We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #13 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A little slice of home away from home”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times as a couple and with our family. It's a fantastic place that I couldn't recommend more highly.

The service is impeccable and of course each time we check in they remember our personal preferences.

Fantastic with children as well - the room has special kid friendly amenities and they get delivered lovely bedtime supper snacks as well.

Rooms are a generous size by Hong Kong standards and bathrooms as you'd expect stocked with really thoughtful amenities.

You really do feel like you can make yourself at home here - views are amazing from the room. TV, DVD player comes in handy with children. They even have scissors to cut off all the tags on your new clothing bargains!

Highly recommended from the minute they open the door of your taxi until they close it when you are leaving. We always try to stay here for at least a few nights every trip as a treat.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pip_Y_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    323
    60
    21
    23
See reviews for
332
521
127
745
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Usually when I'm in Hong kong, I will stay in one of the other hotels in Pacific place but I decided to give Shang a try after reading the good review.

We decided to pamper ourselves with the Royce Rolls airport transfer and I must say, it was such a comfortable ride at the price of HKD1700! The cab drivers in Hong Kong are typically quite crappy and for such a distance, the limousine service sure helps to ease the pain of having to go through a nauseous journey!

The room we had on the executive floor was well maintained although it did smell a little like a smoking room when it is not meant to be. The bed was comfortable with compared to a few 5 stars hotels that we have been. Toilet was a little small but I guess that's the same with most Hong Kong hotels.

I must thank the hotel executive, Mary, for being very helpful! Upon our arrival, to my horror, I realised that I have forgotten my toiletries pouch and did not have any facial products. She very quickly managed to get house keeping to deliver me a couple of items which managed to tide me throught he night. I am very appreciative of such thoughtful and prompt service!

The staff throughtout the stay was very pleasant and polite. I must compliment the house keeping team for their good job and good manners. I was in the room on both days that they were cleaning it up.

Hotel location's is great for shopping and dining and it is just a short walk to the metro station.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellyellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Service is incredible, Hotel is amazing. This is a must visit hotel experience if you want to be well looked after by all staff. We will definitely consider other Shangri-La hotels when booking future trips.

Room Tip: Book Harbour View and if possible definitely upgrade to the Horizon Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nichola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent a week at the Shangri-La Island Hotel whilst in HK on business. This hotel has all the lovely design and amenities of a top grand hotel. The hotel is large, but the staff is friendly and warm, making you feel at home. The lobby is bustling and busy, but the staff is attentive and even remembered what I like to drink from the second visit (iced latte, uncommon in HK). My room was lovely, elegant and classic with luxury amenities. There are several restaurants and I did not visit them all, but all the food and service was well deserving of its Michelin stars. The business centre staff was wonderful. When I returned a month later, they returned some of my left-behind items, which was beyond impressive! This type of hotel is not usually my preferred style, but the Shangri-La Island was a winner none-the-less!

Room Tip: Water views, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxtravelgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice hotel with great view & excelant staff.
Have many top grade resturant & under hotel big mall with all brands to who come for shopping.
Highly recommend this hotel for couples,family & business visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Aliraqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

As a family of three (with an adult child) we discovered Shangri-La Island three years ago. This was the very first and most valuable discovery in Hong Kong. Having stayed in a couple other praised hotels on both island and Kowloon, we realized it was a mistake. There is nothing like Shanri-La, its hospitality and great service. We always feel like home at Island Shangri-La. Guests are always warmly welcomed. Small details like a newspaper in a native language upon airport arrival make the stay memorable. All staff members are always willing to be "there for you".
The restaurants provide magnificent meals. Of course, nothing can be compared with the buffet breakfast at Cafe TOO. We also enjoy the relaxing atmosphere and breath-taking view at the Executive Lounge. All dining places feature vegetarian options, which is a concern for our daughter. She did not experience any inconvenience, whereas the restaurant crews advised about the ingredients and dishes.
The location in extremely convenient and features a shopping mall with a cinema theatre. There is an easy access to metro and indoor pathways between buildings. As a family, we like to enjoy evening promenades from ISL to the Central Pier and other locations.
During our very first stay we always contacted the concierge, who helped a lot with exploring local sights and book tours.
The SPA in the hotel has many treatments featuring staff members that do excellent massages. Health Club has convenient sports facilities that make one's gym routing a pleasure. There is a good swimming pool with Wi-Fi and books on the spot (by the way, there is a library in this hotel).
There is nothing that can disappoint us in Island Shangri-La :)

Room Tip: In spite of the price ranges, both Harbour view and Peak view rooms are good options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location attached to pacific place mall. Quick cab rides throughout Hong Kong. Nice afternoon tea setting and the most extravagant breakfast buffet! Overall the spacious and beautiful rooms make this place worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,627 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing