We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service but tired rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Service at the Shangri La is superb, some of the best I've ever experienced. The rooms however are dreadfully tired with the bathrooms in particular in need of a spruce up.

The SL has a great bar however so you can always hang out there before you need to go to sleep. Good solid hotel, no other complaints.

Room Tip: Anything with a harbour view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuffnGuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,020 - 1,026 of 2,113 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I enjoy staying at Shangri-La hotels when traveling for business and the location of the Island Shangri-La in Hong Kong makes this hotel a long-time favorite. While there are newer hotels and hotels that offer better amenities, the service at this hotel has always been spectacular. Hotel dining is excellent and easy access to the MTR are two additional reasons why I will continue staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family and I always stay at Island Shangri La for business trips. Basically, I love this hotel and will most likely never stay anywhere else. Here's why:

ACCESSIBILITY & LOCATION
The hotel is on the HK side (Admiralty station). It is adjacent to Pacific Place and you can go to the MTR directly through the mall. Very convenient! If you're on a business trip, many of the big banks like HSBC and JP Morgan are just one station away.

SERVICE
The service is absolutely incomparable! From the moment you walk in, you are treated like a very special guest (which to them, I suppose you are.) If you need advice or directions, the concierge is more than happy to help you and will even call restaurants to inquire about reservations for you..at 12mn, no less. Talk about going the extra mile.

FACILITIES
The rooms are beautifully decorated, the bathroom is always kept well-stocked, and all the other places like the business center, pool, and gym are excellent. A nice touch is that they also change their elevator carpets every day to match the day of the week.

DINING
Food at Cafe Too is delicious, and quite expensive. You're better off eating outside--and lucky you, because HK is known for having great food! at some point during the night, room service prices become the same as prices in the coffee shop. If you feel like saving and getting your own ready-to-eat food, you can always visit the Great Food Hall in Pacific Place. That's an awesome supermarket.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Eleanor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited Hong Kong for three days with my elderly in-laws. The staff at the hotel were great to ensure a comfortable stay and were attentive to all our needs. Great service! Would recommend the Island Shangri-la to anyone.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Gistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

better than that what we expected. This is realy the top.
Splendig view from the room over the harbour side. Excellent location for shopping and no need to go out for dining - the best is available at the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank lola2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Aside from a minor glitch where housekeeping overlooked cleaning our room one day, the Island Shangri La really sets a high standard for luxury client service. Aside from the exceptionally beautiful aesthetics of the hotel, we will remember the extraordinarily attentive, and helpful staff of the hotel.... from the dining room to the conceriege service.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank 502RonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

7 nights. That's how long we checked in for, and that's how long we were seriously underwhelmed by this once gracious place.

Packet instant coffee. Packet non dairy creamer. Ridiculously overpriced breakfast buffet with fewer stations than in the past.

Island Shangri-La, you've been surpassed in service, in design, in amenities by a growing list of business traveller friendly hotels.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank CynWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLHK, Director of Communications at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear CynWorldTraveller,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than perfect experience with us. Would you please provide us with more details via email at bonnie.kwok@shangri-la.com so we may take necessary actions to improve. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Bonnie Kwok
Director of Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,403 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,141 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $337 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing