We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 719 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Kinda Spooky everyone there knows your name! Very Swanky and the food was Excellent. There is a restaurant close by that has Peking Duck that will make you slap your kids away from the table!

Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RobH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,269
    344
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
367
746
227
1,114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
163 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2010

We recently spent two nights at the MOHK.

We were pleasantly surprised to find we had been upgraded from a study room to an oriental suite. The suite was bigger than my apartment and was beautifully decorated.

Staff are excellent, and will do there best to ensure you have an amazing stay.

The chinese restaurant in the hotel is very good.

Make sure you also try out the hotel spa. We had facials and a massage, which were absolutely top notch.

Definetly worth the price.

Would absolutely stay again when in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Excellent, Excellent, Excellent. The Harbour view room was excellent, the staff friendly and very efficient. We could not have asked for better service and would recommend this Hotel without question.

The Hotel has a relaxed atmosphere, plenty of food options if you do not want to wander out which we did on a couple of occasions with no probelms at all, we felt safe and happy to wander at night.

Hong Kong is a great City with plenty to do so go and enjoy.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonemasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Good service, as you'd expect from a MO, but unless you get a great deal, there's no reason to stay in this slightly depressing 1970s-era hotel (low ceilings, tired lobby, claustrophobic rooms) if you can get a similar deal at the much more impressive Peninsula.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTMParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

Normally stay at the Shag-ri-la but as we got a better deal (via amex) to stay at the MO we booked harbour view rooms and couldnt have been happier. The view is fantastic and the building site not really a problem (not lit up at night - and excellent insulation means you cant hear it during the day).

Spa/Gym - Used the spa and would reccomend although try to book before you arrive as it was hard to find a convenient appointment. The pool although lovely - is TINY. The gym is well equipped - and they were kind enough to lend my husband an entire kit (shoes socks t shirt & shorts!).

We used the hotel transfer on arrival which worked perfectly. When we returned to the MO two weeks later - we took the train - which i would highly reccomend.if you dont have lots of luggage. It was clean, quick, efficient (runs every 15 mins) and cheap. It arrives into the IFC mall and is a five minute walk to the MO - you dont even have to go outside.

We booked too late to get a table reservation on Christmas day at the MO Grill - however we went to Cafe Causette and loved it. Honestly one of the most fantastic dinners Ive ever enjoyed - and with carol singers, crackers and children running around - it was perfect. Highly, highly reccomended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aejii
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

Could not say enough good things about the Mandarin. With my trip to HK being mixed, both business and pleasure, the hotel was ideally located. I have usually stayed at the Conrad, but decided I needed a change. The lobby is breathtaking and the service very attentive from the moment you arrive. I had a very large room which was impressive, especially the wet room with an amazing shower and tub. The bed was comfy and the choice of entertainment channels very good for Asia.

I had drinks one night in the Captains Bar in the lobby which served great cocktails, but beware it has a dress code. This didn't bother me at all, and it is nice to be around a crowd of nicely dressed travellers and locals. The bar on the top floor of the hotel is ideal for a romantic evening with that special someone, or a great gin and tonic and some conversation with the bartenders (as was my case). I also had a chance to eat in the steakhouse one night and highly recommend it. IT was a mix of travellers and local business folks, but the food was worth the trip, if not a bit stuffy. Service, again, was excellent.

Gym was excellent as was the spa. I was amazed at the amount of cardio equipment and the fact that it was all new.

I can see this hotel being ideal for business or leisure, and also for a solo traveller or family. While there I saw quite a few families with children.

One additional note. The hotel is situated so that I rarely ventured anywhere I didn't walk. I highly recommend walking as a way to see HK. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aejii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2009

I can honestly say that our 3 night stay was perfect. I stay in hotels for business for approx 60 nights a year and this beat any of those for service, for character, for the standard of food and general feeling of welcome and well being. It's location by the Star Ferry and a short walk from the restaurants and bars is very convenient.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonJohnsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 719 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,540 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 719 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing