We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIVE STAR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“FIVE STAR”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This was our second stay at a Shanri-La property. Our first was in Kuala Lumpur. Our stay at the hotel in Kuala Lumpur was exceptional and unfortunately this hotel was not up to the same standard but it was still very good.

Staff are wonderful and help make for an enjoyable stay, they are pleasant and helpful.

We were a party of three adults and found the size of our room to be extremely comfortable. This is a very expensive hotel and although we did book a club room we could not extend to a harbour view room.

The club lounge, which is located on two floors, had a wonderful view. Food on offer was pretty standard but the personal provision of corn chips and dips, which was continually topped up during cocktail hour was a very nice touch. There was a large range of alcoholic drinks available, including cocktails which was a treat.

There has been many comments about the breakfast available at Kafe Kool, although it was good, we have had much better at other Hotels. We felt the variety was lacking but we did notice that the options improved on the weekend.

We had a late flight on our last day and the hotel was very generous in allowing us an extended room check out time of 2.00pm (any later and they charge) as well as access to the club lounge until later in the day. We thank the Hotel for this generousity which was greatly appreciated.

The location of the hotel was good. The trains were not too hard to get to. There is less walking to the Tsim Tsa Tsui East train than the Tsim Tsa Tsui train.

For the same cost, Langham Place represents better value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PegususPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear PegususPerth thank you for your constructive feedback. Whilst I was pleased you enjoyed the facilities of the Horizon Club I have taken note of your comments on the variety of breakfast at Cafe Kool. The menu does frequently change and we try to accommodate for almost all tastes including a number of Indian & Japanese dishes as well as Western & Chinese fare. I am pleased you found the location convenient and we will do our best to arrange a harbour view room next time as these are very popular. Thanks for your review, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,643
    714
    137
    38
    32
See reviews for
715
1,264
166
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel is nicely located on the harbour in Kowloon. Lots of great shops and experiences close by and the service at the hotel is top rated. Also great restaurants close by all within walking distance. Easy access to the subway to then see all of Hong Kong.

Room Tip: If you stay on weekends, ask to be upgraded for free so you can enjoy the Executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobQ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear RobQ65, thank you for your great feedback - good to learn you enjoyed the Shangri-La service and found the hotel to be well located. We do offer room upgrades at a reasonable surcharge on arrival, subject to availability and the feedback on the Horizon Club services is very positive. Thank you for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

A perfect experience as usual and recommended. It gets busy in the main dining areas over the weekend so best dine early or out. The price point of other farily good hotels such as The Icon may cause some competition ahead! The Tapas bar is not often open for lunch - pity!

Room Tip: Harbour view if budget allows is wonderful (mine did not!). I always ask for a high elevation rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear TechnoProf, thanks for staying with us again and for your feedback - you will be pleased to hear that we will be opening our Tapas Bar for lunch on weekends and public holidays from 2nd March 2013. Many thanks Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel as part of a stopover for a longer trip. The view from our harbour view junior suite was stunning and was such a highlight. The food in the Michelan starred restaurant was superb and we had a fantastic stay. The hotel facilities including the bars and breakfast areas are also suberb and we had use of the concierge dayroom and cocktail bar on our level which was helpful. Great staff from reception to doorman. We will return.

Ladies do be careful if your husband goes to the hair salon for a trim without you - the only slight disappointment was the high charge for a hair treatment for my husband who is by his own admission very sparse in the hair department.

Room Tip: Our room was harbour view with floor to ceiling windows and was everything we had dreamed of and mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMac324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent three nights here this week and were upgraded to an Exec Suite on arrival - an unexpected treat! It was everything we have come to expect from the Shangri La group and didn't disappoint. The breakfast buffet was great and had something for everyone. Service, as you might expect, was slick and plentiful and even though the hotel was busy, we never had to wait for anything at all.

It is well placed in Kowloon, with a very short distance of the MTR, and with plenty of shops and restaurants nearby to suit all tastes and pockets.

The Tapas bar offers a good choice of tapas and some good, but understandably pricey, wines. Made a nice change from beer though!

We can happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizzkid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks for your feedback - great to learn you had a good stay and enjoyed our Tapas Bar which not only has a wide range of wines by the glass but some creative bites too! Thanks for your review, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong is a fantastic hotel indeed. While not anymore brandnew, it offers everything a business traveler could wish for, including several restaurants, spa and gym, the distinct smell of Shangri-La hotels worldwide, top service quality by attentive staff, privacy when needed, close to public transportation as the MTR access entrance is virtually next to the hotel. Also shuttle bus access to Kowloon Airport Express station.
The rooms are spacious and with all the desired amenities, there are harbour view rooms available, maybe the price is meanwhile too expensive, I think that with many mainland tourists flocking to Hong Kong the hotels are just charging a lot, hopefully this will not backfire one day.
Around the hotel there are also many shops, and bars/restaurants where travelers can enjoy having meals, some also have live bands in the evening.

Room Tip: Harbour view rooms are nice, maybe one can hear the music from some of the live bands in the evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoGameSL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your review - I am delighted you enjoyed the attentive service from my colleagues and found the location convenient. Thank you for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We recently travelled around Asia and Australia for our Honeymoon, we stayed in various 5 star hotels throughout our trip but the best by far was the Shangri la in Kowloon. The service was amazing, we were greater at the door and made to feel so special from the time we arrived to the time we left. The bouquet of flowers, the champagne, the amazing view from the bedroom window, the doorman remembering our names as we left and entered the hotel and the fabulous carpets in the lifts that changed everyday to say the day of the week in the embroidery!!!!! The whole experience was amazing and we would love to go back one day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarlett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for selecting to stay at Kowloon Shangri-La for your honeymoon - Congratulations - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,829 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,975 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#14 of 718 in Hong Kong
6,471 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Grand Stanford
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing