We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“bit pricey and very busy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 703 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“bit pricey and very busy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

the comfort was very nice, the service, food, business lounge - everything is just what you would expect from a five-star in Hong Kong. The only thing that I was turned off by - it reminded me of a busy Park avenue (NY, NY) office building with kind of long wait for an elevator, busy lobby, and restaurants... I guess it's ok if you travel on business, but NOT if you are on your honey moon...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aleevskidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    297
    57
    17
    21
See reviews for
298
472
118
694
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

It's the first time stayed in this hotel. I felt immediately like home.
The staffs were polite and helpful.
The room were specious with classic design. It had free wifi and a printer-fax machine in the room - a very useful feature for a business traveller.
Pillows, towels and linen were excellent.
The in-dining service was excellent with variety menu from asian to western style.
It had a corridor to the Pacific Place Mall and Conrad Hotel, very convenient.
It's a reachable location by MTR too (stop at Admiralty - Tsuen Wan Line; via Pacific Place Mall)

Room Tip: Try to have a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GNW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights on 30th and 31st Oct.
Nice hotel and had a good room with a nice view.
However, had to wait for 2 hrs for an early checkin although had put in a request for the same at the time of booking. Nevertheless they made up by giving me a good room
Centrally located and most bank buildings in Central Area
Buffet breakfast is quite good
Would recommend

Room Tip: Try for a room at a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Atal A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

A perfect stay in Hong kong. Friendly reception including some fresh green tea and a basket if fruit. Impeccable standards. Everything I needed had already been considered and was available at a drop of a hat. Delicious food, including my 3am jet lagged wanton noodle soup which arrived in 20 mins. I enjoyed the gym.

I guess most people would expect nothing less of this hotel, but it's reassuring to see that it lives up to its reputation.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jd-onthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Although it has been a while ago ( months not years), I have to say that of all my travels, the Island Shangri La Hotel is one of the best properties I have ever stay at. It is elegant, contemporary, classy, and the service is just unique.
The Club lounge is delighful, with amazing views and endless options of snacks and drinks.
The rooms are spacious and full of every complimentary need; from toiletries to bath robe and slippers, and a fruit selection.
The bed is just so soft.. and you can even choose your pillow from a menu!! How cool is that!
I can not quite recall the name of the restaurant we ate at within the hotel, but I do remeber that the food was delicious and the wine selection superb.
Location wise the hotel is ideally located in the business district, only minutes from the botanic garden, and not far from Victoria Peak.
I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can spend a little extra, go for the rooms with Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Island Shangri-la has been around since early 1990's when I lived in Hong Kong and it was the new kid on the block. Twenty years since and this property still holds it's own with many new competitors. Location is great, on the island close to Central, Wanchai and above a major MTR station. Service is top notch at this property. We do not frequent this hotel as often as we do other Shangri-la properties but the staff treats us as if we are there once a month. Club floor is best in the chain!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LADrumAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip with colleagues. We pre-arranged a hotel car to drive us from the airport to the hotel and upon clearing customs, we were greeted by people who treated us like royalty. They took our bags and took us right to a waitig car. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by name, whisked past the front desk right to our rooms, where somehow, our bags were already brought up. Rooms are very spacious, imaculately clean and the harbour views are awesome. There's no detail too small - from the complimentary bottled water, fresh fruit and candies that were restocked daily, fully stocked fridge and snack area with tea and coffee, to the bathroom where they had a complete set of toiletries just in case you forgot something. No need to call the desk, it was already there. The carpets in the elevators are changed daily with the day of the week on them. This is the level of effort and detail that was evident throughout our stay. The property itself is in a great location that's convenient to just about everything on the island. We found the lobby bar to be a great place to meet and relax and the service was fast and freindly. The concierge was very helpful in pointing out a few "local" attractions within walking distance of the hotel. I've stayed at several hotels in Hong Kong over the years and this is by far my favorite place to stay and I will definately be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C00lwh1p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 703 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,015 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 703 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,484 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing