We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good, but not great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 716 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
all over
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not great”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very good service, comfortable rooms, and more luxurious than most "5 star" hotels in HK, a city which seems to characterize just about every hotel as 5 star.

Business center was decent, but they were charging me 400% more to courier some documents than I normally pay. Why not get some corporate rates with the carriers and pass them on to your clients?

It's right in the heart of Kowloon and there is lots to do around here, but I find the Island a better place to stay. The crowds are not as intense and there isn't as much jostling, pushing, and funky odors as in Kowloon.

The tapas restaurant was awful - don't bother going there. The service is poor and the food is sub par and overpriced. They messed up our order twice, and the waiter who works there is quite aloof and seems utterly uninterested in his job.

Very good service everywhere else though, from the front desk to wait staff to housekeeping. I would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fundipyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Whilst I was pleased you enjoyed many aspects of your stay I note your comments on our business centre pricing & experience at Tapas. We regularly review our prices and will see how we can offer better value for money. I am concerned that your experience in Tapas was not good, particularly as we usually receive rave reviews about the food. I will be in contact for further details so we can address the shortcomings. Thanks again for your constructive comments, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,500
    681
    136
    35
    31
See reviews for
672
1,199
158
827
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've had the opportunity to stay at this property several times, and it never disappoints. The service is always fast, efficient , and friendly. The hotel is elegant from top to bottom, from the large marble fountain and quartet in the common area to the spacious, well appointed rooms. Each room has a desk in a bay window area, and a pot of tea in an insulated carrier waiting for you upon arrival. The size and scope of the breakfast buffet is truly impressive and features made to order local and western favorites. The dining room staff is courteous and efficient, addresses you by name, and a member of management will always check on you to make sure everything is satisfactory. Truly a first class operation.

Room Tip: Get a harbor view, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerobubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments - great to learn you enjoy our facilities and service. We look forward to welcoming you back, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
71 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a superb stay at the Shangri-La. The location is second to none and our harbor view room was well worth the upgrade. If you can swing it, I highly recommend this option., We especially liked that the MTR station was only steps from the hotel's front door.

Others have described the beautiful facilities so I wanted to concentrate on the service we received. Our flight to Hong Kong was delayed several hours and we arrived at 2 am. Even at this late hour, within a few moments of checking in, a pot of welcoming green tea was delivered to our room. This and a similar kindness of the staff was evident throughout our stay, and this is really what sets this property apart from others in the area. As an example, the hotel has a spectacular nightly dinner buffet and on our last night we decided to try it. If you like lobster, this is the place for you as they were plentiful and delicious. My companion wasn't very hungry so decided to instead order a la carte from the menu. The manager, Keith, stopped by to see how we were enjoying the meal and noticing that J did not have the buffet, invited him to enjoy the dessert buffet with his compliments. As we were leaving, he thanked us for stopping by and asked if he would see us for breakfast the next morning. We explained that this was our last night and had a very early flight. Keith then offered to have a breakfast box prepared for us to pickup before leaving for the airport at 6 am. This kindness made the difference between a good stay and a great stay, and we saw this caring attitude throughout the hotel.

Check out day was on my birthday, and when we dropped off our keys, the front desk manager presented me with a box of chocolates and a birthday card, hand signed by the hotel management. This graciousness can't be taught but seemed to come naturally to everyone we met in the hotel. Given a choice of where to stay, I can't imagine choosing any other hotel other than the Shangri-La Kowloon during my next visit.

Room Tip: Splurge and book a harbor view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reldim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments - delighted that our Service Manager Keith & some of his colleagues went out of their way to look after you and your travelling companion. I will ensure Keith is duly recognised for his efforts & I appreciate the trouble you have taken to provide us with your feedback. Regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This was one of the most wonderful hotels we have ever stayed at in recent times. The staff are 5 class and just do everything to make your stay at the hotel a world class experience.

We had a handle on one of our luggage a bit loose and before we could anything, someone come running down the stairs with a phillips srewdriver to fix the luggage. It was something we never experienced before and something we wouldn'tforget in a hurry and that is why the review.

We purchased the basic delux room and expected a standard room abou 4 stars. The room was well appointed, lots of space and the bathroom was at the Shangri La standards, very beautiful and all the facilities. The King size bed was extremely comfortable so we always got a good night sleep.

We loved the desk near the window that overlooked Hong Kong Harbour. This is where I started the day eating my breakfast watching ferries meanander accross the harbour.

There was complimentry bottled water each day which was great when you went sight seeing all day. On our first day we recieved a small fruit platter of local in season fruit.

House keeping was excellent and reservation staff were one of the best we have experienced in the last three years.

The hotel has a swimming pool, spa and gym. Fairly basic for a 5 star hotel but adequate, However, the facilities within this area are just outstanding. They place a fresh towel and bottled water on every gym machine, their is fresh fruit and juice after your swim in the pool and the bathrooms are a must visit, they are outstanding. Everything from shampoo, shaving creams, razors etc etc well appointed.

Unfortunatley we ate out of the hotel to experience local food and so we cannot provide information about the food facilties at the hotel but the prices were very good and going by the number of people using the resturants, they were very popular.

The hotel is locate opposite the MRT (Underground Railway) so you can get to many parts of Hong Kong very quickly and inexpensively. Make sure you purchase your Octopus Pass which allows to travel on all trains, buses, trams and Ferries at a very low cost. A trip to Lemma ISland one of outlying islands which takes about an hour on the ferry costs $4 US return using your Octopus pass.

Even the trip back to airport which is normally about $26-28 US can be done by the MRT for less $3 US. You have to change once from the red line to the orange line, but the train is then an express train to the airpoort.

As far as Hong Kong island and the ferries, it is a very casual 10 minute walk along the waterfront from the hotel to the ferry terminal. It is lovely walk and very easy.

Our experience was a memory in time, a beautiful experience at a great hotel that we would go back to tomorrow. On trip advisor it is currently rated as the 15th best hotel in Hong Kong, my wife and I would rate our experience as a hotel in the top 10 in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are excellent for couples visiting Hong Kong, the next grading up gives you assess to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your review and for the positive comments - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my colleagues willing and helpful. As you rightly point out, the hotel is conveniently located for many of Hong Kong's attractions, yet just far enough away from the hustle & bustle of Nathan Rd & Canton Rd to provide a sense of tranquility. Thank you for staying with us, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

i guess that after 72 stays you can say "I like this place"- but you are wrong - I LOVE it..

When they say "welcome back home" they mean it.

The rooms are huge by HK standards, all rooms are recently redone and are very nice, and service can't better, excellent location... Especially if you start to stay there more than once.

HINT - if you are a "first timer" - join the GOLDEN CIRCLE club before you arrive - easy to do on line - you get points and more important, you get breakfast discounts even at the entry level...

HINT - the upcharge for the Horizon Club is about $90 US- if you don't have a breakfast package, it may be worth it - if nothing else but to partake in their cocktail hour overlooking the harbor

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wdchuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks very much for your confidence in the Kowloon Shangri-La, we greatly appreciate your loyalty. Thank you for also mentioning your travellers 'tips' - our Golden Circle membership is very attractive and you are right by mentioning that benefits start right at the entry level and points are awarded not only for room stays but also for meals and drinks in our restaurants & bars. The Horizon Club is a very popular lounge on our 21st floor with panoramic views of Victoria Harbour & Hong Kong Island - a perfect place to have breakfast or complimentary evening cocktails exclusively for Horizon Club guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to your Home in Hong Kong, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Shangri-La is definitely the best place to stay. The staff are extremely helpful, friendly, and speaks different languages. We arrived at the hotel via taxi from the airport. One staff immediately went straight to open our taxi door, helped us with luggage, and made sure our taxi driver didnt over charge us. I felt the dedication of the staff to their guests. It's very impressive & comforting! The lobby is massive but welcoming with well appointed seats and fragrant flowers envelops the atmosphere. Their guest rooms are very clean and comfortable. We can see partial view of Hong Kong harbor which is a block away. It's close to the shopping, dining, bus stops, and train station.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoieAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Great to learn you found my colleagues friendly & helpful and the location of the hotel convenient. Thank you for your feedback, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was our second stay in 2012 at this property, this time travelling also with our 3 children. As a party of 5, we used the hotel transport which was fantastic and avoided us having to get 2 cabs. This was also particularly useful on our return to the airport where we had 10 (ten) suitcases (shopping). Staff also assist with luggage which was very helpful and appreciated.

The hotel was particularly helpful in securing an adjoining room for our 3 children, and attended to any 3 in a room needs as required, (bedding amenities etc.).

The Horizon Club was worth the money, and you can never get tired of having breakfast or an evening drink overlooking the amazing harbour.

We had a completely trouble free stay, and I was impressed and amazed that somehow the staff knew it was my wife's birthday during our stay and delivered a wonderful cake to our room.

We will be returning to Hong Kong several times in 2013 and would not consider staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is worth the cost. Harbour View rooms are great if you can get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Racer3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSLGM, General Manager at Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review - delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay on the Horizon Club floor. We look forward to your return in 2013, regards Timothy Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 716 in Hong Kong
5,452 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,430 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 716 in Hong Kong
3,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mong Kok
Cordis, Hong Kong
Cordis, Hong Kong
#15 of 716 in Hong Kong
6,038 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#9 of 716 in Hong Kong
1,416 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: 64 Mody Road | Tsim Sha Tsui East, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 688
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located along the legendary Victoria Harbour, the award-winning Kowloon Shangri-La boasts 688 spacious and elegant guestrooms with modern conveniences and luxurious comfort. Five acclaimed food and beverage outlets, including a Michelin-starred Chinese restaurant, together with a sophisticated lounge and a chic bar, offer a range of exquisite cuisines. The Mass Transit Railway is just right next door, and the Airport Express stations and Star Ferry are only minutes away from the hotel, enhancing its already prime location as the hub of business, shopping and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kowloon Shangri-La Hotel Hong Kong
Shangri La Hong Kong
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing