We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not up to Shangri-La's standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The hotel needs some investment. Room was pretty big but nothing really luxury.
One real plus was that I was checked in in my room when I arrived early from my 14 hour flight. That was a real +.
The breakfast was very good

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bchiarut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,793 - 2,799 of 3,753 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2007

Me and my boyfriend are in our twenties and we stayed in Kowloon Shangri-La from May 1 to May 5. So yes, exactly coincides with the "golden week" of China. Despite the heavy volume the hotel is expecting, we had excellent service. The staff was very helpful and courteous, even if we looked just a split second lost in the lobby deciding on what to do next, a staff would come up and ask if we needed anything. From the doorman to the floor manager. They really take hotel management to a new level. After a long day out sightseeing and shopping, we find a cute wicker basket with a teapot of hot Chinese tea and two cups. These are the little things that really makes our stay special. They treat you like their top priority. It's a warm feeling that you don't get at other hotels... and oh their lobby is much more beautiful than the renowned Pennisula hotel. I don't dare to stay at other places again cuz we had such a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank dkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2007

What can I say? What a place!
Stayed here with my husband at the end of an indpendant tour of Beijing, Shanghai, Xian and Hong Kong. We booked a Deluxe Harbour View room via the hotel website and were not disappointed. It was our 20th wedding anniversary but we didn't tell the hotel, so no special extras, but the stay was special enough without any treats!
We were met at the arrivals gate and taken to an air-conditioned limo and whisked to the hotel in comfort with the addition of newspapers, cold bottled water and lavender scented cold towels.
Check in took place in the room where there was a plate of fruit and a pot of jasmine tea waiting for us. The room was fab. Large by city standards and spotless. The huge bathroom included an enormous separate shower and there was a clever use of space and mirrors in the room with the wardrobe, minibar and tea and coffee facilities behind a sliding curved panel. The view was fantastic and at night we left the curtains open to view the lights of HK Island from the bed. When you did want to close the curtains this could be done by pressing the button at the side of the bed!
We booked the value package, were pleased that we had and made good use of the unlimited laundry service. HK was very hot and humid and involved lots of clothes changes. The service was unbelievable. On the day we arrived, after booking in, we send a load of laundry to be done. In less than 3 hours it was delivered back to the room, shirts on hangers, other items folded and that nice touch of a lavender sachet!
Breakfast was the same standard we have begun to expect from Shangri la with a fantastic variety for all nationalities. We ate one night in the Italian restaurant to celebrate our anniversary and it was terrific. The service, view, food and drink in the restaurant were faultless. The Tapas bar was also very good. We spent some evenings in the lobby lounge relaxing after long days of sightseeing and again the service was excellent.
The location for us was perfect. It was our first time to HK and to be able to look across to HK Island at that famous view was lovely. With an MTR station just yards from the hotel, getting around was so easy. We were able to travel around Kowloon and to the Island so easily from the hotel. The Star ferry terminal is within easy walking distance, as are several shopping areas and malls.
We cannot fault this hotel and would definitely return and recommend it to others. In fact, sitting here writing this I wish I was back there........

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank chrisanddunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

Hotel is amazing, would definitely recommend upgrading to a deluxe harbour view room as the view is out of this world! It is in a great location so it's easy to get around and see the sights. Only down fall is the cost of the bars, restaurants and the mini bar. There are lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel though.
You can see the light show that takes place on Hong Kong Island from the harbour view rooms but for an even better view take a walk down to the Avenue of the Stars.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SussexRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Fantastic service and food! Nice location on the harbor too. If you prefer modern design I'd opt for the Renaissance or the Intercontinental but otherwise, this hotel is one of the best I've stayed in (Penninsula Bangkok is my #1 fave),

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunnyDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

Nice hotel on the Kowloon side of Hong Kong (I typically prefer Hong Kong Island side as its closer to my favorite shopping areas and cool neighborhoods like SoHo).

I'm definitely a fan of the Shangri-La chain of hotels. The service is always fantastic and you get a feel for the Asian culture.

The rooms are very nice, spacious, and well decorated.

The lodging was very reasonable when I stayed there - around $200USD/night - more than worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GlobalJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2007

We stayed in this hotel on our China tour and it was fabulous. We loved the unusual design of the room -- a sliding arced wood panel with mirrored square insets that gave access to both the closet and the minibar. A mirrored wall in the entry and what a luxurious bathroom! What a comfortable bed! The only disappointment was no flat-screen TV, but who cared? Not us. We were in easy chairs, sipping green tea, peering out our floor-to-ceiling bay window at Victoria Harbor day and night. Service was impeccable, which means instant. We never really got the hang of logistics at the hotel because it was too easy to just pick up the phone: "Ice, please." Not only did ice arrive but shortly afterward someone called to ensure that we'd been iced. Security was so great that if you forgot your room key you couldn't tell the elevator to go to your floor. Nice. The restaurants and food were 5-star, like the hotel. The lobby could have won an interior decoration award. If you get a chance to stay here, don't miss it.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank NoSnakesPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 727 in Hong Kong
6,220 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,698 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 727 in Hong Kong
1,011 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $237 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing