We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

My second stay at this hotel and it was certainly worth the return. This time I got to sample a bit more of their food and was very satisfied. If you like Beijing Duck and are not put off by local style restaurants, then there is a great place called Spring Deer right across the street at 1 Mody road. I am getting used to the location and it felt a lot better than my last stay. Their prices, like many other hotels in HK, fluctuate a lot based on what's going on in HK. If you can manage a good deal, I would definitely recommend this hotel. I am certainly coming back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MuneerH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear MuneerH, thank you for sharing your experience on a recent visit to the Hotel. I am very pleased you were satisfied with our restaurantsand we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,501
    681
    136
    35
    31
See reviews for
672
1,200
158
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

It was not the first time at one of the Shangri-La's hotels around the world, but no doubt that this is one of the best of them.

We took 2 harbor view rooms (amazing), and stayed there for 3 nights.

This hotel has a wonderful lobby, fantastic staff and service, very good location (The MTR is a 2 minutes walk from the enterance of the hotel), and an excellent lounge.
The breakfast buffet is really something unbelievable, and i say this after staying at some of the top luxurious hotels in the world!!

We used the hotel's transportation to the airport (at a very fair price), and at the airport, one of the hotel's staff was waiting for us, in order to help us with our baggage...That is really something to write about. I can not remember such a gesture at any other place!!

The only reject about this hotel, is that when we used the air-condition system, there was a bad smell of mildew and dampness in the room, which caused us to change a room. (Our second room was O.K, and so was the new room). I think that the cause of the smell is a bad maintenance of the air-condition's filters, in some parts of the hotel.

Except that reject, and as was mentioned before, i highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The harbor view room, is a MUST....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L17S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear L17S, thank you for your comments. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and you found the service and facilities to your liking. I note your comment on the airconditioning in your room - we do have a thorough maintenance programme for all rooms which are regularly checked however we have noted some rooms are stuffy, particularly when the weather is humid. We have identified the issue which only has affected a small number of rooms and we have addressed this. I am sorry it caused you to move rooms. Thanks once again for your valuable feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is without doubt one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. From the stunning lobby to the size and quality of the room, this hotel has it all. The location is great, with the entrance to the Tsim Sha Tsui East MTR less than 50 metres from the hotel. In hot or wet weather you can walk underground all the way to Nathan Road and further to Harbour City. A elevated covered walkway from the hotel leads to the Tsim Sha Tsui Promenade for a breathtaking walk along Victoria Harbour overlooking Hong Kong Island. This interesting and picturesque walk takes you all the way to the Kowloon Ferry Terminal, along the "Avenue of Stars". The full buffet breakfast is fantastic, with both Asian and Western tastes well catered for. The service is impeccable with wait staff and servers very attentive. Our "superior" room was hugeand very comfortable, with free high speed wi-fi. Our room attendant was really nice and polite, and we looked forward to his nightly turn down service. All in all a great place to stay in Hong Kong. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Tony L, thank you for your recommendation. I am delighted you enjoyed our hospitality and you found the location of the hotel convenient. Look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Amazing service, Dedicated Staff and top of the range quality food and services overall.Beautifully Maintained, great positioning on the MTR Exit and Views to the city especially at night. to be enjoyed without limits

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank OUTBACKPHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear OUTBACKPHIL, thank you for your wonderful feedback, much appreciated, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We are presently here for the night and whilst everything us fresh in my mind, I thought I would write my review.

We arranged for their driver to collect us from the airport after a long flight from Rome and the van (Mercedes) was immaculate. Water and fresh hand towels provided. It's about 40 mins drive to the Hotel. The Hotel is beautiful and we were quickly ushered up to our room (Horizon Club on Level 20 - room 2019 is great with a fantastic harbour view). This was a belated honeymoon for us as we have been travelling through Europe for the past 7 weeks with our 4 year old, so we booked the room the night before so we could ensure it was available as we arrived just after 6am. A pain to pay for a room we didn't use but guess you can't avoid it.

We were presented with beautiful flowers in arrival,a gorgeous handmade card for Miss 4 and a bottle of Prosecco which hubby is polishing off as I write in bed with flu coming on! They really spoilt us and there was a children's robe and slippers for Miss 4 to use. For those with children, you will appreciate these little things make all the difference.

Now for the gripes...my mother was flying on this evening so spent the day with us. We went up for some breakfast at the Horizon Club (included) and my mother didn't eat at all but we ordered her a cappuccino for which we had to sign for at a remarkable cost of HK$70 plus tax - ouch! We thought this was very steep and appreciate the horizon Club is for guests only, however this was a costly coffee.

This evening given our jetlag, we decided to eat within the Hotel as we are exhausted. We choose to go to the Tapas Restaurant however were told we couldn't bring our daughter in as she wasn't over 18 yrs. Seems an antiquated ruling to us given this was inky at 6.30pm. We chose the Japanese instead on the lower ground floor. We thought the Teppanaki would entertain her and although there wee only 3 people sitting there, we were told there was no space there for us. Only 3 people were sitting the when we left. We then went into the formal area and requested a booth to be told we also couldn't sit the. This too, remained empty. We had no choice but to stay as we needed to get Miss 4 fed, however this was very frustrating. We were early, it wasn't busy so wouldn't have bothered other diners.

This is a great hotel and very clean and the staff extremely attentive. We stayed at. The Four Seasons on the Island on our way through to Europe for 3 nights and although this is in a totally different league, the Shangri-La
Kowloon is an excellent hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank DCBAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear DCBAuckland, thank you for your valuable feedback. Whilst I was delighted you enjoyed many aspects of your stay I have taken note of your suggestions for improvement which are greatly appreciated. Certainly our Team at Nadaman could have been more accommodating and we have addressed this with them. Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Outstanding hotel in every respect! From the convenient location to the MTR, to the warm greeting I received from the butler in the lobby upon my third return visit, to the physical appearance of every aspect of the hotel, to the excellent limousine service which I used on occasion, everything was outstanding. Even better is the warm, helpful, professional staff! Ringo, the Head Concierge, and Simon, the evening concierge, are everything a concierge should be. And the hotel has much better rates than staying on Hong Kong Island.

Room Tip: I always get the city view rooms as they are a great deal. Besides I am not in the room enough to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank 79PeterK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear 79PeterK2013, thank you for your lovely review and for recognising Ringo & Simon, our concierges. They have a wealth of local knowledge and are always happy to offer advice to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aqaba, Jordan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the door, you feel like you are in a fairy land. The lobby was gorgeous, service impeccable, The staff was extremely helpful and friendly....Chinese restaurant downstairs is absolutely amazing as is the service...exquisite lobby....breakfast has outstanding choices for American, European and Asian tastes..superb! Room we had was large and bright...greeted with tea basket as usual in this chain of hotels....You can always count on great elegance at this chain of hotels....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NATHEER A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,456 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,434 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,046 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 716 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing