We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel, amazing service”
Reviewed March 8, 2009

From the moment you step out of your car, you will be amazed by the service and hospitality of the Shangri-La staff. They greet you as if you are their most important guest. The rooms are spacious, beatifully decorated and extremely comfortable. The hotel restaurants and bars are expensive but I can't say enough about their service. I was impressed by everyone. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank creekgirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,595
    331
    62
    23
    25
See reviews for
343
537
131
763
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

We had a week with our two young sons at the Shangri-La and had an amazing time. The hotel is obviously in a great central spot but it was the service and level of personal attention that really made the difference. The room rate is fairly expensive but the team were very flexible - they allowed our two children to stay in the room with us on a pull out bed - and they went out of their way with personal touches to make the experience feel very personal. Every night they delivered home made cookies and milk to the room for the children; they sent us a note of apology and a box of chocolates when they had to close the pool (they had already arranged for us to use the pool in the adjoining hotel so it was no real inconveniece) and they somehow discovered that it was my birthday and laid out a birthday cake with ribbon-tied knife, plates and linen napkins when we returned to the room in the evening. They also went out of their way to make the children feel welcome. My husband and I have stayed there a few times before - most often on business - but this showed how hard they work to make every visit special. It really is a world-class experience.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2009

This hotel is massively overpriced. The level of service is way, way below The Peninsula, the rooms are ok but nothing special, the views are good, but not as good as The Conrad..The dining options are not impressive at all, and the in-room dining is your typical unimaginative pap. Way below par, especially the service level. At The Peninsula, all staff members greet you with a smile when you walk past, assist where they can, and generally make you feel good. At the Island Shangri-La you feel more like you are in the way. At one point I noticed a staff member staring at me whle i was waiting for an elevator (which by the way are incredibly slow)

The most amazing thing, though, is that the prices here are comparable to all the top hotels in town.

Really, you can get much more for the price.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrChalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights in a Harbour View King. This has got to be one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in! I was not too keen about the location as I love being near the water but the property itself and the service here is awesome. The room was gorgeous and they thought of everything that you would need. There is nothing I would change here...except where it is....but then you would not have the view...its a good dilemma to have!

  • Liked — they thought of everything!
  • Disliked — not being on the harbour
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo94114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge,West Midlands
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2008

I have stayed at many top luxury hotels in the world and I must say this is up there with the best.
Rooms,restaurant,staff etc.. are all superb.
I am super critical but find this hotel difficult to fault.
The rooms are spacious,luxurious,quiet,great views etc..
The staff take service to the next level.This includes the concierge,door staff,housekeeping etc..
The cafe Too is probably the best restuarant buffet style I have been to.It is precision at it highest with superb quality and choice throughout.
The only criticism if any is that the food and drink service at the lovely pool area could be promoted better by staff attending to your every need at your sunbed.
But in one word SUPERB HOTEL.

  • Liked — SERVICE
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

I've been fortunate to stay at some of the world's best hotels, and this is up there... just sensational... the lobby, the bars, the rooms, (most of) the room views. And the pool... for a city centre pool this is hard to beat -- you can almost touch the amazing Bank of China building, and when the light falls this is an amazing place to be. The service is world class... its almost impossible to find fault

A world class hotel and a benchmark for almost all.... The Penninsular seems a bit out of the way in comparison!

  • Liked — Service, Glamour, Location, Quality --- and the Pool!
  • Disliked — Little signs of age in some of the rooms...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Stich_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2008

best service. best pool. best restaurants. best room size.

over numerous stays at the island shang it always amazes me how they go beyond the normal to make every stay special. something about this hotel just makes it more welcoming than the conrad or marriott which it shares the area with.

great facilities to keep children happy.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank roppongi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
Grand Hyatt Hong Kong
#16 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,694 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,972 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#23 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing