We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elusive harbour view” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
152 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Elusive harbour view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2007

Recently stayed on the return from a trip to Asia having stayed at the Peninsula on the way out.My agent had an agreed upgrade from Peak view to Harbour view.On check in we were taken to a room that purported to have a harbour view.I was reminded of the early days of package holidays or seaside landladies when the "sea view" could be had by leaning out the widow with a giraffe like stretch to catch a glimpse of something blue!.Yes the harbour could be seen but the main view was the high rise in front.
We then visited two other rooms.an attempt was made to get us to upgrade at an extra $500 HK a night,untill eventually we were offered what we had booked a very acceptable harbour view.Why not first time?
Hotel is well located and most other things worked well.Breakfast operation impressive.The pool was very nice and suprisingly quiet given its location.
I have always been impressed with Shangri-La's Chinese restaurants.Singapore,Kowloon,Bangkok, but the Summer Palace here on the island was pretty average.There is a branch of Peking Garden restaurant in the Pacific Place centre next door which served us a much more accomplished meal.
Overall a mixed experience.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank second row
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,510
    312
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
321
505
122
727
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2007

I've stayed at many 5 star properties around the world, this one has to be my favourite. Everything about this hotel is effortless, luxurious and total bliss.

From the inital meet at the airport, the transfer to the airport in a private car was all class. Hong Kong greeted us with a torrential downpour but the driver drove so smoothly that it was a pleasure to be a passenger. Cool bottled water and mints that were offered in the car were a pleasant surprise.

Upon reaching the hotel, bags were immediately taken care of by the staff and we were greeted by our very friendly Guest Relations staff member. Taken up to our room on the 48th floor and was checked in from there. The staff noticed that we had a late flight back to London and immediately offered a late check out. The Harbour View from the room was magnificent.

Welcome tea was provided for us as was a fresh bowl of fruit everyday.

I had previously arranged to have a bottle of champange waiting in the room upon check in and it was definitely there chilled and waiting for our consumption.

Service at this hotel was excellent. No request was ever too much of a hassle. All staff were extremely friendly and made our stay totally memorable.

The rooms are very comfortable and nicely furnished. Huge beds, great bathroom products. Ok, so the Conrad may have newer rooms but the Shangri-La is by no means ugly, far from it.

Breakfast buffet at Cafe Too was sensational. So many choices for breakfast, we took our time having breakfast and was never hurried along so that they could get more people into the restaurant and once again service levels were exceptional.

Location wise, the Shangri-La is perfectly situated in Admiralty, just above Pacific Place Shopping Centre (along with the Conrad and JW Marriott). I never found the wait for lifts ever that long (as mentioned by previous reviewers).

This was a perfect stay and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone to wants an exceptional property to stay in whilst in Hong Kong. The property speaks for itself but the staff and their level of professionalism and friendliness can't be faulted and its them who make the Island Shangri La a great hotel. I can't wait to come back.

  • Liked — The exceptional service
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
33 Thank flyingroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2007

From start to finish this hotel provided the very best service and accomodation we have experienced in a long time, if ever. We booked a hotel limo to pick us up from the airport and that made the whole arrival completely stress free. The hotel staff are present in arrivals, making themselves known with announcement boards and whisking you straight to car. We were actually greeted on the steps of the hotel by a guest services manager (a lovely girl called Elkie) and taken to the room to complete check in. The harbour view room was beautifully laid out with a super bathroom, which included a seperate shower room and bathtub where you could watch a TV, set into the wall above the bath. The bed and bathroom were spotless, but the thing which singled this hotel out was the fabulous service provided by the staff. Most remember your name after a day and they seem to anticipate your needs almost before you realise you need something.

Cafe TOO is great. We are usually not too keen on buffets (food left for ages and kids touching everything etc.) but this was a buffet out of this world, with every taste catered for, wonderfully set out, clean and hygenic. For a special treat the Petras Resteraunt is recommended. It is quite expensive, rather the wine is, but has a wonderful atmosphere and of course supurb service and lovely food. Lobster Bar is good for food and cocktails and the Lobby does afternoon tea with scones and tiny sandwiches should you feel in a colonial mood!

The pool area again is very well serviced with attentive staff who provide towels, bottled water in little cool bags and, should you wish, drinks and lunches.

It was my husbands birthday when we were there and the hotel sent up a lovely cake and card. Completely unexpected and quite a nice touch.

However, the best touch was when we left. We again booked a hotel car to take us to the airport. When we got there hotel staff were waiting outside departures. They took all the luggage out of the car and accompanied us to check-in where they waited while we checked in and loaded all the luggage onto the conveyers. They made us feel like movie stars.

Cannot recommend this hotel enough. Have stayed in Hong Kong previously at various places, all being of a high standard, but this beats the lot.

We were there for 12 days mostly on business, but this hotel made the whole experience feel like a long holiday.

  • Liked — Servjce
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
34 Thank HighwayGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2007

We have been staying at Island Shangri-la once every year for the past 7 years. They have continued to improve their service year after year. The service is impeccable. The rooms were renovated a couple of years ago and they added a modern twist. But the level of comfort and 'homeyness' has been retained. With the Pacific Place mall right underneath the hotel, it is so convenient to just go down and shop, knowing that even if you carry a lot of bulky items. There is no worry about riding through the mrt or lining up to get a taxi. You can just catch the elevator and go right up to your room. It is always a perfect experience staying at the hotel.

  • Liked — the service was really great
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
32 Thank siomao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington d.c.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2007

originally wanted to stay at the Peninsula hotel in Kowloon. completely booked. secong best choice. great service...try CAFE TOO....great buffet.....all asian specialties...my wife's birthday was on march 30...we went out to spoons ( resturant in Kowloon ) to celebrate..great food...great view of hong kong from this resturant....there is a free laser light show every night at 8:00 p.m....the high rise buildings in hong kong have lasers...incredible....try the resturant felix in the peninsula hotel in Kowloon. there is a bar above the felix resturant called the sky lounge..it opens at 6:00 p.m.....don't get there after 6:15 pm and it will be packed.....two story of glass on the 26th floor...over looking hong kong harbor...amazing views. went back to our room at the island shangri-la and a birthday cake was in our room from the hotel staff......never told them it was her birthday...amazing service.

  • Liked — attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
28 Thank mpeep16395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2007

Good hotel with very good service. For me it was lacking the special touch. Rooms are beginning to look a little dated with desks having seen better days and the goldish bathroom fixtures remindng me of the 70s/80s, sinks and bathtub with scratches and clearly quite a few years old. Common areas on the guest floors are OK but not the latest desgin/colors and feeling just a tad worn, lobby/entrance is better. The views from especially the higher rooms are nice.

The huge internal picture over 15 floors is quite impressive, ride the glass elevator from 39-56 to see it well. The meeting space on the 56th floor is good with great views. No wireless (or at least I could not make it work). Buffet dinner with lots of choices but nothing that knocked my socks off.

Good business hotel but it is not the Four Seasons, Conrad or Peninsula...

  • Liked — Views, service
  • Disliked — Slightly outdated feel
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank StyleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2007

I stayed here for two nights on the way back to England from a holiday in Australia, having previously stayed at the Shangri-Las in Bangkok and Kuala Lumpur. As this was my first visit to Hong Kong I booked a Harbour View room, and the hotel generously provided me with one on the 53rd floor.

This is undoubtedly a very fine hotel to stay on business. The rooms are substantial, very well-furnished and equppied. The location is good and the service is impeccable. But unlike - say - the Bangkok Shangri-La I struggled to detect a less formal side to the hotel to match my mood as (on this occasion) a travaller for pleasure rather than business.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank EnglandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing