We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in All Respects”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #14 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent in All Respects”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Having just had a slightly disappointing stay elsewhere in the Far East in another highly rated but slightly disappointing hotel the Island Shangri La was a real joy to stay at. From the moment I was met at the airport through to being dropped back there three days later every aspect of this hotel and its staff was spot on. I had a club room with a great view of the harbour. Access to the club lounge is really useful to have as its a great place for meetings on site and also gets you another couple of options on where to have breakfast. In the evenings, the bar area is lively and the staff get the balance just right of great service, whilst being sociable but not intrusive. On my last day, I was not leaviing until late in the day and wanted to change out of my business suit for travelling home so they arranged for my luggage to be taken up to the leisure club whilst I showered and changed and then ferried the luggage back down to the concierge whilst I had supper and then the next time I sawimy suitcase was when it was being taken out of the back of the limo at the airport. Small details but just executed so well and done so badly by many other hotels. Highly recommended - I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Club room with a harbour view - fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grinanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,579
    327
    62
    22
    25
See reviews for
341
530
128
755
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent one night at this spectacular hotel in Hongkong Kong last December and must say I really enjoyed my stay. We had the opportunity to stay in one of the club floor rooms and had the access to the club lounge. The club lounge was nicely decorated with an outstanding view over the harbour. In addition to serving breakfast they also seve pre-dinner drinks and canapes in the evening. The selection of different kinds of canapes is most impressive, and they look amazing, too.
The room was immaculately decorated and the bed was one of the best ones I've ever slept in.
Definitely a good choice for the travel worn traveller !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel location is quite convenient and overall the hotel has everything you wish to have when you are far away from home during a business trip. Room a spacious, clean, traditional and have a great view on the bau

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We enjoyed a week in Hong Kong, and don't have enough praise for this hotel. Service was super, clean, spacious rooms and great club facilities. We felt so relaxed and at home and staff were so helpful. Highly recommend as the a must stay in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CountryCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had a 1 week business trip to HK and stayed for 8 nights. I have visited Hong Kong for personal reasoning in the past, but stay here do to the proximity to my office. Not much more to add to the other great reviews, service and quality of the hotel are great. the hotel sits on top of Pacific Place Mall, very high end. So if your like me and sometime want to just wander out to check out more of the everyday restaurants you'll have to take a taxi to Wan Chai or Central, there isn't that much around, but that is not a negative, as they are both a 20 min walk in either direction.

I had a peak view room, nothing special on the views, but the rooms were quite and the walls were solid enough to prevent too much noise from adjoining rooms. Funny thing is the only thing I heard was the ringing from wake up calls in the mornings, unlike some hotels were you can hear the TV, water running, etc.... very quite and good for a 13 hour jet lag recovery.

The Breakfast buffet was standard for high end Hong Kong hotels, a bit of everything for all tastes. Everything was fresh and tasty. A decent selection of dim sum every morning. While your not going to get the best dim sum here, it was still good.

I had a excellent stay and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here for a night in January. First let me say that this is by far the best hotel I have stayed at in Hong Kong; spacious rooms, great amenities in-room and a fabulous location. Truly a fantastic experience!

But before I walked in we almost had a minor crisis with my luggage in the taxi and this experience is perhaps the only thing that is keeping me back from giving this place the full 5/5 because it could have easily turned into a disaster rather quick.

Upon arrival my taxi pulled up to the hotel lobby. Bellman opened the door for me but the receipt printer in the taxi had run out of paper so I waited in the cab while the driver changed the paper and printed the receipt out. Waiting there -getting a tad bit impatient- I told the bellman I had one bag in the boot of the car. Usually at any fine establishment such as this you would think that they would go back and unload the luggage at this point so you don't even have to worry about it. So I was expecting this when I informed the bellman I had one bag in the boot.

About a minute or two later we finally got the receipt thing sorted out. I got out of the taxi and naturally had just expected my bag to be unloaded. Fortunately, gut instinct kicked in and I had a quick look around. Didn't see the bag. Figured it was inside already but I also figured it probably didn't hurt to have a look in the boot of the taxi. The taxi had pulled up a bit to pick-up some other passengers at the hotel so we fortunately were able to stop him.

Guess what was still in the boot? They hadn't gotten the bag out! Feeling a mix of relief and shock, I told the bellman it would have been a big problem if the taxi had driven off! I don't think he understood me but I was not impressed. You just don't expect this at such a great hotel like the Shangri-La, and the arrival is always the first and most important impression of a hotel I think.

Check-in was a breeze; friendly and efficient, and high-tech! I was able to secure a high-floor room with a view of the peak which was great. Stunning views. As mentioned previously, the room was spacious. The already brewed hot tea and chocolates placed in the room prior to arrival were a pleasant and welcome surprise. The chocolates were crazy delicious. I ordered some room service feeling completely famished. Sweet and sour pork with rice which arrived promptly but it wasn't great at all. Should have gone with the club sandwich! While we are on the topic of food here, if you stay here be sure to have breakfast up on the top floor restaurant (totally forget the name of it). It has lovely views of the harbour, great service and a wonderful spread of food.

Bed was comfortable for the most part. I slept horribly most of the night though, kept waking up. But I somewhat surprisingly felt totally rested when I woke up wide awake at 7:30 or so the next morning (naturally by about 7 PM later in the day I was exhausted after a full day of meetings!)

The room was spotless, immaculately clean. The toilet was also spacious and complete with a great range of L'Occitane bath products, nice tub/shower with good water pressure and hot water.

All-in-all, for a one night stay it was great. The service was for the most part excellent, most of the staff is friendly and smiling, some could use some work on this though. But I absolutely loved this hotel, and would without a doubt stay here again. The issue with the bellman I believe is an isolated incident and probably something I wouldn't encounter again the next time I stayed.

If you can afford to stay here, stay here.

Room Tip: Just try to get as high up as your can for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SQ452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISLHK, General Manager at Island Shangri-La Hong Kong, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear SQ 452

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read your detailed review of various services and facilities of the hotel, though regret the incident with the left luggage upon arrival. This is clearly not indicative of our services and I can assure you that we have taken steps to prevent such incident from happening again. I sincerely apologize for this lapse.

We believe our people are our greatest asset, and your observations in this regard will also be shared.

Thank you very much for being our guest and for sharing your experience.I hope we will be able to welcome you again on your next trip to Hong Kong.

Kind regards,
Wolfgang Krueger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights 15-19 Jan 23 and had a wonderful time.
My wife and I had a Horizon club harbor view room interconnecting with our daughters room.
The facilities in the rooms and quality bathrooms were just awesome and beautiful.
Having access to the Club we were able to go anytime for drinks, snacks or breakfast and have dinner or room service delivered to the room or club while overlooking the harbor. The food is very good.
The staff are wonderful. Too many to mention from concierge (Kevin) to the main restaurant (Zoe) The staff in the club lounge are so professional and always give advice such as Natalie Jeffrey and the team.
We ate in their beautiful Michelan star rated restaurant and used the gym for an early work out before breakfast.
Located above Pacific Place we could easily go by train anywhere and only had a short walk to the Peak tram.
If you want to stay in HKG and want the best then look no further and stay at the Island Shangri-la
You will not be disappointed - we weren't.
We will be back one day soon.
Thanks
Jeff Estelle and Naomi

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,734 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,906 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#14 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing