We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upped the Intercontinental”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2013

While I love the chain, I've always stayed at the intercontinental when in Kowloon because of the amazing views.
Decided to take a peers suggestion this time and tried the Kowloon Shangri-La location this time.
Overall it's a great facility, and candidly more welcoming and personal than the IH.
Without going into the ugly details, I had a bout of travelers .....well you know what I mean.
I was overwhelmed by the concern and personal attention to my well being and comfort. I could not have thought of anying they did not do.
The hotel staff earned my sincere thanks, but more so, improved on what was already a stellar sense of family level caring. Well done Shangri-La Kowloon.

Room Tip: Corner room is a bit more spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MovinMovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear MovinMovin, thank you for your review and for the recognition of the care extended by my colleagues. I will share your feedback with my Team. We look forward to your return to Kowloon Shangri-La on your next visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,071 - 2,077 of 3,764 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

This Hotel was very good, located in Kowloon is 2 min away from the subway stop, which you need in the wicked HK rush hours, directly across is the ferry stop to go to Hong Kong island.
Surrounded by restaurants bars and shops is the perfect location.
The room was very comfortable, spacious, huge king size bed with a good mattress not too soft not too hard.
Hotel service was very good and efficient, we requested ice and extra hangers and they not came within 5 min, they also called to checked we have being served every time.

If you are in a business trip which we were, the room had a printer and stocked up desk. Was perfect because we did not have to go to the biz center to have our presentation done. :)
We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nala1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Nala1111, thank you for your review and your comments. I am pleased you found the Hotel well equipped for your business trip. Regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We are in Hong Kong on vacation, and this hotel is fantastic. The rooms are large with a wonderful view of the harbor. Service is quick and the rooms are well appointed. Upon our arrival at 1:00 in the morning, we needed to have feather pillows and bedding removed from the room...it was taken care of in less than 10 minutes. Location is excellent for walking to Star Ferry, viewing the light show, and shopping. Highly recommend.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Eagles4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Eagles4me, delighted to learn you enjoyed your holiday in Hong Kong. Thank you for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you have the spare cash, then book yourself a treat by booking a King Room with a Full Harbour View. Amazing, outstanding views and the room is equally as outstanding. Exceptionally large, exceptionally clean, beautifully decorated, beautifully serviced, the hotel isn't to be sniffed at. The only problem we had was our room was not ready on arrival from a long haul flight even though we were checking in at 4pm. We had to wait for over an hour to get our room :( We were offered drink vouchers to tide us over, but really wanted to get in the room and hit the shower and have an early night so that needs to be addressed as we were not the only people being told the rooms were not ready! Prices at the bar/restaurants are steep as you can imagine, but the food and wine we ate was delicous and you did get the best views of Victoria Harbour as you were eating. The buffet breakfast was the best I had ever encounted and is the reason I ended up putting on a few kilos before we finally departed after 4 nights. Very good location, close to shops, walking distance even (20 mins) although the hotel has complimentary shuttle buses to Star Ferry and Harbour Shops.

Room Tip: There is a little pool in the gym area, but really it isn't that good, so if you are staying as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear Rowena C, thank you very much for your review and positive feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed many aspects of your stay. I can appreciate the inconvenience you experienced when your room was not ready on arrival - this happens very rarely and please accept my apologies that you had to wait. I am pleased that my colleagues offered you some refreshments.
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment I entered the Hotel lobby, I was overcome by an overpowering floral fragrance. My nose closed and I had trouble breathing.
While not as strong, the corridors in the Hotel suffered from the same malady.
Breakfast at $30 USD, plus service was a ripoff. The food was neither appetizing nor served hot. Service was non-existent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
4  Thank Talaopan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Talaopan, many thanks for sharing your experience after your recent stay. I was sorry to learn that you did not appreciate our 'Essence of Shangri-La' fragrence which we use in the hotel lobby - so many people ask us about it, we now sell diffusers in the Hotel shop which is one of our most popular products. I note with concern about your disappointing breakfast experience and will address your feedback with our Restaurant Team. Thank you once again for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have spent many nights in Hong Kong over the years, and I have found that the Shangri-La Kowloon to be the best for me. The harbor view rooms are the best in town, restaurants, and shopping arcades are good for those who only have a short stay and can't get out in the city.
Rooms are well apointed and beds are very comfortable. A well stocked mini bar is always welcomed.

Room Tip: Choose the harbor view rooms, giving great views and privacy at the same time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack+Leslie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear PPPjack1917, thank you for your continued loyalty over the years. I am pleased you find the Hotel comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very good and big rooms - we had a Deluxe King on the tenth floor.

The room was serviced in the morning and evening very well: shame that tea was found only once ready for our return, if this could be arranged every afternoon it would be great.

The position is also very handy for both the Island and Kowloon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zia_Angelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,244 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,718 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#7 of 730 in Hong Kong
1,040 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $234 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing