We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding hotel in Hong Kong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An outstanding hotel in Hong Kong”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

In common with several other recent reviews, I found the Island Shangri-La to be superb. It is a genuine five star hotel, with impeccably delivered service and an air of luxurious comfort and seamless efficiency.

My girlfriend and I were in Hong Kong for a break and, from the moment we were collected at the airport, to the moment we departed, our treatment was, in every respect, first class. The Shangri-La group has a reputation for quality and this hotel must surely set the global benchmark. Personally, I would rank it as the very best 5 star hotel in Hong Kong, and that's saying something given the strength of the competition.

I think what this Hotel has is strong management, a top-quality work-ethic amongst its well trained and well motivated staff and an understanding of what service is about. Physically it is in a good location, sited above Pacific Place mall, to which it has good access. It jostles shoulder-to-shoulder with the Conrad for a fine view of the harbour and our beautiful suite on the 49th floor had breathtaking views of the harbour. The room facilities are fantastic, as you would expect, and every step of the way, for every moment of our stay, we were made to feel like we were the only people in the hotel. The service style is to be discrete but very, very efficient. This is a hotel where things work, but you don't notice a lot of fuss being made.

We had breakfast each morning in Petrus - excellent - and used the Horizon lounge early evening for some fantastic refreshments. All the staff seemed to know us by name and the Island Shangr-La is the kind of place where nothing is too much trouble. We also ate dinner at the Summer Palace downstairs and can recommend that highly too. We certainly had a wonderful stay and would recommend it to anybody looking for a luxury treat.

Room Tip: Aim high for the best views of both the harbour and the Peak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,546
    321
    59
    20
    22
See reviews for
329
518
126
739
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our time at shanghai-la hotel is always a pleasurable stay.
The breakfast buffet is amazing wIth plenty of tables to cater for large crowds - no lining up for breakfast.
I always have a massage at the spa, really recommend it!
The gym is very good, well set up for a great workout with lots of equipment - no waiting around
The rooms are large with great views
The shopping centre is just underneath, so easy access to everything
Staff as always very helpful and friendly
Would really recommend this hotel, it's my favourite on Hong Kong Island

Room Tip: Room with a view over the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have just spent a week at the Island Shangri-La in Central and cannot recommend the hotel highly enough! The service is impeccable, from the moment we were met at the airport and taken by hotel limousine to the hotel, each member staff greeted us with care and highly professional service. The hotel is located in Central with wonderful views of the Harbour. Rooms are spacious, the floral arrangements in the hotel are second to none - truly beautiful, all eating options provide a wonderful selection of food . In particular was Petrus where we ate breakfast every morning. On the 56th Floor this restaurant provided a wonderful view, delicious breakfast and a quiet charm to begin the day.
Our room on the 50th floor( Deluxe Harbour View Room) was spacious, well appointed, clean with comfortable beds and pillows.
Shangri-La choose their staff well to meet their client's needs in such a welcoming and friendly manner with a minimum of fuss. In particular Vincent the Bell captain who made sure we received our tailoring order from a courier in spite of the Public Holiday. The beautiful greenery around the hotel provides a welcome sanctuary from the hustle and bustle as does the pool area .

With Pacific Place shopping and Admiralty MTR below this hotel is close to all amenities. Would return in a heart beat, thank you Shangri- La.

Room Tip: If you book a Harbour Room, check the beds are against the wall facing the Harbour and not the oppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeborahMosmanNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at the ISL on our first trip to HK. The service was excellent throughout. The concierge were helpful with restaurant bookings and transport advice (even making dinner reservations for us via email before we even arrived at the hotel) The rooms were of exceptionally high standard and large. It is worth paying extra for a harbour view room especially if it is your first trip to HK as the views were great. A highlight for us was the pool area, which was well designed and again with exceptional attentive staff, a great place to relax after a few hours of sight seeing in the day.

Location is great for shopping mall below, walking into the city and transport links.

We didn't drink at the lobby bar but there was always nice live music playing. It's a shame there is not a bar with a view (unless you have access to the horizon bar-which has amazing views for a drink at night but not lively) so if you fancy a drink in a bar with a view with atmosphere I recommend the bar at the upper house hotel just next door, it has a great restaurant too.

Would definitely stay at the ISL on our next trip to HK, it was perfect for us in every way.

Room Tip: Pay extra for harbour view and ask for a room towards the corner as they have the better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DuchessSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and experienced the friendliest service I've ever had. I thought the Shangri-la Kowloon was great but this was even better. The buffet breakfast was really good but the same dining room can be really crowded at lunch and dinner. Unfortunately some building work close to the hotel made sitting, relaxing, by the pool a no no. This apart an hotel I could have stayed at longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonickScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel was extremely good and lived up to the Shangri-La's usual luxury billing. The room was clean, well-appointed and comfortable (the bed particularly so), and the restaurant food outstanding (we dined in the Michelin-starred Restaurant Petrus).
The hotel is close to dining, shopping and transportation (via the equally-luxurious Pacific Place shopping mall below it).
One minor niggle was the hotel front desk staff's inability to cope with us wanting to extend our stay by one night, which was fixed by contacting our online booking agency. Would definitely stay again on a future trip to HK

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502KimF502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I have come to expect more from Shangri la's. Our room was very dated and on the 39th floor which means you are next to a function suite to the extent the toilets were outside our room. We complained about this to reception but they said they were full and had no other room to give us. I have no doubt this was true but the question I would ask why would they have even designed the hotel so it has rooms on a function floor? We ended up checking out a day early even though the room had been paid for and was no refundable.... This may seem a little drastic but we simply had a nicer place to stay in hong kong than a dated room next to what ever function they that on that day/night! We complained again on checkout and the receptionist did get the assistant manager who offered us another room which we declined then they took off a room service charge which was only small. They also gave us a lift to the IFC in the hotel car as a gesture.
The manager did think on his feet which I liked but in a first class hotel we were give a second class room for a four night stay I think they need to think bigger.... I want a voucher or some loyalty points!
On the plus side the pool was nice and the breakfast was good but overall the stay was not a positive experience!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stucros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,543 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing