We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, beautiful, worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Convenient, beautiful, worth it!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Amazing location attached to pacific place mall. Quick cab rides throughout Hong Kong. Nice afternoon tea setting and the most extravagant breakfast buffet! Overall the spacious and beautiful rooms make this place worth every penny!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Finertravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,545
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
328
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Let's start with the good. Lovely public areas, excellent food no matter what restaurant you choose. Marvelous breakfast buffet but even better exec lounge breakfast. Good but not great service. Good location above Pacific Place Mall, AMC theatre, and grocery store. Gosh I hate to do this but... Unfortunately, our non too clean room was extremely, very, horribly, musty. I thought that by turning the AC to a lower temp I might mitigate the smell. Thermostat cannot be adjusted (although it seems to adjust, it does not) as entire hotel is set to the same temp - FAR TOO HOT. The bed was the equivalent of sleeping on your dining room table - hard as a rock. After 1 night, I was dying to leave. I had a the worst pedicure of my life in their "spa", seated in an office chair with my feet in a cheesy, plastic tub. Precious little English is spoken. For the money, I would head to the Four Seasons or the Conrad. New Ritz is on the Kowloon side of the harbor which makes it hard to do business in downtown Hong Kong island.

Room Tip: Higher floors on harbor side offer wonderful views of Victoria Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bookshelfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Bookshelfish,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are disappointed to read of your stay experience with us and are concerned about the quality issues your have raised. To allow me to properly address the issues with you, would you mind letting us know your contact information by emailing me at wolfgang.krueger@shangri-la.com? At Island Shangri-La, Hong Kong we pride ourselves in providing engaging experiences straight from the heart, combined with superior services and facilities, please rest assured that we will look into the condition of our facilities and take necessary actions to improve.

I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Thank you and best regards,
Wolfgang Krueger
Vice President and General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What better way to spend a lazy Sunday morning than breakfast at The Island Shangri-La in Hong Kong.
Decided to join friends as breakfast guests at the hotel and left very contented.
Excellent assortment of breakfast types, from the usual healthy options, Chinese and Thai specialities, offerings from India and of course the full English.
The buffet allows you to try as many varieties as you can manage, with copious quantities of Coffee and Tea (your choice as to the type etc).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdr5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great pool, nice rooms, ideal location...but best of all, wonderful staff. Everyone we met went out of their way to make sure that we enjoyed a wonderful visit. Always on hand with ideas and advice and nothing seemed too much. Views from the bedroom over to Kowloon were spectacular...be sure to ask for that side of the building...the higher the better. Taxis take a while, but the front desk will help...book in advance to save hanging around.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Spectacular Service indeed,

Upon arrival, we were met at the driveway and led straight up to the room for a check-in (this was just for a normal room booking, not suite or club level). Queenie who checked us in noted our little boy birthday on the 22nd and she arranged for a surprise cake to be delivered to him on his birthday. There was also evening milks and cookies for the kids too!

Our older boy was down with high fever this morning and we enquired with the front desk on suitable medical care. They arranged for a car to pick us to the local private hospital and we had Maat accompany us through the whole visit and accompanied us back to the hotel after. Thanks also to the duty manager Nick who arranged this. Martin the hotel manager was awaiting us after our hospital visit to make sure everything is well taken care of.

Location wise, Island Shangri_la is linked to the Pacific Place Mall where there is a supermarket as well as some restaurant selections. For those seeking a bit of greenery, the Hong Kong Park is just a walk across. From here, you can reach the Peak Tram station in about 10 minutes.

The hotel is also linked to the Admiralty MTR station where you can travel to other parts of HK. Having stayed at both Shangri_la in HK, our preference is the Island location.

Design wise, it cant beat the new hotels with all the latest gadgets but I still prefer good old service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence, The Bahamas
2 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights at the Island Shrangri-La and loved every moment I spent at the hotel. Had visited Beijing and Shanghai prior to my visit to Hong Kong. Would have spent less time in the other 2 places and more time in Hong Kong. Being a guest in the hotel was excellent. The staff throughout the hotel made me feel so welcomed. Must revisit Hong Kong just to stay at Island Shangri-La. Thank you for a beautiful stay....

Room Tip: The peak view was breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex/London
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Due to a change in employer last year, I am now travelling to similar places, but staying in different hotels. I was a little disappointed that my new company did not have the Crowne Plaza on it's approved list, so took a chance on this hotel, with which I was unfamiliar.
From the moment I arrived in my airport limo the quality of surroundings and service never dropped below excellent.
The room was spacious, well equipped and pretty good value considering location and quality.
The staff were falling over themselves to ensure that everything was perfect.
I cannot find a single fault with this fantastic hotel. It is now "my hotel" in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EssexFamily55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,123 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,536 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing