We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #11 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I didn't have the pleasure of staying at The Peninsula however I did make reservations for the spa. I would throughly recommend a visit to the spa. The staff are friendly, efficient and very attentive while the facilities are second to none.

The reception on floor seven has changing rooms which themselves are equipped with a hot jacuzzi and a cold plunge pool. There is also a small sauna and steam room, all of which is immaculately clean.

If you have also booked a spa treatment you can use the facilities on floor nine which include a large sauna with a window over looking Hong Kong harbour which is amazing. There is also a crystal steam room, relaxation room and an experience shower which needs to be seen to be believed. The facilities are separate for male and female guests.

The treatments are really good value but do book well in advance to be sure of getting the time slot you wish.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamiebfUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,583)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

921 - 927 of 1,583 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2013

A magnificent palace ideally located at the heart of the most vibrant part of Hong Kong, the Peninsula Hotel is a unique place to stay at Hong Kong and feel that you are at noble hotel.

A place where in contemporary comfort and elegance meets the silence, sophistication and kindness of classic culture.

Embebed in the atmosphere of luxury that is the very soul of this establishment are the amazing services , the pool terrace the outstanding bars and the restaurant with new culinary concept .All of them combining style and contemporary chic with an impeccable service attentive but not intrusive that makes the experience of the hotel more than unforgettable, memorable.

Because beyond the elegance and glamour of The Peninsula what it is truly remarkable is the personalized care of the guest, the kindness and consideration, the attention to details .

Everything reflects a philosophy and a very special art of living .

A pleasure to repeat indeed. We will come back !!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HKBill22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

There are many excellent hotels in Hong Kong, but there is only one that has been at the top for almost a century. I have stayed here many times and each time the service is impeccable. Not only that, this hotel IS Hong Kong (although it is on the Kowloon side of the city), it has been part of its history for 85 years. The location is unbeatable, the views are unforgettable (you do need to pay the extra for the harbor view), and the atmosphere still has this little bit of colonial Britishness. The rooms have all been renovated and now have a modern look but very much in style with the hotel, instead of the somehwat dated classic look of before. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable. Lights, curtains and TV are all electric but very simple to use. And, a great extra: the phone in the room uses VIOP so all calls are free. The bathrooms are unchanged but they really didnt need any; they are still very large with deep tubs, separte showers and two sinks. The gym is expansive and well-equiped, there is a good swimming pool. Many restaurants, and a (admittedly very crowded) high tea on the main floor (a big tourist attraction clearly, so I would avoid that). On the 28th floor the bar with a great view designed by Philippe Stark, worth the visit. All in all, no doubt one of the classic luxury hotels in the world and one of the very best.

Room Tip: take a room with the harbor view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylvain7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel..I went to the peninsula for afternoon tea. It was extremely busy and we had not booked the lounge. Staff then suggested the verandah which was busy too. They refused to say what the wait may be. They then suggested we try the felix on the 28th floor which is apparently accessed by a different elevator. We had a 2 year old in a buggy and my 67 year old mother and we spent 20 minutes going back and forth to find the elevator we needed.
The felix has mind blowing views but again the service was very poor. Apparently, they can't do cheese sandwiches for vegetarians! Had to ask thrice for a refill of my cup of tea...

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Psachdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peninsula_phk, Director of Food and Beverage at The Peninsula Hong Kong, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Dear Psachdev,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us via Tripadvisor. I very much regret to learn that your afternoon tea experience at The Peninsula fell short of your expectations.

We strive to continuously improve the quality of our customer service and will certainly review your valuable comments with our team. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortcomings you highlighted in your review.

We hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future when I would be happy to personally ensure that we meet and exceed your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Kevin Tsang
Director of Food and Beverage
Email: kevintsang@peninsula.com
Tel: +852 2696 6690

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Choosing a big established 5 star city hotel can seem like a safe choice, but so often they're trading on past glories. Too long since the last refurb, dated with the food offering, robotically institutionalised staff, the whiff of naffness seeping from every pore.

Not so at the Peninsula. I'd read about the Peninsula and its fleet of Rolls Royces since I was a kid. I didn't have any recent personal recommendations so I checked out Tripadvisor and it was still highly rated so I took the chance.

I loved that everything worked seamlessly. We were met at the door of the plane by a hotel representative and a buggy, not sure if that's standard. At first I felt this was unecessary (we are not invalids) but by the time we had driven what seemed like a mile through Hong Kong airport I really appreciated it. We were accompanied through customs and baggage reclaim and handed over to another representative who took us to our waiting green Rolls Royce.

Our arrival 30 minutes later at the hotel was followed by further handovers until we were comfortably in our room on the 27th floor overlooking the harbour. The extra cost for a harbour view is so worth it. The room very cleverly uses its approx 550 sq ft to give a separate dressing area, sleeping, sitting and writing areas, a small dining table and luxurious marble bathroom. The room looked newly fitted and appointed with the extreme precision of a luxury yacht. Modern lacquered wood furniture and fabric wall coverings all very high spec. Everything was controlled by electronic pads scattered around, even above the bath. They all worked and were straightforward to use.

Tea and coffee making facilities, free wifi and even free telephone calls if you press the Internet calls button on the phone. We didn't get to try any of the restaurants except for breakfast on the first floor which was exceptionally well laid on with a wide range of choices. Most city hotels in this league have an indoor pool but they're generally quite gloomy. Here they've given a double height space on the 7/8th floor with open glass the whole length of one side onto terraces overlooking the harbour. Clean classical design with white marble columns make this a very pleasant space to spend time in. The hotel is also well placed for dining at several good restaurants in One Peking Tower, shopping on Canton Road, and taking the Star Ferry across to Hong Kong Island. Extremely courteous staff ensured a very happy 3 nights here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelVanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It has been updated recently and the rooms were extremely nice and large. We had a room overlooking the harbor and the view was beautiful. Service was good. The amenities were very good. International tv, wifi, good food. Free long distance, to anywhere, was wonderful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Only if you cannot afford, simply the best hotel in Hong Kong . No other hotel can compare. Wifi , shower, bed , pillow , air condition , tv, service , from roof to floor , nothing but the best. Easy to get around , close to MTR. All the best restaurant inside the hotel.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tommyyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,032 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,746 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,948 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $443 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing