We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #73 of 725 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I love the location of this hotel! It is surrounded by excellent shopping and restaurants. There is a Japanese supermarket with several fast food counters a few steps away from the hotel. The subway is also nearby (part of the supermarket complex). It is just a short subway ride from central Hong Kong.

It is an older hotel and the public areas look quite cramped. We had a harbor view room which was big but a bit frayed. The beds were very comfortable. I found the bathroom small and not up to par considering it is part of the Mandarin chain. We did not have any issues with noise from the other rooms. Wifi was free in the room and was adequate for our needs.

I stayed in this hotel during the busy New Year holiday period. I thought the price was reasonable and it was a good value for the services and facilities that they have. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was varied but unremarkable. We had a pleasant stay in this hotel and would consider it again on my next visit to this city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,585)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stopped over in Hong Kong enroute from Indonesia. We were amazed by the cleanliness and hive of activity of Hong Kong. It resembles New York and is easy to navigate because all signs are in English and Chinese. The Excelsior hotel is close to the subway and within walking distance of excellent shopping centers. The World Trade Center with a Starbucks and laid back shopping is across the road.Wireless internet is sadly not free but reasonable in the hotel.The staff were incredibly helpful and could communicate reasonably well in English.Perfect location for business and a short stayover in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoziTMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Excelsior is a hotel living up to the true service you can expect from a Mandarin Hotel Group Hotel.
Over the years I have probably stayed in this hotel at least 25 times, and I'm always amazed with service level and the helpfulness from arriving, during the stay until checking out it is just perfect.
This time I stayed in a corner room with a king size bed and I can recommend this without hesitation to anybody, breakfast as usual top notch.

Overall the staff are friendly and very helpful, there is no question I will return upon my next trip to Hong Kong.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and confortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryEAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Situated in a great location, the Excelsior is but a short walk from the hustle and bustle of Causeway Bay. The decor, however, is dated - and its rooms are showing the wear-and-tear of age. I stayed in a non-smoking room for one night on a higher floor, and was moved by request to a smoking room for the remaining 3 nights. Both rooms were equally basic. However, as the smoking room was on the same level as the busy staff rooms, it got rather noisy in the mornings. No breakfast was provided for my travel package, though room service was prompt and delicious. Do note that they have a strict policy when it comes to visitors. My business associate was dismissed rather rudely by the staff, despite me leaving word at the front desk that I was expecting a guest. I had to "collect" him from the lobby, after receiving a call via my mobile phone as the staff inexplicably refused him the use of the house phone. This was really the most unpleasant part of my stay there, and I would not return on the basis of this experience.

Room Tip: Avoid smoking rooms on the same level as their staff rooms, unless you like being woken early in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daedream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here for 2014 NYE and paid for a park view room but we were given a different room and staff said they would only refund $250HKD for the three nights which is about $33USD, or $11 per night. NOT anywhere near the actual price difference.
They then charged us PER ITEM for laundry. Total bull was $350USD!!! for a small amount of washing. We found out the hard way they charge PER SOCK! I could have bought 10yrs worth of new socks for that cost. So annoyed with them.
And yes the rooms are tiny, outdated and in need of renovation. If your going to pay that much, stay somewhere else is my suggestion.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SYD_Review2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

It has been a couple of years since I last visited Hong Kong. Past stays with Excelsior has always been very good and this recent stay exceeded my expectations.

Was given a warm welcome back, newspaper was on my door after check in and front desk and concierge were most helpful in doing their best to attend to my requests which I understand aren't possible all the time.

Great location, service and most of all the quality of the staff at the hotel.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank s j l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed in club room. Very convenient as all meals were included (breakfast and hearty snacks and apps). As woman alone made it easy. This hotel is very close to trains. Not luxurious but perfectly acceptable. Clean slighted dated but very nice. Helpful staff. Would stay again. Price was good. That was deciding factor.

Room Tip: Club upgrade was worth it for me. Free wifi. Drinks and most meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chocolatecookie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#23 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,463 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#118 of 725 in Hong Kong
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
J Plus Hotel by YOO
J Plus Hotel by YOO
#99 of 725 in Hong Kong
612 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Hotel Indigo Hong Kong Island
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#95 of 725 in Hong Kong
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Address: 281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#42 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#52 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#60 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#66 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $183 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 869
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing