We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new hotel of choice in Hong Kong.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Peninsula Hong Kong
Ranked #8 of 697 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
416 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“My new hotel of choice in Hong Kong.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

A very enjoyable stay. The hotel, fresh from its $450 million HKD refurbishment, is well appointed throughout, and although a few things could be improved is a great option should you be looking for a touch of old world, well appointed modern rooms, and good service. More details should you wish...

Arrival
I'd highly recommend the hotel Rolls Royce airport transfers ($1600 one way, or $2900 return). Escorted from the gate in a buggy, you are soon through immigration and customs. Upon arrival at the hotel, check-in is in-room - and was efficient and informative.

The Suite
The Grand Deluxe Harbour View Suite was very spacious (130 sq metres) and exceptionally well appointed, with views on three sides of the tower. See photos. No small touch has been overlooked - universal device chargers, noise cancelling head phones, iPhone connectors, Nespresso machine, free VoIP calls and in-room movies, and printer to name a few. Decor is contemporary, and the integrated tablet control system allows you to control most electronic devices in the room from one device.

The Bars
'Salon Ning' bar & club definitely was the highlight of the venues - with good service and a great 1930's Shanghai theme. 'The Bar' had disappointingly unattentive service, with a large albeit predictably main stream whisky selection and classic decor. 'Felix' on the top level of the tower has a great view, however service and drink selection again was disappointing.

The Food
Breakfast in the Lobby was a la carte, and although good it wasn't great. Room service was well presented and tasty.

The Spa
Recommended - a good selection of treatments, very relaxing and well appointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nick164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    121
    26
    9
    12
See reviews for
239
422
63
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hana, Hawaii
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment I arrived in hong kong I had per arranged to be picked up at the airport by the hotel was as I hoped there was my driver dressed perfect waiting by the green rolls Royce he was charming and very present and when I arrived at the hotel thay were ready for me up graded to a suite very nice like I expected a person on every floor 24 hours a day to make sure you have every thing you need and that your stay is the best you can have the food beyond good and afternoon tea in lobby wonderful your going to have the time of you life at this hotel it truly is a grand hotel and yes it cost but you know that already oh I must mention I took the helicopter back to airport from hotel roof heliport I couldn't resist that was the high light of my trip and that was affordable ?

Room Tip: The suits are worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

"The Peninsula Hotels strive to provide high quality service"
This is what one would expect from this address.
Unfortunately we experienced a lobby café --- freezing cold and were served by the most unfriendly staff!
5 o'clock tea: After the order of tea the finger food arrived shortly after, but for the tea we've had to wait more than 20 minutes. Not even finished we were asked if we're ready for the check.
Soon after, while I was still eating, one of the waiters took away my plate. Obvoiusly
they wanted us out!
Although we had extended check out till 6pm, the cleaning lady pushed us every 5 minutes to get out of the room as she wanted to clean it up! IT WAS NOT 6pm yet!
The Peninsula I knew from previous years became a simple tourist hotel!
For sure I can't recommend it to any of my friends and partners!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

stayed her in November 2012 - abolsulely amazing hotel. Brilliant location from the some of the main shops and even there markets.

they have recenetly refurbished there rooms and - WOW they look brilliant. Loved my stay there and the staff where always so helpful.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a harbour view room !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Location of this hotel is superb.right next to the avenue of stars and bay.beautiful view of hongkong.. next to museum of art. Great service. High tea in the lobby for view and relaxation. Can take the ferry over to hongkong very cheap.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momdaughter2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Wandered in on a hot day to sample the gargantuan, old world charm and imbibe a little blatant colonialism.
Very pleasant greeting before we sat down for cocktails or the famous afternoon tea - to be told politely that the dress code forbade open-toed shows. My be-sandalled feet walked disappointingly back to the beautiful entrance. No complaints: it was my fault for being a scruff!

Room Tip: Smart casual to even walk in: NOT scruffy tourist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pippintraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I've been to HK half a dozen times before but only last year decided that I would splurge for the experience of staying here. I used to walk past it and tell myself I'll stay here the next time I visit. It was well worth the wait. Everything was superlative, from the rooms to the service to the high tea to the location.
We also opted to be picked up at the airport by their Rolls Royce! Included was the special guide who waited for us as soon as we got off the plane, not after claiming our luggage but right at the door of the airport when we landed. They scooted us off on a cart and whizzed past everyone else through the insider's shortcut to the luggage pickup and customs area. We got there ahead of the other passengers and we were out of HKG airport less than 20 minutes after landing. Now that was definitely an experience.
Now that we're planning another trip early next year, I want to repeat this experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaneuretta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 4,651 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 697 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Kowloon Shangri-La Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 697 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 stars 1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Hong Kong

Property: The Peninsula Hong Kong
Address: Salisbury Road, Tsim Sha Tsui | Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 11th December 1928, a legend of Asian hospitality was born – The Peninsula Hong Kong opened its doors for the first time. Classic, contemporary chic arrives at The Peninsula Hong Kong, as this legend of the East redefines luxury once more. Heralding the latest guest-focused technology and a new era of personalisation, the launch of the newly renovated guestrooms in The Peninsula Tower have paved the way for the transformation of guestrooms in the Original Building, which will be unveiled in April 2013 to usher in the hotel’s 85th anniversary celebrations. Accenting simplicity and elegance, the new rooms aesthetic melds the distinctive design touches and high-tech extras present in today’s luxury yachts, motorcars, and private jets, taking The Peninsula guest experience to a new level of comfort. Extensive facilities include a Roman-style swimming pool, a 12,000-square-foot Peninsula Spa, nine award-winning restaurants and bars, superb banqueting and meeting areas, plus a Shopping Arcade.A fleet of fourteen Rolls-Royce limousines is available for luxurious airport transfers, and two MINI Cooper S Clubmen reflect the legendary Grande Dame’s youthful spirit, while the hotel's own helicopter service provides the ultimate in speed and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Peninsula Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Peninsula Hong Kong
Peninsula Hotel Hong Kong
Hong Kong Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing