We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Day curtain view...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 701 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Day curtain view...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Was here on business trip. Room had great view to Victoria harbour. Taking tea in the room and watching Hong Kong- this was the highlight of this first and short visit to Hong Kong. Breakfast was also just amazing, great for Europeans afraid to experiment with chinese cuisine like our group was... The area around the hotel, named Kowloon is safe and good for strolls around, with some interesting sights for sightseeing or shopping...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank batakoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear batakoja thank you for your review and positive comments, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,286
    645
    126
    32
    27
See reviews for
604
1,080
145
780
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UAE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed at the Kowloon Shangrila with my wife and 3yr old for 4nights(11th June-15th June) and had an amazing time. From the time we checked in we knew we had made the right choice. The hotel has a great location with easy access to the MTR(5min walk from the hotel), 7-11 shops around the corner and various restaurants. The hotel itself has the famous Shang Palace restaurant and the Barbecued Pork loin glazed with honey sauce was amazing. For a group of 4 adults with Beer we paid 1500HKD for dinner which was very reasonable.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful..especially Jonathan and Arnel. If i needed any info they were the guys who helped me out. The staff at Cafe Kool where we went to have our morning breakfast were also excellent. Almost all staff who we interacted with in the hotel spoke fluent english and were promt with any request. The breakfast served had a nice spread from eggs, bacon, sausage, hash browns to a variety of cereals, fruits and fruit juices. They also had an Asian spread serving noodles with pork etc as well as Dosa, Paratha and Poa etc for the Indian palate.They also served Pancakes and waffles with strawberry and chocolate sauce as well as croissants and danish pastries..Overall a very decent spread.

The Deluxe room with a side Harbour view was nice. The size of the room and toilet was very good and the king size bed was very comfortable. The harbour view was not a direct one so honestly did not make much of a difference. When we checked in we were served complimentary fruits and chinese tea which was nice. The hotel provided us (on request) with a complimentary baby bottle sterilizer which was very helpful. Milk for children is charged though.The room service was quick to respond and in-room dining was excellent.

The concierge helped us make reservations at various restaurants in the city and also helped us plan our day and route. Complimentary umbrellas helped us a lot during this rainy month.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to live in Kowloon. I have stayed at the Shangrila property in different countries before and have to say it never disappoints....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alston S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Alston S, thank you for your review and positive comments. I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay and thank you for recognising my colleagues Arnel & Jonathan. Many thanks for your recommendation, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
340 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Incredible service in club lounge. Good selection of food at breakfast, appetizers and wine at dinner. Rooms comfortable and well located by the water and the shopping area in Kowloon. However, the building is older, so less modern than the new Shangri-la hotel across the water!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear MarySL00 thank you for sharing your experience - great to learn you enjoyed the service at the Horizon Club. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Location is the best feature. Sure it has all the features of 5 star hotel and everything works but still it leaves be cold. There is nothing unique, special, imaginative here.Pompous but not in a good way. Totally faceless, nothing really to remember. Just one in a row. Standard everything, nothing which would make me remember some detail etc. Some could say the style and decor is already seen best days.

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Aki S, thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you did not experience our Shangri-La hospitality - I will be in touch directly to get more details as we would like to know how we can improve. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

The name of the hotel represents quality and good customer service. No complaints, the location is very good, close to the harbour, food places and metro subway is a minute walk from the hotel. The buffet breakfast is expensive if you pay a one off, approximately £48 for 2 people, so try to get a deal when booking with the hotel as a package.

Helpful?
Thank Vishal P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently went to HOng Kong on my way into China. I decided I should stay somewhere the Hung Hom train station, this hotel was one of many that looked good. I landed & 1st impressions were excellent the place is very grand with lovely furniture & nice decor. The reception was busy but the staff dealt with it fast & professional and I say this because there were staff on my side of the counter doing the checkin formalities for you. ie paperwork & asking for your passport. I went up to my room & my bags were a minute behind me. The room was excellent, great bed & pillows and bathroom was nice. I had a great nights sleep and opened my curtains to a wonderful harbour view. On this trip I stayed in 5 hotels and this one was by far the best. I had breakfast in with my booking and it was fab, more things than you could imagine. I will use this hotel again and look at using the group

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robertg0107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Robertg0107, thank you for your feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your short stay. We are conveniently located for MTR, Star Ferry as well as Hung Hom railway station and within walking distance to some of Kowloon's major shopping areas. I would recommend joining our Golden Circle program as you can earn additional benefits when staying at any of the Shangri-La Hotels or Resorts. Thank you for your comments, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

i brought my daughter to disneyland last mar 2012 i can't say any bad comments in this hotel,they simply have the best,perfect location,walking distance to everything,nice staffs,we manage to see and meet our kababayang pilipino working there...i love their wide range of foods in their breakfast buffet,definitely must try,it is worth every penny,we didn't manage to see the pool because of our busy schedule but definitely an experience that i can share

8 mins to walk to walk of fame and the museum of art, mtr station at 1 min walk...definitely convenient

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaetlyn_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear kaetlyn_sg many thanks for your review and recommendations, much appreciated, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 701 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 701 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 701 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing