We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
650 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

Fantastic hotel in the heart of Hong Kong. Every detail is designed for excellence and the staff is impeccable and very professional, very attentive and never intrusive.
The elegant room, with a view of the skyscrapers of the city was endowed with every comfort (iPod, stereo, TV, DVD ,...).
The large bathroom with separate shower and bathtub, has a corner with the sink and its radio and television.
Excellent restaurants with Western and Asian cuisine and beautiful SPA.

We definitely will return, Hong Kong has a special charm!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigrotto70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,233
    338
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
358
738
225
1,096
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
collier row
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2010

This hotel is just wonderful & the staff are fantastic. we spent the New Year there & thoroughly enjoyed our stay cant wait to return someday

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sploggit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

I have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental, HK 3 times in the last 12 months and each time it has been fantastic. The hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms spacious and well equiped and the staff attentive without being over bearing. Definitely my first choice hotel in HK.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

We stayed 4 nights at the Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong. This would have to be the best hotel I have stayed in Hong Kong. Having grown up in Hong Kong this hotel was an institution so I was very excited at the prospect of staying in the hotel during my recent visit. I was certainly not disappointed. The standard of service was very high as would be expected of a Mandarin Oriental hotel.

I was particularly pleased with the quality of the room. The quality of the furniture and fittings was very high and well maintained. The real surprise was the bathroom tucked away behind the bedroom. The shower head was simply luxurious!

The hotel is located in a very central position in Central district - a 5 mintute walk to Landmark, 10 minute walk to Star Ferry and the MTR station is right next to the hotel.

I highly recommend this hotel if you plan to splurge a little during a stay in HK. It is certainly not the cheapest hotel in town but it is a classic and the standards and service will not disappoint. I will definately stay here again when I visit HK.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ausmithglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

This was indeeed a life time experience for me. My job has taken me to almost 30 countries around the globe; nowhere did I find such an elegant property, superb service, more dedicated staff and an incredible cuisine. They lavish you with so much care from the moment you arrive at the airport to the day you (sadly) depart. The front desk, the concierge desk, the room service, the Spa rooms and the various elegant eatery venues, all contribute to make a visit to The Mandarin Oriental, the most memorable and unforgetable event in one's life.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jtc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
115 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2010

Locally, this property is referred to as the "old" Mandarin Oriental because it was the first one in the city. Friends who live in Hong Kong advised against staying there but I was pleasantly surprised.

The property is in an excellent location that is an easy 10 min walk from the Hong Kong Airport Express station. The external facade isn't very attractive and is built in a 70's concrete bunker style. The lobby area also has a very "retro" feel to it. Lobby furnishings are lavish (marble, chandeliers, and brass) but a bit dated and the low ceilings make it feel a bit cramped.

Aside from the lobby and external facade, it is hard to fault the property. The rooms have been nicely refurbished and are quite modern -- wireless internet, adequate plugs, and modern Asian styling. The bathroom areas are lovely and the Hermes toiletries are a nice touch.

Service at the property is exceptional. Very attentive and predictive.

I would choose the Landmark Mandarin over this one. The rooms at the Landmark are larger and the style is more distinctive however, this isn't a bad Hong Kong Island option if the Landmark and Four Seasons are full or if you can get a good deal (which is unlikely).

When at the Mandarin, walk across the street to the Prince's Building and grab a drink on the terrace at Seva.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japan_Gaijin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
152 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

Great Service. Clean, upgrader with centurion. Good location for business. the only downside was that the concierge did not speak English well enough.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YuriVanetik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,466 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing