We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely lobby, good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

First trip to Hong Kong. Location was great - very close to the MTR and easy walk to the Star Ferry.

Our first impression wasn't good. Although we were a family with small children, and arrived at midnight, we were shown to a very smelly smokers' room which did not have the extra beds in that we had booked. To his credit, the Service Manager, William Chien, found us another room quickly and was very helpful throughout our stay.

We did not have a harbour-view room ,though this didn't matter, as the weather was very misty during our stay so there was no view to speak of!

The live music in the lobby area was lovely and the staff were all very helpful, slick service.

The room itself was very corporate in style - functional, practical but lacking in character, inevitable I suppose for this type of City hotel. The breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jslcherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Jslcherry, thank you for your feedback. I was concerned to learn you were given a smoking room, particularly as you were travelling with children. I am please my colleague William made alternative arrangements for you and that you enjoyed the remainder of your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the breakfast and lobby entertainment. Thank you for your constructive comments, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,606)
There are newer reviews for Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,095 - 2,101 of 3,606 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Hong Kong and our first at the Shangri-la Kowloon. We stayed in another fine hotel on previous visits but this is our first choice from now on.

We have stayed in Shangri-la hotels in Beijing and Singapore and been delighted so we had an idea of what to expect. Even so, this hotel greatly exceeded on expectations. The lobby is impressive, the room, with harbor view, was excellent. Shangri-la hotels are known for the quality of their buffets and the Kowloon branch was no ezception. Heaps of both Asian and Western dishes, well-preoared and well-served.

We had dinner in the hotel's two-star Chinese restaurant and my wife called her meal memorable--the best on our vacation. Considering we had been on a luxury cruise ship and stayed at a Four Seasons resort on Bali, that is high praise indeed.

There were plenty of the little touches that make a hotel stay special. The car that picked us up at the airport had seat backs that delivered a massage as we rode. A charming hotel staffer met the car, whisked us through check-in and got us to our room very quickly. As quick as it was, our luggage was already in the room.

A very lovely stay in a very lovely hotel--right on the water, close to shopping and the Star Ferry to Hong Kong island and our first choice in Hong Kong from now on.

Room Tip: You do want a harbor view--facing the awesome skyline that is Hong Kong island
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luckysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Luckysdad, thank you for your wonderful review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay at Kowloon Shangri-La and found the location convenient. I am also pleased you enjoyed the meal at Shang Palace and will share your feedback with the Team. Look forward to welcoming you back on your 5th visit to Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Out third trip to the fabulous Hong Kong and our second stay at this great hotel. Staff were very helpful and attentive, our room was brilliant even had a view of the harbour (a bonus). Very well located not far from the heart of kowloon and right on the MTR.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank acepfv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear EdR2, many thanks for your review and for recommending Kowloon Shangri-La. I am delighted you enjoyed our hospitality. Regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel in the center of things in Kowloon then this is the place. The moment you walk in you feel like you are the most important person in the world. They have hostesses to greet you and to ensure you, your luggage and other needs are met.

We selected the executive level and were given a gorgeous view room. The rooms are very modern and they have all the amenities including free Wi Fi. The executive lounge was well appointed and staffed by friendly and courteous hosts and hostesses.

The hotel is located on the harbor and situated amongst some wonderful dining options. We were invited to the private China Club for dinner and had a delicious and exotic Cantonese dinner. The dining options in Hong Kong are endless. The nearby malls had everything you could want for shopping and dining. I was amazed to find a gourmet restaurant atop a high end mall. The hotel's own restaurants are great for breakfast and dinner. The fine dining option may seem a little pricey but it is worth the money.

Hong Kong is no miss place for shopping. You can find "Rodeo Drive" and flea markets within few blocks of each other. The late night street shopping is a real adventure. Whatever you do visit Stanley Market it is a no brainer and there are some real bargains there.

I would heartily recommend the Shangri-La for a great place to stay and eat.

Room Tip: Go for the executive level. It is well worth a few extra dollars.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Shangri-la Kowloon hotel is same high standard as other hotels within the same chain. The location is very good, right in front of the seapromenade and you can easily reach most sights and shopping in Kowloon. The hotel is a bit dated maybe, but in a positive way as it has a bit of character. All the staff were highly professional and very welcoming. The rooms were quite spacious and nothing lacking there really.

We had the buffet at the hotel and it was good value and a decent spread. Also went to the
Italian restaurant Angelini which is located in the hotel and can highly recommend. Very nice
food and elegant yet not too formal.

We had breakfast at the Horizon lounge the top floor, nice and quiet, but a bit basic perhaps.
They do a la carté though on top of a small buffet.

The only let-down maybe was the pool/health club which was a bit too old and small size. Took the kid´s there and not a place for them really. Pool would also be too small for any exercise-swimming I feel. They also do some basic massage there, but not a spa really.

One thing I liked was that when you took a taxi outside the hotel, the doorman wrote down the taxinumber and gave it to you on a note so that if any problems with overcharging you could later hand it back with them to complain. Obviously this is more of an alert to the taxidriver not to try to overcharge or anything. It´s good and makes you trip more relaxing.

At the whole, can thoroughly recommend this hotel as it provides good value in most ways I think.

Room Tip: Obviously the Harbour wiew rooms are nice!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MustangViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Viking66, thank you very much for your review and great feedback. Good to learn you enjoyed the Cafe Kool and Angelini restaurants. Thank you for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Asia and this hotel was the last we stayed in. Everything from the greeting getting out of the taxi to the welcoming tea delivered to our room within minutes of our arrival was seamless. The room was very spacious & I think the biggest bed we have ever had. Every member of staff dealt with any request or enquiry in the most pleasant manner and made you feel they were there just for you. The position the hotel was in was easy to get to the other islands and the airport. We would definitely stay there again if in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: have a room on 11th floor or above on harbour side if possible
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janiceduckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear janiceduckham, thank you for your positive feedback and great to learn you enjoyed your stay. The Hotel is conveniently located on the Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront within easy reach of the Star Ferry or MTR. Regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved our stay in the Shangri-La, and wished we could have been there longer. The service is awesome - nothing seems to be too much trouble, and the tea that they bring up to your room is a lovely touch. It's located just a short walk from the Star ferry, so getting onto the island is quick and easy. We also had the breakfast: don't be put off by the price as it is the most incredible selection of Eastern and Western food. Oh and the WiFi is free :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear MikeMaynard thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the free WiFi useful. We look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,934 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,029 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
6,547 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $246 - $504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing