We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a smile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have just returned from a visit to Asia and this hotel was the last we stayed in. Everything from the greeting getting out of the taxi to the welcoming tea delivered to our room within minutes of our arrival was seamless. The room was very spacious & I think the biggest bed we have ever had. Every member of staff dealt with any request or enquiry in the most pleasant manner and made you feel they were there just for you. The position the hotel was in was easy to get to the other islands and the airport. We would definitely stay there again if in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: have a room on 11th floor or above on harbour side if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceduckham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear janiceduckham, thank you for your positive feedback and great to learn you enjoyed your stay. The Hotel is conveniently located on the Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront within easy reach of the Star Ferry or MTR. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,643
    714
    137
    38
    32
See reviews for
715
1,264
166
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We loved our stay in the Shangri-La, and wished we could have been there longer. The service is awesome - nothing seems to be too much trouble, and the tea that they bring up to your room is a lovely touch. It's located just a short walk from the Star ferry, so getting onto the island is quick and easy. We also had the breakfast: don't be put off by the price as it is the most incredible selection of Eastern and Western food. Oh and the WiFi is free :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeMaynard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear MikeMaynard thank you for staying with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the free WiFi useful. We look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noumea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently stayed here for a short break and were very impressed. The staff were incredibly friendly and ready to help. The tapas bar was a great place to relax with a great selection of wines and good food. A special mention to the chef at the indian station for breakfast, he made a great sambar and went out of his way to provide us with whatever we requested. The rooms were spacious and clean. We selected a full harbour view room and whilst the view was spectacular the old protection film did detract somewhat, not sure that I would pay the extra again for the same room. Great location with the Tsim Sha Tsui MTR right next to the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjo3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear sanjo3011, thanks for your review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and will certainly pass on your feedback to our Indian chef. Thank you for letting us know about the tinted film on your window - we have identified your room and have had the film replaced. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 8 nights. Really, it is very hard to fault it. It's a big, glittery sort of hotel. If you want 'funky' stay somewhere else as this is more of a traditional, luxury hotel. However, if 'traditional' means lovely, spacious rooms, wonderful service at every level, so many small touches that make for a genuinely good hotel - and all of which can be found at this hotel - then this is the place to stay. We had a good meal in the Japanese restaurant, and we also had the buffet breakfast a couple of times. The breakfast buffet is a little expensive but the choice and quality is good. The hotel's location is excellent: a minute's walk to the harbour waterfront, and the clean and efficient subway (MTR) across the street. Although it is within easy walking distance of much of the bustle and buzz of HK, the hotel itself is tucked into a relatively quiet location - it feels like a bit of a refuge from all the noise. The hotel really struck us as a place where everyone - reception, housekeeping, security, the nice health club in the basement, dining - was trying really hard to be excellent at what they do. I don't think I've ever stayed in a cleaner hotel. We loved it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Miranda3_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Miranda3_10 thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you enjoyed the service and facilities of the Kowloon Shangri-La. Although the Hotel is more than 30 years old we are continually making improvements and ensuring the public areas and rooms are well maintained. Thank you for recognising my colleagues who do work hard at trying to please. Thank you for your comments, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We recently had a 3 night stay with our two daughters aged 5 and 2.
From the moment we walked through the doors we were greeted with a warm welcome.
All the staff were friendly, professional and made us feel really valued as customers.
While I was checking in, our daughters were given lollipops and cute little finger puppets by one of the staff.
We upgraded to the deluxe Horizon club rooms and it was well worth it.
We had a really good sized room and they had already made up our daughters bed.
They brought our girls complimentary milk and cookies which they loved.
There was a fresh pot of Chinese tea and a selection of fruit ready and waiting for us.
The horizon club lounges were beautiful with spectacular views. They were spread over two floors.
During the cocktails and canapés in the evening, the children weren't allowed to be on the top floor which we didn't mind as we understand that if you're enjoying pre dinner drinks, the last thing you want is children running around.
So the staff kindly brought us our drinks and canapés to the floor below which was equally as nice as the top floor.
The breakfasts were amazing and the choice and quality of the food were fantastic.
The decor of the hotel was exquisite. Classic luxury with Chinese accents. The rooms were beautiful and were well equipped with luxury amenities and even your own Nespresso machine.
There was a good range of restaurants, all with very tempting menus.
All in all this is an outstanding hotel. The service was exemplary and nothing was too much trouble.
We definitely recommend this hotel and we will stay here again when we are next in Hong Kong.
A big Thank You for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe Uk
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a truly superb hotel! Our accommodation (Horizon Harbour view room) was exceptional. The restaurants, the staff and the service were all second to none. The location was also very convenient for the shopping areas of Kowloon and easy walking distance of the Star Ferry. it is also not far from the new Kia Tak Cruise terminal. well done Shangri-la you are definitely leaders of the quality brigade!

Room Tip: To get the best value the harbour view rooms are well worth the extra cost, the views are excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllanFelixstoweUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Shangri-la is well located on the waterfront and is close to the Star ferry and underground, there are fabulous views of the skyscrapers of Hong Kong central. It may be well worth paying the extra for the harbour view (we did not).

The standard rooms are spacious and more than adequate, finished to a high standard and with comfortable beds.

Service is exemplary at all levels from the greet and meet at the airport, to the doorman when you arrive, through the personal reception with in-room reservation/sign-in (no queuing at a reception desk) to room service and restaurant staff.
The limousine service, using a Mercedes is to be highly recommended, we were met in the arrivals lounge and did not touch the luggage until we were in our room, the driver provided refreshing towels and water for the trip and described the sights as we drove to the hotel.
The attention to detail is excellent, the service from everyone was exceptional and reminded me of our stay at the Savoy in London (but less expensive) we used the concierge service which was excellent and everyone smiles.
We dined in the Shang Palace restaurant, which has 2 Michelin stars and unfortunately was the only disappointment that we had, the waiters were excellent and a credit to the hotel, but the food was not of the same standard.
We also used room service where again the service was very good as was the food. There is free Wi-Fi and the checking out procedure was very well organised, we used the same limousine service back to the airport and again we found this to be worth the 800 HK$, the hotel has permanent staff based in the airport and this proved to be very fortunate as my wife found that she had left some expensive jewellery in the bathroom, Josef contacted the hotel and arranged for the items to brought to the airport by the driver of the next limousine, again we did not touch the luggage from the time it left our room to when we collected it form Heathrow airport, as Josef took it from the car to the check in desk.
We thought the the standard of service was so good that we will certainly use this chain in the future.

Room Tip: The harbour view rooms may be worth the extra, providing that the visibility is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffpfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,829 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,975 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,471 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing