We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand High-Tea Chimes!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #9 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2013

There is something about grand ol hotels and their over the top elegance that only the super riche and moneyed elite can conjour up. Such is the effect of arriving at a place such as the Peninsula. While there are many grander super uber huge mega towers for the traveling elite, these older babes show us all how it all began.

When in HK do as the Brits do if you can!
I took my 6 yr old daughter and my father here for the P's classic afternoon high tea. Yes its a small fortune but still an affordable one and quite a fun ride.
The 3 tiered tray of delicious goodies, the dishes, cutlery, meticulous waiters, the rich gazing, the wannabee gazing, against the wonderfull historic backdrop of this elegant ol dame. I cant think of a better way to step out of HKs bustle. Suspend time, honor of the Queen for a few wonderful afternoon hours and then, when our ready, unclick that clock and head back out to get clobbered again by HKs never ceasing energy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hc437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,576)
There are newer reviews for The Peninsula Hong Kong
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,576 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

I was in HK for business and had Sunday evening to spare so after long flight ex UK I went over to Kowloon (by Star Ferry!) and after walking around called in at the Peninsula for a light supper. Service and quality was as good as ever even just for a light supper in the lobby lounge. As I walked past earlier in the afternoon there was a tea dance in progress with ladies in beautiful dresses dancing to a good live band.

If you haven't been there go and try it, its an oasis of calm amongst a frenetic city

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Salesman2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was the best hotel experience that my husband and I ever enjoyed. Everything was perfect. It surpassed our expectations. The staff were excellent. The food was amazing. The location was central. The pool was so relaxing. The view from the pool terrace of the nightly light show was spectacular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quinn_aisling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I came to Hong Kong over 20 years ago and this morning I dropped back into the Peninsula for old times sake. From the first greeting at the door, to the wonderful service as we sipped coffee and reminisced, the Peninsula continued to impress. Nothing has changed; the service is outstanding, the ambience beautiful and restful and the experience is one of a classy establishment that continues to know how to impress. I have carried my memories of afternoon tea at the Peninsula around for all these years and they will carry on with me, renewed and with a happy smile on my face. Thanks to all the attentive staff for making me feel so welcome and valued.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank AventurousFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

THE place to stay when in Hong Kong. Enjoyed a Grand Deluxe Harbour View Room which has fantastic views of the HK skyline. Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Fantastic ambiance. For a nice drink head to the Felix bar on the top floor. The Pen is a great starting point as well to enjoy the city. Ferries, underground and limos are all near by.

Room Tip: Grand Deluxe Harbour View room for nice views of the skyline
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1000_miglia_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is the Peninsula, what more can be said. The hotel had someone waiting for us at the gate coming off the plane. Electric cart brought us straight to customs. A Merc was waiting after customs. Really grand and well maintained hotel. I would recommend the old building over the new as I think it has more charm and character.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
Thank easyman1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The public areas, rooms and service could not be better. Treat yourself to at least one night when in Hong Kong, and spring for a room with a view of Victoria Harbor. Expensive but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#11 of 721 in Hong Kong
4,028 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#10 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,737 reviews
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 721 in Hong Kong
5,934 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $435 - $830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing