getting.
Room is comfortable clean and coz we have 3 pax, it has enough space for me to add an extra bed and don't find it too cramp.

The staff that we encounter were friendly and helpful.
The chef at the cafe was nice and detail. When I order a scramble egg, he actually check how well done I want it to be. Not much chef does that when they do your egg.

Just opps you have Windsor shopping mall and near by SOGO, of coz near to Causeway bay MTR
IF there is an event at the Victoria park, you just have to cross the room and you are there.
There are enough eating place from good restaurant to simple cafe that you can have breakfast for HK$70 for 3 pax. (of depend on what you order)
So if you don't mind paying HK$1500 for a room/ night, I think is a good hotel to consider.

Room Tip: Always check on their web site for promotion,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakafet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Dear Sir

Thank you for your generally positive review on our hotel, especially for the egg service at breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

On checking in, staff insisted on charging 2000 dollars for incidentals to my credit card - that worked out at 500 dollars per night. I was told it would not be charged to my card. On checking out, I was told they would refund the money they had taken from my card. What did they think I was going to do? Steal the television?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KarenB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Dear Karen, thanks for posting your comment after your recent stay with us. It is a normal practice for a hotel to ask for a deposit to cover the cost of incidentals during a guests stay so that the check out procedure can be quicker because we have already asked for authorization from the credit card company. All you have to use is internet each day, breakfast, maybe some laundry or mini bar usage and you can run up an extra bill quite quickly. I am sorry you find this practice unacceptable but if you would like to give us another chance, we will make amends on your next visit. Please drop me a line and I will handle this for you.

Yours sincerely

Glen Farmer
General Manager
Regal Hongkong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

Was on a holiday in May 2011 with family. This one in Kowloon city was quite far from the airport. took around 1.5 hrs to reach there.Check in procedures were cordial. Helpful staff. "Always on the move" housekeeping. - do not spend time with you much to answer any questions other than the one you had called them for. Good location with easy access to banks, restaurants, etc. one problem faced was the usual one in some developed countries.Good food with a decent variety -
Some cons - No lockable doors for the attached baths- just a sliding glass door and a
curtain--- gave a shock initially!!!
Restaurant - The indian one did not have any fruits - only juices.
Too small rooms.
A small lobby for the no,. of rooms available
People from INdia need to carry adaptors of mobile phones/laptops etc. as the sockets are all pin type and not the round type ones.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essquare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegalHongkongHotel, General Manager at Regal Hongkong Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
Dear Essquare

Thank you very much for your recent stay at Regal Oriental Hotel and your comment in TripAdvisor. Our colleagues in Regal Hong Kong Hotel passed this to us since your comment was posted on their review page.

We are very pleased to receive such positive comment on our staff and services; we have taken note of your valuable comments for further improvement. As for the power adaptor, you will be pleased to know that we do have multi-adaptor to loan to guests with all different kinds of socket requirement.

Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you in the future.


Best Regards
Peter Chiu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
#75 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,465 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
Hotel Pennington by Rhombus
#67 of 718 in Hong Kong
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#22 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,404 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Tin Hau
L'hotel Causeway Bay Harbour View
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regal Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regal Hongkong Hotel

Property: Regal Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.88 Yee Wo Street, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#86 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#106 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regal Hongkong Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 481
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regal Hongkong hotel situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, Hong Kong's vibrant commercial and shopping district. The deluxe five-star Hotel is the epitome of luxury and elegance where international business and leisure travellers are pampered with stylish comforts and a wide selection of gourmet choices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Agoda, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Regal Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regal Hongkong
Regal Hongkong Hong Kong
Regal Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing