We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, slightly dated rooms. Chargeable WiFi.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #79 of 713 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good location, slightly dated rooms. Chargeable WiFi.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

The location is a plus point, very accessible. It overlooks a very busy dual carriageway so a room on a higher floor (>15) is essential if you also want the harbour view. Our first room on floor 7 was noisy with traffic all night.

The rooms are slightly dated - particularly the bathroom. But for a city centre hotel, acceptable. My only bugbear (as with all Mandarin Oriental owned hotels) is the chargeable WiFi. Even at the lower room rates (which I assume we paid) this is unacceptable when even the smallest coffee shop can provide this service. Thus, we did not take breakfast at the hotel as we normally would but crossed the courtyard to a Starbucks with WiFi. The Starbucks is in the World Trade Centre shopping centre which has a good selection of shops. There was a steady stream of folk exiting the hotel going to Starbucks!

We were not able to eat in the 34th floor restaurant as they were closing at 9.30 pm so we had a simple meal in the first floor cafe - it was OK.

One point of note - the excellent concierge service. They were very helpful - sorting the check in for our flights, and advising on our travel around the island generally. We took our suitcases to the airport bag drop at HK Central early on the day of our flight departure at midnight. This worked well as when we came to leave for the airport later, the traffic was gridlocked so we were grateful for the train option.

We left our carry-ons with the concierge and when we returned later in the day to change, we were given access to the gym/spa for shower facilities. This was much appreciated and a reflection of the quality of the concierge service offered here.

I would return to the hotel if the WiFi charging is sorted out!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveFrenchWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    794
    1,078
    354
    57
    27
See reviews for
406
469
159
931
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

I was staying here on business. The hotel, the staff and the food were fantastic and the views of Hong Kong incredible! It is perfectly located for all the bars and restaurants.

I look forward to a return visit!

Room Tip: Harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gullivers7ravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is in Causeway Bay and close to the underground, great shopping and Convention centre. We had a 34th floor room with a stunning view of Hong Kong Harbour.
The room was very comfortable and had all amenities including free wifi.
The bar and restaurant on the top floor has brilliant views of Hong Kong Harbour and city.
We found the staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Uludog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

This is not a hotel where the staff will know your name but they will provide a consistent high level of service. The hotel is in an excellent location for both shopping and business .
The only thing to watch out for is the long wait for taxis in the morning.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank avi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We were booked into this hotel through Gullivers Travels a UK based sports specialist (rugby their big thing)
I had stayed here one time before.
The room was of a high standard , the buffet breakfast very good.,desk and concierge staff were professional and helpful
Dickens pub is on lower ground; unsurprisingly busy during HK7's.It is good rather than great.
Bar on 34 has a classy restaurant ,great view and lovely staff.
We ate here , expensively
My Japanese tuna was too bland ,but lobster was great , as were wines etc
Great location for the Sevens-not a stand out hotel but well run and amongst the best in HK

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chrisunlesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Excelsior is a good choice if you want quality and service, but not the expense and formality of the 5* options in Admiralty and Central. Being one of the older hotels, there is a welcoming atmosphere, and throughout the hotel, the staff cannot be faulted on their attention to detail, courtesy and general professionalism. The Dickens Bar in the the basement is good for informal eating and there is great live entertainment in TOTT's on the 34th floor. The hotel restaurants also offer a good selection of food but you don't have to travel far if you want to take some time outside the hotel. Rooms are comfortable and equipped for the business traveler. The MTR station is close by, but I have never had a problem getting a taxi at the front door. Definitely my preferred venue in Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Executive Floor and get internet included, 20% discount in bars & restaurants plu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

We stayed at the excelsior in mid February. You could not be more central. The hotel is on the waterfront, across the road from the "noon day gun". Next door is the world trade centre.
The service is first class, never a chance to open a door yourself or carry your luggage.
The rooms are spacious, considering the cost of property in H K.
Free internet, satellite T.V.

Room Tip: Sea view room and as high as possible (34) floors, gives excellent views of the harbour with its bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#115 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#19 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,341 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#33 of 713 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Property: The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing