We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distinctly average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

I have come to expect more from Shangri la's. Our room was very dated and on the 39th floor which means you are next to a function suite to the extent the toilets were outside our room. We complained about this to reception but they said they were full and had no other room to give us. I have no doubt this was true but the question I would ask why would they have even designed the hotel so it has rooms on a function floor? We ended up checking out a day early even though the room had been paid for and was no refundable.... This may seem a little drastic but we simply had a nicer place to stay in hong kong than a dated room next to what ever function they that on that day/night! We complained again on checkout and the receptionist did get the assistant manager who offered us another room which we declined then they took off a room service charge which was only small. They also gave us a lift to the IFC in the hotel car as a gesture.
The manager did think on his feet which I liked but in a first class hotel we were give a second class room for a four night stay I think they need to think bigger.... I want a voucher or some loyalty points!
On the plus side the pool was nice and the breakfast was good but overall the stay was not a positive experience!

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Stucros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,983 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,556
    323
    60
    21
    23
See reviews for
332
521
127
745
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Two nights in Sept 2012. The hotel interior architecture is stunning, from the magnificent lobby to the atrium that starts on the 40th floor. Service was attentive and detailed. Pool and spa was very nice. The room was well appointed, but the bathroom was small with too little counter surface. There is no in-room coffee or espresso maker, and I missed that. The breakfast buffet in Cafe TOO has a mind-boggling variety of eastern and western dishes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack and Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This really is one of the classiest places i the world to stay. The rooms are fantastic and all services are great. I always get their car from airport to start out the right way. The lobby scene is not the best but Lobster bar is good to start or for a night cap but many entertainment options are nearby. For families the park, aviary, and tram to Peak are walking distance. One can easily get a taxi or longer walk to ferry to Kowloon. There is a mall in the basement.

The business center is fantastic and for formal dinners for business great.

Only minor thing is while the staff is exceptional they have no authority to go outside of normal service. Also no bargain rate here. Still it is worth it for business people and if on a once in a lifetime trip a few nights here even though expensive will be long remembered.

The fitness center is fantastic and also they have a barber shop there that is really good.

Room Tip: With any Shangri La when you arrive or even after look around the lobby for the American, Canadian o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

There are 3 hotel next to each other in Pacific Place, Hong Kong. Island Shangri-La, JW Marriot and Conrad. Of the three this is my favorite. The chandeliers adorning various corners of the hotel is a sight to be seen. Rooms are excellent, service is superb. Fans of Sichuan Food should try out the Sichuan Restaurant on the lower floor. Guarantee to burn your tongue and stomach with its spiciness!

Room Tip: - No question, choose a harbor view (if it doesn't cost a bomb) - The three hotels in Pacific P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank masug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
193 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The Island Shang is definitely a luxurious place. The room is excellent, the view of the harbor is fantastic, the location is very convenient as it sits on top of a mall and is connected to an MTR station and the facilities are superb.

There were a few lapses in service, like front desk forgetting to coordinate car schedule with the transport department, not getting our exact order for room service and the request to pick up luggage to load in the car that would take us to the airport took a very long time. But even with these, everyone was so accommodating and friendly that you let it slide.

Room Tip: The higher up you get, the better the view of the harbor. Our room was on the 43rd floor and it offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LennaD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Without a doubt this is one of the best hotels I’ve been to in my life.

It oozes luxury and charm from the moment you step in the hotel. Staff are friendly and generally competent. Rooms are absolutely stunning – both peak and harbour view are great. What really topped it off for me was the breakfast and lunch/dinner at café Too – an amazing variety of food from around the world. What a delight to be able to indulge in dumplings for breakfast while in Hong Kong! Location in Central is fantastic and the hotel is connected to the amazing and luxurious Pacific Place mall.

I visited the other major luxury hotels in Central – the Four Seasons, Mandarin Oriental and the Conrad. While they all seemed nice, they definitely lacked the Shangri-la touch.

Highly highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paradectral A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I travel regularly, both for business and pleasure. My preference has always been to stay in Shangri La Hotels as I have stayed in most of them throughout Asia.
My recent stay of 6 nights in the Hong Kong Hotel was again a very memorable visit.
The service offered here is exceptional. Friendly staff who couldn't do enough to make your stay here enjoyable.
The breakfast at this hotel is a great experience.
Good shopping below in a wonderful complex that also has a good supermarket for any snacks and reasonably priced wine.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to have a Harbour view room ... It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbsflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,623 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Shangri-La Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Property: Island Shangri-La Hong Kong
Address: Supreme Court Road, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Island Shangri-La Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong is a welcoming luxury hotel in the heart of the city. It soars 56 floors above Hong Kong's most prestigious shopping, cultural and business addresses, with memorable views of the Peak and Victoria Harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Island Shangri-La Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Shangri La Hotel
Hotel Island Shangri La
Shangri La Hotel Hong Kong
Island Shangri-La Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing