We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Ranked #80 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Suva City, Central, Fiji
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the years and it doesn't disappoint. Great location, close to the train, bus & tram service and right in the middle of Causeway Bay where you are surrounded by shops & eateries.The staff are very friendly and helpful and the concierge team is very,very well informed.

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful views of HK. Recommend you ask for a Harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alisi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    1,103
    363
    59
    27
See reviews for
422
477
162
949
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent location heart of shopping area of Times Squares, few minutes walk to Causeway Bay MTR station, good hotel service, luggage delivered within 15 minutes to room, bed is soft, comfortable room size and clean room.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darcy676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed here on business for 3 days, great location convenient to MTR system atCauseway Bay. Extremely efficient staff, concierge well informed even helped me find a local alteration shop close to the hotel. My room was on the 32 floor executive level , very comfortable and great views of the harbour, night time view of the skyline lit was spectacular. I had the buffet breakfast that was well worth the money , a huge selection of food. Great hotel for a short stay.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will give you a better view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prettydelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable luxury hotel, in a great location, look no further. The Excelsior is part of the Mandarin Oriental Group and, as such, provides guests with all the usual 4/5 star amenities without the price tag attached to its sister hotels in Central. Our twin room was large enough and we made use of the well equipped gym and the great bar on 34/F which has stunning views. The service was brilliant, from the doormen and concierge desk to the housekeeping team. Attention to detail was noted, for example, when housekeeping kindly provided suit covers (having noticed I had suits with me) and they also provide a turn down service (which other hotels in this price range might not do). There are a lot of hotels to choose from in HK and the Exceslior did not disappoint. It's a trusted brand and I would thoroughly recommend the Exceslior to anyone visiting HK. Location-wise, the hotel is right behind Sogo, MTR exit D, 5 mins walk to Times Square and a 10 minute taxi ride to Central. I prefer staying this side of the Island as you feel much closer to HK life rather than staying somewhere Central or even around the Soho area. We were also fortunate to have great views from our room over Victoria Harbour on to the Kowloon side. I do not think there are many hotels in HK which offer this level of service (with trained staff) at the Excelsior's price level.

Room Tip: Ask for partial/full harbour view (worth the upgrade )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kritnos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
213 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were sent to "try out a possible new hotel" by our company, this one did not make the grade. The rooms were noisy, plenty of street noise. If the Wanchi area is "your thing" in H.K., this hotel might be o.k., but why not stay "in" Wanchi?

Food was decent, shopping is attached/close by. Name brand restaurants are within walking distance.

Room Tip: The higher up you are, the less noise you hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pekopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Located just behind Sogo, about 3-4 mins from the exit. Previously stayed at Regal Hotel, also at Causeway Bay, on my last trip. This is definitely one notch better in terms of cleanliness, ease of travel and class. Excelsior is very much a biz hotel and is just a walk away from shipping and food. Counter service is fast. Taxi ride to IFC is circa 7-10mins.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Recently stayed for four nights on a 23day tour of the far east for my wedding anniversary. We were upgraded and given a beautiful bowl of fruit and a bottle of bubbly which was very nice of them This is not the reason that I would recommend this hotel as it is first class anyway I believe it is a room only hotel. Our room ( with window seats) had an amazing view of Hong Kong harbour and Kowloon, it was perfect, very large and in excellent decorative order. The staff here were always pleasant and friendly. Its location is spot on as its near everything. Its next to the central causeway and not far from the ferry terminals. There was a lovely bar on the top floor with amazing views of Hong Kong and plenty of restaurants and shops close by. I would certainly recommend it to anyone. Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so wonderful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neve05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
The Park Lane Hong Kong, a Pullman Hotel
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Regal Hongkong Hotel
Regal Hongkong Hotel
#116 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Renaissance Hong Kong Harbour View Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Lanson Place Hotel
Lanson Place Hotel
#20 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Gloucester Hotel
Gloucester Hotel
#70 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Quarry Bay
EAST Hong Kong
EAST Hong Kong
#31 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Excelsior, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Excelsior, Hong Kong

Property: The Excelsior, Hong Kong
Address: No.281 Gloucester Road, Causeway Bay, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Wan Chai / Causeway Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#43 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#53 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#61 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#71 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Excelsior, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Causeway Bay, the shopping centre of Hong Kong Island, The Excelsior, Hong Kong is only a five-minute drive from the city's central business district and 40 minutes by MTR from Hong Kong International Airport. The hotel features five exclusive Executive Floors with a private lounge, a fully equipped business centre, a state-of-the-art Fitness Centre featuring advanced fitness equipment and dedicated spa facilities, as well as extensive meeting and banquet facilities. Every guestroom is equipped with a free smartphone with unlimited Internet access, complimentary local and international calls to five countries. Perfect for business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Excelsior, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Excelsior, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong
Excelsior Hotel Hong Kong
Excelsior Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing