We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shangrila - Hong Kong. Really!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #15 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
145 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Shangrila - Hong Kong. Really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I came to Hong Kong to give a talk on lung cancer at this hotel.
The drive from the airport was long but smooth going through some great sites of the islands
The lobby is awesome with lovely paintings fountain and flower arrangements.
The checkin was smooth and efficiently.
The room is large and well planned.
The bed is comfortable. The bathroom is also roomy but the shower is tiny but with a rainwater shower. The view from my room is towards the harbour - quite a lovely view.
There was a pot of nice Chinese tea and fruit -really welcome after the sleep interrupted night flight from Bangalore
Great place to stay !

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank govindbabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear govindbabu, we are pleased to receive your compliments and we found it encouraging to know that you had a great stay with us. Thank you for your support and recommendations, we are pleased to know that after your long flights, you found the welcome and facilities as you would have anticipated from your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La, Hong Kong. We cannot wait to welcome you back in the near future. Sincerely, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,081
    596
    119
    31
    26
See reviews for
534
997
130
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (777)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

The hotel is well positioned and we didn't need to walk far to get anywhere. The room was fantastic and very clean. The shower is amazing. We didn't eat in the hotel but the staff were very helpful in recommending a couple of restaurants for us to try. All the staff in this hotel make you feel very welcome, which is lovely in a hotel of this size. The swimming pool was great, if small, after coming back from a day in the Hong Kong heat. There is also a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi (lovely and hot as it should be).

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dreamfields11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Dreamfields11, thank you for your time to share your memories of a delightful stay. We are glad that you were impressed with our guest room, Health Club and the care extended by my colleagues. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip and hopefully, we will be able to introduce you to some of the culinary delights in our signature restaurants. Best Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

I could certainly name a lot of things on what we enjoyed most in our stay from Kowloon Shangri-La like the spacious rooms, delectable selection from cafe kool, convenient and strategic location but what tops the list is thr commendable and delightful SERVICE! The hotel made sure that we leave the hotel happy and satisfied all the staff from the bellman - Arnel, to the front desk managers - Raymond, Jay and Lucy; Cafe Kool waiters all the way to Mr. Ulf Bremer, hotel GM. What they did was above and beyond on what we expected and because of that me and my family are unanimous in saying that we found our home in Hong Kong. We were a total of 9 guests booked 3 rooms for 5 days. We have travelled the world from Asia, to the Americas, to Europe to Caribbean and we have been bowled over by service only once which was in Ritz Carlton Millenia Singapore but our recent stay in Kowloon Shangri-La tops our most memorable list and we are sure to come back. In fact from now on we will make sure to book Shangri-La wherever we go. #ShangriLalifer

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerrica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Jerrica P, my colleagues and I are thrilled to read your wonderful comments. It is indeed most satisfying for us to learn that you have experienced such a nice stay which was above and beyond your expectation. We have shared your nice compliments with Arnel, Jay, Lucy and the Café Kool colleagues, who are all motivated to be shining examples of great hospitality. We cannot wait to welcome you back to your second home in the near future. Yours, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The room is big and clean. Hotel in a busy but quiet spot, easy access to train station. The hotel staff is very helpful and pilot. Breakfeast is greast with lots of western and chinese foods options.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank X L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear X L, thanks for choosing Kowloon Shangri-La. We appreciate your compliments and are glad that you have enjoyed an excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Sincerely, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed two nights at the shangri-la on the way to china. As always. Had a great stay. I stayed in a horizon club harbour view room. The extra service provided is worth the money, they are very accommodating and can organise just about anything from recommending and booking restaurants to organising tours. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Book a harbour view room. One of the best harbour views in the world especially at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AM502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear AM502014, it was our pleasure to take care of you and thank you for your continuous support - we cannot wait to welcome you back on many happy return visits. Yours truly, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
213 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

The garupa on rice cracker was outstanding, the lamb appetiser was very tasty and big enough to share , the soup hot and sour was the best we have had in hk
the decor was very relaxing and we were not rushed a pleasant evening. Only comment is waiter needs to be a little more attentive, certainly worth another visit.
The restaurant like the hotel pays close attention to guest needs and makes you feel good to be there.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Smb1600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Smb1600, thank you for your compliments as well as feedback, that we have gladly shared with our culinary and service teams at our Michelin two-starred Shang Palace. We are pleased that you found your experience enjoyable and hope to welcome you back for many more gourmet delights. Regards, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
On the road
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here last week while in town for business. I usually stay at Sheraton Towers, however a colleague I was meeting was staying here and suggested I try it out.
I arrived late from the airport and requested a high floor. This was no problem, however the team could not provide me with the King Bed room I was holding a guaranteed reservation for. This always annoys me when the hotel takes cc details for guarantee, but doesn't hold to their obligation of providing what is booked/reserved.
Before heading to my room I met my colleague in Tapas, had a cool drink and planned the next couple of days of work.
Upon heading to my room to freshen up before heading out for dinner was pleasantly surprised to see that I had been upgraded to a Horizon Club room. Room was a great size, everything worked, service was fast and attentive - and the Club was a perfect place to enjoy breakfast before heading in to the office.
Looks like I have a new favourite in HKG, and will be back in a couple of weeks. Another upgrade to Horizon Club will likely see the Kowloon Shangri-La locked in as my preferred when in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Go for the Horizon Club - huge rooms and a great spot for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoiltmeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KowloonShangrilaMGMT, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Spoiltmeat, it was wonderful to read all your nice comments. We are pleased that you were happy with your stay in one of our Horizon Club rooms which my colleagues were able to arrange for you during your time at our Tapas Bar on the day of your arrival. We are very much motivated to hear that we are now your new favourite hotel in Hong Kong. We all can’t wait to welcome you back to extend our hospitality once again. Sincerely, Ulf Bremer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 3,180 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,541 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong at Langham Place
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing