We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Hong Kong Has to Offer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Best Hong Kong Has to Offer”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

I have stayed in many hotels during my business and leisure travels, and the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong sets the standard in terms of service, hospitality, amenities, and attention to detail. What truly sets the Mandarin Oriental apart from all other hotels in Central (and Hong Kong) is the level of personalized service and attention that I receive. The staff have carefully cultivated a balance of professionalism with warmth and individuality. They bend over backwards to anticipate all your needs, and I have never had to ask twice for anything.

For instance, on a recent stay, I partook of the (impressive) breakfast buffet and commented to one of the wait staff on how much I enjoyed the oatmeal. The next morning, when I went to breakfast, I was offered oatmeal and the staff remembered my beverage of choice. This level of attention goes extends to every aspect of their service -- from the housekeeping staff to the Cake Shop, from the fitness facilities to the Mandarin Spa.

Even if you don't stay at the Mandarin Oriental, the hotel merits a visit as a tourist destination because it has preserved that combination of Chinese and English (as well as modern and traditional) that is a hallmark of Hong Kong. For instance, some of the highlights that you experience:

(1) The Cake Shop, which boasts some of the most extraordinary chocolate
(2) High tea at the Clipper Lounge, which features the hotel's trademark Rose Petal Strawberry Jam with scones
(3) Dim Sum at Man Wah, where the Platonic ideal of dim sum is attained;
(4) Mandarin Bar and Grill, which has some of the most delicious steak I have ever eaten; and
(5) The award-winning Mandarin Spa.

If you do, however, choose to stay her, the rooms are a treat that makes i difficult to leave. The rooms boast of an impressive technological setup (including an innovative "valet box" where messages, laundry, newspapers are exchanged without disturbing the guest), and yet retain the charm of old Hong Kong in design through the use Chinese silks and dark-wood panels evocative of London (in the Deluxe rooms).
In addition, despite the fact that I have stayed at the hotel several times over the past few years, I continue to find new items on the In-Room Dining menu that are delicious.

In short, the Mandarin Oriental hotel is not just a place to stay, but an experience that is at the heart of all that is special about Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aFan4HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,289
    348
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
370
754
228
1,124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Hong Kong is THE hotel all hotels should be emulating in terms of service as it is second to none. It is our home away from home and the hotel we have been staying at for the past 15 years (both before and with children). The staff are perfectionists, the food superb and you are literally treated like royalty the moment you step off the plane. The concierge services are attentive and go out of their way to please you. We usually stay at the Mandarin Oriental group of hotels when we travel, but it is the MOHK that is our favourite to come back to. Would highly recommend to anyone going to HK for either business or leisure, with or without children.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyHennessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLISHMAN ABROAD
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed here with my wife on the last leg of a Far East tour. Ideally located for us in the business district on Hong Kong island close to the Star Ferry terminal. Good restaurants and magnificient shopping malls, tram, bus and MTR(underground) stops nearby.

Hotel is just superb with large public spaces, a few shops and good restaurants. Reception and Concierge very helpful and plenty of polite, efficient and attentive staff.

Bearing in mind the location the Hotel is very popular with business travellers.

Our room(partial harbour view) overlooked Statue Square and there was always plenty going on when you just wanted to watch the hectic world below. Room was spacious, good large bed, sitting area with desk near the full length window and plenty of hanging/drawer space. Superb double shower, high quality toilet products, large bath and lots of shelf space.

All maintained to a very high standard of cleanliness.

We used in room dining for breakfast on the first morning as we arrived very late the previous evening and service was prompt and the food good. The breakfast room was busy(so some waiting for freshly cooked eggs) comfortable with an extensive buffet and most efficient table service. We preferred to eat out in the evenings so did not dine in the hotel. There are excellent restaurants in the Soho area just take the covered Centrals/Mid-Level escalator up the hill

In summary another super Mandarin Oriental Hotel with all of the qualities of accomodation and service you would expect to find when paying these prices.

If you have leisure time do ride the double decker trams, take the Star Ferry to Kowloon, take the Peak Tram and enjoy the "Big Bus" tours which includes a pretty hairy ride to Stanley Market.

There is also a Big Bus night tour of Kowloon which gets you back in time to watch the light and laser show from the Avenue of Stars on Kowloon. The harbour cruise is also very good value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALFRED99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

The Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong really does do just about everything right (albeit at a steep price). We had a standard room on a mid-level floor but still had a nice view of the park/square outside our window.The room and bathroom were immaculate. The bathroom has a "double-head" shower which probably the best hotel shower I've ever had. We were supposed to receive a $50 spa credit because we booked via American Express but the spa was fully booked during our entire stay. The hotel kindly compensated by giving us a $50 credit in its Man Wah restaurant (slightly disappointing, but that's for another review). The concierge was accommodating in every way. The hotel was exceptionally well-staffed (front desk, valets, concierge, etc.). The room was a decent size, but certainly not over-sized. The public spaces were typical of an upscale Asian hotel. Breakfast was included in our booking and the hotel breakfast did not disappoint. The buffet contained both Asian and Western breakfast foods; something for everyone. Generally, an outstanding experience.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RKimNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Over the last 12 months I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental on 10 occasions. Most of the time for business reasons, on a couple of occasions for pleasure. I have tried nearly all its amenities. airport pickups, Restaurants, bars, business centre, barber shop, spa. Beyond the luxury of its facilities, what makes this hotel special to me is the quality of the service its personnel delivers.
From the single rooms to the higher end suites, its rooms are comfortable and have the latest technology, and its bathrooms have high quality toiletteries. Ma Wah its chinese restaurant serves one of the best Pekin Ducks you will ever have. I do also recommend you try the spa. The quality of the massages is exceptional, as well as the facilities.
Finally the hotel location is exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ja1mes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2010

What an experience we had at the Mandarin, which we chose after reading the glowing reviews.
It has a great location and from the moment we arrived to the time we left, sent off with a friendly wave from the bell boy, it was a joy to stay at such a top class hotel.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff with every need attended to. All you had to do was ask. All the staff were eager to ensure we had a great experience.
The harbour room we choose did cost extra, but it was worth it with a great view over Victoria Harbour, which will even better when the development along the waterfront is complete.
The room itself was top notch as you would expect and kept in spotless condition by the seemingly invisible staff.
We ate several times at the resturants, with the Cafe Causette a particular favourite along with after meal drinks at the Captain's Bar.
Of course its not a cheap place to stay but it was definitely worth it with the courtesy room ahead of a late night flight a great touch.
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

From the minute I arrived the staff were most attentive and helpful - and very professional. My room was very pleasant. The bathroom was a good size, with bath and shower, and the bed was very comfortable. I would certainly stay here again, on business or for leisure. An excellent location too. Hard to fault.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,625 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,154 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing