We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Legacy of Hong Kong” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 712 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Legacy of Hong Kong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

As one of the most remarkable hotel in the world, Then Peninsula Hong Kong is living up to its reputation. Got a chance to stay at this incredible place during early March 2014. In term of services, it's 5 stars. The room is spacious despite the fact that it's in the Tsim sha tsui's area. The bed is very comfy that I could just lied in the bed all day. I just love everything in the room.

Also, I would recommend you to go to swimming pool, which is very luxurious. Only let down is that the smell of chlorine is very strong. Since I got a late flight, the hotel offer me to relax in its health club after check-out time.

The breakfast is very good and offer varieties of both chinese and western breakfast item. However, the chinese item (i.e. congee and dimsum) were not as good comparing to outside restaurant. But overall, the food is nice and made from high quality ingredient.

I also got a chance to have afternoon tea there. One advantage of being hotel's guest is that you don't need to queue up. The reservation can be made via reception directly. But personally, I don't think the afternoon tea at the Peninsula was that good, and it always crowded. That's the only flaw in this hotel.

If I have a chance, I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CakeHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,156
    159
    37
    14
    13
See reviews for
308
535
76
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

We arrived at The Peninsula gone midnight, and so we appreciated the efficient check-in of the night staff, the swift delivery of our luggage to our room, the pot of Chinese tea to welcome us, and a sumptuous room fit for the most discerning patron. Our 5 night stay was for pleasure but the amenities of the room, including a desk with stationery and a printer tucked away in a drawer, would have suited just as well for a business stopover. We had room service dinner on several occasions and it was always brought promptly, and the presentation top notch. The buffet breakfasts were excellent with an overwhelming choice. We really couldn’t fault the hotel on any aspect of our stay. We certainly intend paying another visit should we find ourselves in Hong Kong in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel has completed some room/suite refurbishments and it's been done perfectly. The tradition of excellence in linens, technology,comfort and decor are all upheld but with a slightly more modern twist. Superior suite was absolutely huge and spacious with the latest in modern technology but you don't need to have a degree in engineering to be able to sort out how to turn the taps or lights on and off. All room functions are operated by an ipad and were self-explanatory and easy to use. The quality is something we enjoy about this hotel whether it's the food, courtesy of the staff, furnishings, bedding, fantastic buffet in the breakfast room, gorgeous views from Felix restaurant, the bar (which has great ambience, old school style) the quietness and sense of tranquility or the traditional decor of the foyer and public areas. Hotel transfers are excellent, we arranged ours through the hotel. We were truly grateful the hotel was able to give us an early check-in as our flight from Europe arrived at 5 a.m., Thank you The Peninsula staff. We were escorted to our room where check-in took place and on the table was a tray with coffee, croissants, fruit etc. It's a great location with an easy five minute walk to Star Ferries, Harbour City shopping mall or venturing into some of the laneways for great discounted shopping e.g., spectacles, sunglasses, sport wear, golf stuff etc. This is an iconic hotel, truly beautiful and I can't wait to return later this year.

Room Tip: We've stayed here many times so having a high view wasn't an issue but having a suite was. 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadsince73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

Probably the best hotel in Hong Kong, in my opinion.

It is in a very central, convenient location. Right next to shops and not far from most sights. It's a few minutes walk to the ferry that will waft you across to the island of Hong Kong itself.

It's a heady mix of tradition and technology. There were three tablets in the room that let you control lights, curtains, temperature, TV, etc. The rooms are magnificient with their wood panelling. We were lucky enough to get an upgrade.

The matress was a tad hard, but that seems to be the style in this part of the world.

Room Tip: I don't think they have any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
121 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was in this hotel this week and it is classy 5 star traditional and luxurious surroundings.Afternoon high tea was being served and the background music being played by the pianist was most relaxing.The exterior is grand complimented by a vigorous water fountain and the rolls Royce limos are an attractive feature.All told a most welcoming place with an atmosphere of grandeur associated with more traditional establishments.Highly recommend you pay this one a visit you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

well,we did fly economy class,but we booked Rolls to pick us up at the airport.The lady from hotel met us as soon as we left the plane and took accompanied us tall teh way to the exit,wouldn't allowed us to touch our suitcases.Then we were "take over" by the other representative from the hotel .The Rolls was parked there with smiling uniformed driver.It was just fantastic,we felt soo VIP.The ride to the hotel was the real expiriance!!Worth every dollar(round trip about $450 AUS)
The hotel was very stilish,I loved the bed and bedding,pillows are amazing!!
Of course afternoon tea is event,it is a great feeling to be taken by one of the staff straight to your table while there is a long queue of "ordenery" people staring at you.
Hotel made mistake with our spa booking so to make it up we were given special package including private spa room overlooking Victoria Harbour-compliments of the hotel,now how good service is that!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatjana1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

i love every minute and everything about this hotel. I stayed here in August for 2 nights. The harbour view room is breath-taking. It is spacious and spotless. The bed and the pillows are very comfy. The breakfast buffet was awesome. The high tea in the lobby is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janies77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,698 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#12 of 712 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,355 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 712 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing