We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Excelsior”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #80 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Excelsior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Being former Hong Kong residents my wife and I were familiar with the Excelsior, being regulars over the years in the Dickens Bar and the Yee Tung Heen Cantonese Restaurant, both deservedly popular with locals. However, a four day stay in 2009 turned us off the hotel as the staff were rude on check-in and we were given a small room (1117) on the side with no view.

As it was essential we be in the centre of things in Causeway Bay during our most recent visit to Hong Kong we decided to give the Excelsior a second chance - and we are so glad we did. We stayed two nights (Room 1709) and returned after visiting Shanghai for a further eight nights (Room 1928). On both occasions we were checked-in by Ms Yo-Yo and she was as friendly and helpful as the 2009 receptionist had been rude. We were upgraded and both rooms were large with harbour views.

I am giving the Excelsior the top overall rating of 'Excellent' for our stay was one of the best in any hotel in recent years. Even the room cleaning lady left my toiletries in the bathroom in the position where I wanted them to be not where she or her supervisor all guests had to place them. A small point but small points like this can make the difference.

Two small points on the negative side. Thick duvets on hotel beds in hot/humid climates encourage guests to turn the air-conditioning down low. Wash basins with metal plugs that do not hold water long enough to even wash ones face mean constant refilling of the basin. Multiply the heavy electricity and water usage by 884 rooms and it can be seen the Excelsior is not doing itself or the environment any favours!

The two minor negative points above aside the Excelsior is a great hotel, one we will be staying in on future visits to Hong Kong. It is with good reason I entitle this review 'Excellent Excelsior'.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    1,103
    363
    59
    27
See reviews for
422
477
162
949
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed a week, just my wife and I and we had a great stay. Service was excellent. We stayed in the executive area and it is worth the extra. Marvellous view from our room as we had a harbour room view. The executive room is excellent and the staff so good and helpful. Location for the hotel is great and my wife loved the local shops. We have stayed here before some time ago and have to say the service has improved so much. Rooms are not huge but they are good. Visit the Dickens bar as it is a great place to eat and they have a couple of guys sing on some nights and they are very entertaining.
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay in the executive area and ask for an ocean view room. High up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed here with my sister and had an amazing time, Totts bar at the top has awesome views and the location is superb, excellent for all transport links and hotel staff all very friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

The local shops are great, I would defiantly return.

Room Tip: The higher the better for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S7KLUSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Having stayed 5 nights i can say this was money well spent. We had a harbour view room on the 25th floor and the views were fantastic. The location could not have been better with the MTR only a couple of minutes away.
The staff were friendly,attentive and very professional in every way and nothing was too much trouble.

Before hitting the town have a drink in the dickens bar with it's extensive selection of drinks and decent bar food is also available.
We will not consider any other hotel when returning as real value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Level Contributor
344 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by an old friend who has lived in HK for a few years and I wasn't disappointed in the least. Clean, very friendly, free Wi-Fi in the room and out and a really good breakfast buffet that sets you up for the day. Rooms were not huge but well appointed and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately, it rained cats and dogs most of the time we were there, but the concierge staff always had umbrellas for us to borrow. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed here twice within a year, both for two days. The reason I came back is primarily for its lower rate, compared to other good hotels in the vicinity. Location wise it's very convenient, with lots of shops at the back. Overall quite good, value for money considering Hong Kong isn't cheap.

Downsides: MTR station is a bit of a walk, wi-fi isn't free

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeedSleep2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have stayed at the Excelsior. Both rooms were fine - the latest on 32nd floor that had stunning views of the harbour. Good internet access (both wifi and Ethernet) and comfortable working environment. TV selection good too - especially for sports channels that showed UK, US and other sports (I think Star are linked to Fox / Sky) whichis important if you have jet lag!

Bathroom was smallish but adequate and you don't expect huge space in Hong Kong. Full size king size bed had good sheets and was very comfortable.

Hotel backs on to a decent size shopping centre and is very close to Causeway Bay metro station. This links direct to the central railway station for connection to the airport - in my opinion by far the best way to get to the hotel.

The best part of the hotel though is the Dickens Bar. If you fly BA you WILL find your cabin crew and Pilots in there! It is a sports bar and there is a great range of sports on TV. The food is really good and is an excellent mixture of Asian, European, Tex Mex etc - something for everyone but the highlight is the mix of( especially) bottled bee from a wide range of British breweries. To relax with a pint of Marston's Pedigree or Doombar is hard to quantify. Yes it is quite expensive, but who cares! it's come along to offer the refreshment you crave! Oh and the staff are really great too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dodswoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#116 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#31 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Property: The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing