We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous service!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 727 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I stayed for six nights at this hotel and received the best service ever. The concierge service was EXCELLENT ... from helping to arrange for tickets to watch the Dancing Water Show in Macau (a MUST see) to providing packing boxes and ropes - everyone was just so helpful and efficient.

Room was spotless; the amenities (Salvotore Ferragamo) were very complete and replaced everyday; the valet box was extremely useful for collecting the daily newspapers, putting shoes to be polished (for free) and receiving faxes. Excellent.

The location of the hotel is at the heart of Central, Hong Kong. A 5-minute walk to Lan Kwai Fong, where all the pubs, clubs, restaurants and art galleries are located. For shopping, from the time you walk out the back door of the hotels, branded shops are everywhere and it is within walking distance to the Landmark shopping center.

Breakfast was not included, but the buffet is excellent. My only gripe about the hotel is that internet is not included. I think for a hotel of Mandarin Oriental's stature and for the price I paid which was around HKD5,000 a night, I think internet should have been included. Additionally, I felt that the room had very low ceiling, probably because it was an old hotel and was refurbished.

However, all in all it was truly an enjoyable experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. Excellent!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SoutheastAsiaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,006)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,140 - 2,146 of 3,006 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with my wife. Its all been said already, great location, fantastic rooms - we had a great view of the harbour and staff are excellent., not much else to add. We loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darren2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I have stayed at quite some 5-star hotels in Hong Kong during the past few years. This time I got the chance to stay at the recently renovated (I believe?) Mandarin Oriental. I will rank it #1 in all the 5-star hotels I have visited. Service is impeccable and staff are very nice and helpful. The room gives you that "wow" when you see it. Other new hotels such as in Macau may have similar modern and fancy buttons and TVs (embedded in a turnable mirror in this case!), but it is the details in design that make you think "this makes so much sense! why didn't other hotel think of it?". for example, there's a curtain that you can block the light from the working area from the bed. If you are traveling with your spouse, she/he can have a good sleep while you are working (or vice versa). They charge a reasonable fee for Internet (both wired and wifi available). Location is prime without saying. I know it costs top dollar to stay here but this may be the only time for me to say the hotel is totally worth the money. I didn't get the chance to visit the pool. Breakfast is provided in two restaurants and they both are good.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank V-Y-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

One word - Phenomenal - most certainly one of the worlds best addresses - a great experience in a great location while exploring Hong Kong -

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LivingLife41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I have been staying at the MO for the last few years whether on business or family trip (last trip before this in April 2010) and I have always had a fantastic time and been always looked after by the most unbelievable professionals, the staff of the hotel.
We arrived in Hong Kong quite late in the afternoon after a very long and tiring journey. We arrived at the hotel and within a minute or so we were checked in and taken to a beautiful (upgraded to harbour view) room.
The room is modern but with a touch of the oriental style without suffocating you, with a beautiful bathroom. Everything you could possibly need is in your room and if you need something special or unusual, it is a matter of a phone call.
We dined at the Man Wah Cantonese restaurant on the 25th floor and although it was a last minute booking from our side we had a perfect table with fantastic views across and the most attentive staff looking after us. We were having our breakfast at the Clipper Lounge on the mezzanine floor and again the staff could not be more perfect. Our son has fallen in love with Hong Kong just because of this place. You can spend the whole day watching the people below rushing about on the street.
The MO has a buzz that you don’t find in any other hotel anywhere else. For business and for shopping the MO is in the perfect location. Within walking distance to major Banks and other business centres and while you are making the next deal your wife could be visiting all the major fashion names or relaxing at the fantastic Spa!! We were there just before Christmas and we needed to send some hampers to some friends of ours. The concierge not only received them from the shop, but without wasting any time he had them sent and delivered the following morning without us needing to do anything but write the delivery address. They make things look so effortless, from giving you advice were to go and buy the best Chinese tea to booking a table last minute to a hugely popular eatery, and managing to get you a private room for you and your guests. I can go for ever but I need to finish by saying that the Mandarin Oriental Group is in my opinion the best Hotel group in the world and the MO in Hong Kong the BEST and most fantastic Business and Leisure Hotel in Hong Kong with the most professional staff you could ever wish for. See you soon again!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I stay here every month for up to 5 nights. The staff are friendly without being in your face and the hotel has a nice feel to it. The restaurants are ok, but being central you have access to many more and the concierge is very obliging with recommendations and bookings. If you are arriving at the hotel from different jurisdictions they may not have your frequent visit travel details ready, but they are accommodating when this is corrected.
I travel a lot and this may appear a picky review. However, I keep coming back to and staying at the MO so I would strongly recommend it to others.
NB: As its a business hotel probably not great for kids - no outdoor pool etc.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJACCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2011

A great hotel for business travellers - excellent service all round. Great cocktail bar on the top floor, but the other two bars on the ground and first floor can get very busy and loud. The food in the Grill is very good, but a bit over the top, if you are looking for something more casual, then eat in the Chinnery Bar on the same floor. Great shopping all around this area - all of the top class stores. I was upgraded from a deluxe room to a suite which also helped!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jacob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 727 in Hong Kong
6,220 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 727 in Hong Kong
2,392 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 727 in Hong Kong
4,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: 5 Connaught Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $392 - $699 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing