We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go... that's all. Doesn't matter what for, just go.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #12 of 729 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I went because of James Bond and the green Rolls Royce and all I had heard.

I had lunch at 2pm in the foyer - and even then people were queuing for afternoon tea... don't know why because the tea was about as expensive as my very good, beautifully cooked and presented lunch. The service was fabulous, discreet, quick, unhurried, subtle.... lovely.

The best bits were - for me - the building itself 1920s colonial rococo, and the people watching. There is nothing more amusing than watching people staggering about laden with high-end shopping bags in weirdly "trendy" clothing.... ghastly brattish children indulged to the hilt; ancient wives clinging on to out-live their palsied husbands; trophy wives fearful of being out-trophied (and atrophied); happy rich young people on honeymoon..... the list goes one.

So, I would go for the experience. I suspect that the afternoon tea whilst popular is overpriced... my lunch seemed very good and well priced. Can't comment on the rooms as I haven't won the lottery.... I would gladly review the rooms, without bias, if the management were to offer me a freebie suite :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TACHSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

987 - 993 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

If I had to pick one thing that would keep bringing us back to this hotel, it would have to be the truly sweet sleep experience that the two of us both had.

Somewhat unusually, we had nothing to talk about at all about the quality of the bed, the pillows, the blankets, the individual bedside lights, the air conditioning in the room during sleep, the noises created when visiting the bathroom in the middle of the night, etc. These things all worked so perfectly well that I did not even notice it during the stay.

Service was, needless to say, impeccably accurate and responsive. Well before check-in, hotel staff e-mailed several times to discuss special requests. I had the impression that anything reasonable you ask for clearly and explicitly, they will get it done and make everything totally worry-free for you.

The first evening of the stay, we ticked the item "extra ice bucket" listed on one of the wireless computer pads in the living room, and then left the suite to go for dinner. Right there in the corridor someone was waiting to let us know we had two ice buckets in the suite. But ice was not listed on the wireless pad, nor did we bother to telephone for some, so we never got any.

Another small glitch was when occasionally both of us grabbed the wireless pads on our bedside cabinets and started randomly pressing the tabs on the touch-screen, we found ourselves unintentionally competing for control of the TV.

You got the feeling that spaciousness was a constant emphasis everywhere in the suite, whatever you happened to be doing in the living room, the bedroom, the dressing room or the bathroom, or even at the entrance foyer of the suite, where you got a second washroom.

The restaurants in the hotel were far too tempting for us to stick to our original privacy-oriented plan to go for room service at dinner time. Otherwise we might get to see some sort of a large dinner table moved in to occupy the over-sized space in the middle of the living room.

Traditional English breakfast at The Lobby restaurant was fine. Sipping the excellent morning coffee relaxingly, you wondered whether to join the long queue of tourists waiting for a table there to have the legendary afternoon tea of the Peninsula Hotel.

Harbour-view at the hotel means windows facing South. The deluxe harbour view suite we stayed in also had East-facing windows in the bedroom and in the bathroom, as well as a North-facing one in the bathroom. This meant plenty of sun coming in throughout the day, a welcoming feature during winter days.

At the South-facing windows, you get a view of the egg-shaped Space Museum down below forming a straight line with the turtle-shaped Convention and Exhibition Centre across the Victoria Harbour.

The East-facing windows give a view of the roof-top swimming pool of the Sheraton Hotel and, beyond that, the newer Tsimshatsui East area of Kowloon. The North-facing one gives a view of the rooftops of the Kowloon Hotel and the residential buildings in an older part of Tsimshatsui.

From the large elevated bath tub, you have a choice of looking outside the East-facing side or the North-facing side of the L-shaped corner window flanking the tub, or staring at the LCD TV screen positioned on the wall for someone lying in the tub.

A rare hotel with a distinct character, and one that you can totally rely on for quality in every aspect of a stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Location of this property is bang on TST harbor in midst of tourist attractions.
Rooms are hi-tech, the hotel is elegant, beautiful--art work and flowers everywhere. And the rooms are great--everything's controlled from an iPad.
Just incredible.The staff were very accommodating and took every effort to help, One of best hotels I have every stayed

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank atul_mukhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We stayed here on the way back to London from NZ. The service starts at the door of the aircraft with very attentive staff to get you through immigration, collect luggage and into the complimentary limo. A real treat for us after a long flight to be met with two Rolls Royce limos! We landed very early in the morning and the only downside of the entire trip was that only 1 room was available for early check-in so we all (6) had to crowd into that to rest for a few hours.

The rooms themselves were absolutely first class with all sorts of gadgets and high end accessories. The level of fit-out and equipment is mind-blowing and I'm not sure I've seen better anywhere else.

Service throughout the stay was 5 star plus. Just incredible.

Sure, it is not a cheap place to stay, but all in it is well and truly worth every penny. Possibly my favourite hotel in the whole world so worth the cost!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wills1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stopped at the Peninsula for a quick 3 days on the way to touring SE Asia. The hotel is ekegant, beautiful--art work and flowers everywhere. And the rooms are great--everything's controlled from an iPad:lights, curtains, TV. Power adapters for iPads, in a bedside drawer, fast WiFi and best of all, the phone has a VOI connection so you can call home for free!
We were upgraded to a room with a patio and a lovely view of the harbor. We saw a magnificent sunrise and an evening light show with lasers from the tops the skyscrapers across the water.
Food was good. Breakfast, part of our package, was great. A serve-yourself arrangement, there was everything you could imagine, from bacon and eggs to Asian and Indian fare.
The hotel was very convenient--we walked to the ferry and to nearby restaurants. The staff were very accommodating. And more high end stores with more amazing jewels and clothes. (HK is a destination for the extremely wealthy Chinese)
It was lovely.

Room Tip: Be sure to catch the night laser show that dances across the skyscrapers across from the hotel. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alberta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed in the hotel for Christmas season in HK and we loved all the high tech stuff in the room. Plenty of controls, everything controlled trough the wireless pads, speedy wifi, etc.
Beside that, very nice location in front of HK , where you can see the evening light and sound in HK buildings. Nice restaurants and food. Service very attentive and courteous!
Choose any of the rooms facing HK!

Room Tip: Any facing HK
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Riguzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Could only afford 1 night - an anniversary present to my wife but what a night. We opted to get the limo from the airport - that service actually started with a buggy from the plane! Checked in within the room. The room itself was controlled by Ipads and just summed up the term luxury. Added to that a superb view over Kowloon harbour.

Room Tip: Staying at the hotel gets you priority on afternoon tea which has a long queue of tourists.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 729 in Hong Kong
4,244 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 729 in Hong Kong
6,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 729 in Hong Kong
1,769 reviews
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#10 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $587 - $877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors. Contemporary and chic, The Peninsula Hong Kong is considered a legend of the East defining luxury hospitality. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and elements of personalisation, the rooms accent simplicity and elegance with an aesthetic that melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, eight award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade. A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing