We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 726 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed at Island SL in September during a business trip and must admit that has been one of the best hotels i have ever visited.

Everything works very well and the team cannot do enough to please you. The rooms overlooking the skyline are great and very enjoyable at night.

I also tried their lobster bar which was great, amazing music with an american singer and great drinks and lobster spaghetti.

will be back!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montebelloridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 2,112 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

Last week I spend a few days in Hong Kong and stayed in the Island Shangri-La Hotel.
The Hotel is a pleasure to stay at. The facilities are great, their staff is extremely helpful and attentive and the Hotel is well situated in town, either for business or for leisure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1TeddyBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

In general a good value hotel, although rooms need updating. My stay was great until the moment I checked out. Hughly disappointed to see x 2 charges for $144 each for two phone calls lasting around 3 minutes each. The Management had suggested that the Hotel was competitive overall, to which Iagreed, but why ruin everything but utterly ripping off your customer with this type of stunt? I was given 20% discount on the calls.......whatever! I believe I am not the first person to mention this so Management get this looked at as this is a disgraceful policy you have in place. I will not come back until this had changed.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephenjking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLHK, Vice President and General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear stephenjking,

Thank you for your review of our property. I am disappointed to hear that you had a less than perfect experience with us. Would you please provide us with more details of your stay via email at wolfgang.krueger@shangri-la.com so we may investigate internally? I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Wolfgang Krueger
Vice President and General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Went for a short 3 day 2 night stay. It was my first experience at a Shangri La and it will not be the last as the hotel itself was awesome. The staff attentive and warm - 5 star service all around. The only opportunity would be to provide facilities for business travellers who will require late checkouts. Other hotels in the same class offer rest rooms where travellerds can use for a couple of hours to freshen up and rest before leaving, plus they can leave their baggage instead of lugging it around meetings. Everything else was fantastic - the decor, staff, food, rooms etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Shankarii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Just spent a memorable few days at this terrific hotel. Wonderful and courteous service from all departments. Exquisite food with excellent preparation and presentation. Rooms are very luxurious. Would not contemplate staying anywhere else in Hong Kong.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is so far one of my favourite hotels in HK, from the moment we arrived this place gave that special feeling, its nice to get immediate and personal attention at check-in, followed by quick directions to your room and soon after a knock on the ddoor with complementary tea and a small snack.

The inside of this place is impressive, very grand and opulent, with an indoor garden at the buildings core that also holds a glass elevator, riding this you can ascend to the top floors (which house the club lounge and the restaurant) while observing the worlds largest chinese tapestry which hangs above the show gardens.
Room was great, bed massive and soft and all nice amenities. Breakfast was equally impressive; buffet in the top floor restuarant, where staff didnt mind that we came just before closing and let us relax and enjoy the view and our breakfast.
Checkout at the club level was a breeze and all staff very friendly and helpful.
Look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This would have to be the best hotel I have stayed at. Great hotel and awesome service. The rooms are reasonably large (especially for Hong Kong) with nice furniture. The buffet at Café Too is something to behold - whether you go for breakfast, lunch or dinner - absolutely fantastic! Great service and very friendly staff. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 726 in Hong Kong
4,139 reviews
Admiralty
Conrad Hong Kong
Conrad Hong Kong
#22 of 726 in Hong Kong
3,403 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 726 in Hong Kong
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $337 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing