We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Paradise Point, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“What an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is full of history and stories. Just one night there is a memorable and exotic experience. We had our own butler and movies in the bath and an amazing view of Hong Kong. The concierge helped us with our daily itineraries and made sure we were booked in for High Tea. The High Tea is famous and though pricey it is wonderful. We spent a lot of time in the hotel just enjoying the facilities that we had paid a lot for. This is really expensive so we only went for the experience but it was worth it.
So many attractions were within walking distance and the views were amazing all around there. I would recommend it to honeymooners or people celebrating with their spouse. Not really a place for kids.

Room Tip: ask for what specials they have going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganwolfenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,188
    164
    40
    15
    14
See reviews for
315
559
81
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Peninsula offers a perfect location, great food, historic ambiance and a modern luxurious room. But it is the very high level service provided by the entire staff that makes it stand out.
The outstanding service began with our ride in the Rolls Royce to the hotel. After 14 hours in coach to be met at the gate with a shuttle to take us to customs was such a treat. We were taken to a customs area with no line, something I have not experienced in Hong Kong before. Plus, of course the car was outrageous!
We were shown to our room to check-in by a woman from the front desk who provided a sincerely friendly and efficient welcome. She confirmed our dining reservation and arranged for a car back to the airport. The personal follow up note was charming. The hand made chocolates were a nice touch too.
Dinner at Spring Moon was of very high caliber. They do an amazing Peking Duck service. Good wine list and although pricey, it is worth it, especially if you are exhausted after a long flight.
The pool is beautiful--indoors, with an outstanding view. The pool service was quick and friendly.
We enjoyed our room service dim sum breakfast. They were prompt and friendly. The food was of very high caliber.
Our room was the Grand Harbor Deluxe. Two adults and a teenager fit in fine. The view was lovely--we did not want to leave the room. The bed was heavenly and the i-pad controls very efficient and fun to use.
Hong Kong has many high caliber hotels to choose from. I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons and the Grand Hyatt. For a vacation stay, if you wanted to splurge, this would be my first choice. The Ritz Carlton may have more of a jaw dropping view but the Peninsula's service is consistently better, has a much better location for sight seeing and offers better dining choices. Comparing this hotel with the Four Seasons, it is a close race. Where the Four Seasons is ultra slick and clean and probably the best choice for business, the Peninsula is luxurious but a bit comfortable for the leisure traveler.

Room Tip: The grand deluxe harbor view was big enough for three people and offered a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sparky22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

It was with anticipation and trepidation that the time finally came to try this hotel in Hong Kong. I had always wanted to try it mainly because of the history attached to it. The trepidation arose from staying at the sister property in Bangkok and being thoroughly underwhelmed and not understanding why it received all the rave reviews.

Let me say at the outset that I was not disappointed with the Peninsula Hong Kong.

The trip was booked through a particular travel company which meant some extra benefits including round trip transfers (in the Rolls Royce, breakfast and an upgrade). I was met at the aerobridge from my Qantas flight and escorted to immigration. No fast track available here and the representative (who is not from the Peninsula) meets you on the other side. They also help you with your luggage if you have any and then take you to meet the airport concierge. He then takes you to the waiting Rolls Royce and you are whisked away in complete silence. This process was wonderfully seamless.

My partner had already checked in the night before and had upgraded us further to a Harbour View Suite (apparently the Grand Harbour View Deluxe Room was very small but had a nice view). The hotel also managed to cope with the fact that we had three bookings but were able to keep the same room throughout – thanks to my travel concierge and the hotel for getting this right. We were met in the lobby and taken up to the room so I could check in and we were given a quick tour to explain the technology.

I have to say that the refurbishment is wonderful and the mix of the modern and Asian touches works perfectly. We were very much fans of the black wood done in a high gloss piano finish and the wallpaper which was made of fabric. The designer couch was also very comfortable and chic.

Now on to the technology in the room, it is everywhere and all operated through various panels or tablets. On a wall of each room there is a panel which operates the lights, air con and curtains. All very intuitive. In the living room and in the bedroom there are tablets which control the same functions but also operate the TV, Audio and DVD players. In fact you can select the zone so if you wanted to change the temperature in the living room but you are lying on the bed, this is all possible! There are also separate remote controls for the TV and DVD player if required and we used them as a couple of functions did not seem to work like getting a movie to play. Speaking of movies there are a number available for free through the TV. An excellent up to date selection. We also had a DVD player and were told that DVDs and 3D glasses were available. Probably the only gripe with the system is that the signal strength on the TV channels was not always great and we put it down to it being run through the internet. The only think you could not seem to do was order room service on the tablet!

The room itself I have already touched on in terms of décor. The view across the harbour is always amazing and only marred by the condensation on the windows. TVs in the bedroom and lounge room are BIG and crystal clear. The hidden Nespresso machine was great too. We had fresh flowers in the room, although one lot looked like a bowl of lettuce! We received some chocolates on one day but nothing on the other evenings. The bed was extremely comfortable and the grey linen worked even if it did have a bit of a prison feel to it!

We did hear odd noises during the night and during the day of scratching sounds and the pitter patter of little feet. Honestly it sounded like mice/rats running through the walls and ceilings. We did not report it but we both heard it!!

Bathroom is a decent size with two sinks although amenities are only placed on one side – very odd. Also water pressure is low and the shower took forever to heat up. You would not want to be in a hurry.

In terms of dining we ate at Gaddi’s on the first night. We had a great meal but it is not the best out there and not that inventive. This was noted when we dined at the Caprice at the Four Seasons two nights later. That said, kudos to the sommelier who was outstanding. We also ate at the Verandah for breakfast. The first day we had to wait for a table which was a little odd. Anyway the buffet spread is plentiful, interesting and fresh. We also did the traditional afternoon tea (included in our rate) and again this is fine but is really mass production and does not feel that special anymore. The lobby becomes very noisy. We also had breakfast in the lobby which was pleasant and a nice a la carte menu.

We did use the pool (which is indoor) one afternoon which is nice but a shame that it is indoors. Service was very average that day with a complete lack of service. I had to head up to the service area to ask for menus etc. This was certainly not Peninsula standard.

Our suite also gave us the use (on a first come first served basis) of a Mini Cooper with a driver. This was pretty neat and we had a nice drive around town to Cat Street and then the Goldfish market. Driver (Ricky) was fantastic. They also give you a mobile phone to call the driver.

We had the Rolls Royce back to the airport also which again was seamless.

This was a wonderful hotel that deserves its reputation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

To understand the Peninsula you need to understand it's history as THE grande dame hotel of Hong Kong- where dignitaries mingled with the upper crust 85 years ago. All little girls aspire to one day walk in and take afternoon tea at the lobby or perhaps have their first french restaurant experience at Gaddi's. THAT kind of place.
Fast forward, the Pen is a successful chain worldwide. But none compares to the one in Hong Kong in my opinion. The staff are all so proud to be there, from the bellman to the housekeeper. We stayed at one of the suites on the lower floors, overlooking the harbor. The suite is bigger than my then apartment with a magnificent view. Their training program is one of the strictest and even in this day and age of declining service one has expectations of the Pen. Case in point- I sent a dress to be pressed and the adorable housekeeping lady who brought it back almost bowed to me had I not stopped her. Aside from the Mandarin Oriental, no other hotel has equal or better service in my opinion.
It is a once in a lifetime hotel experience and you should try it out and immerse yourself in the history if possible. It will bring you back to a more gracious era, even within the hustle and bustle of Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Much appreciated the first class airport pick-up (straight from the plane through all formalities, and then whisked to hotel in "Phantom" Rolls Royce with Internet). Quite decent!
Wonderful atmosphere all over the hotel.
Enjoyed a smashing wine dinner at the FELIX top floor night club on first evening.- Food slightly similar to Noma in Copenhagen.
Service and settings/decoration of breakfast room is of high class and extremely comfortable.
Top class gym and pool.
My wife is insisting to repeat this stay another time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clausglogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Wonderful hotel, disastrous arrival as typhoon was coming ashore and had to go through kitchen entrance. Staff very helpful and accommodating as we were anxious for our daughter ( she was stuck in Bangkok - NEVER USE PAKISTAN AIR). The rooms are well appointed. Breakfast was satisfactory. Location was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDPMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Ongar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
429 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We booked via Centurion who had arranged one or two complimentary goodies !
It started at the airport when we were met after walking just 20 meters off the plane to be whisked through the airport on a buggy ,through security in minutes and met a Peninsula rep on the other side who escorted us and our luggage to an awaiting Rolls .
What a splendid grand entrance to the hotel ,check in was a doddle and we were guided up to our stunning room overlooking the harbour .
Extremely comfortable ,clean ,fresh,and yet very homely . Only one slight issue it was a struggle to work everything from an I pad , great idea but give me some old fashioned switches and buttons !
Bathroom is spacious and has everything you need .
Great spa,gym and pool . Fabulous complimentary afternoon tea with charming efficient staff ,always smiling .
Three nights was not enough we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and was quickly whiz zed back to the airport again in a Rolls .

Room Tip: Go high and overlook the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing