We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best”
Reviewed April 27, 2009

This hotel exceeded in every department - service, food, location, rooms - the lot!
A brilliant experience and can only echo what others have said. Just book it.
Thank you Mandarin Oriental Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MIdastouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,359
    351
    58
    21
    10
See reviews for
388
775
232
1,147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2009

From the moment the Mercedes picked me up at the airport, the Mandarin provided one of the best hotel experiences ever.

The location is superb, close to the major sites and great shopping. Although I recommend a room with harbour view, the view itself is not what it once was. You either face a tall building or a huge construction site (no noise, though).

The regular rooms are not the largest in HK but the level of comfort is very high, including many unusual features. The hotel maintains a standard of housekeeping, including for the turndown service, that is now very rare in city hotels.

I tried several restaurants and two stand out: Man Wah for the Chinese food and the Clipper's lounge for the breakfast buffet. Each restaurant creates a different and very stylish atmosphere, and I also enjoyed the Chinnery and Cafe Causette (next to the excellent cake shop, where I bought some strawberry and rose jam). Two bars (M and Captain's) are smoking areas but only until the full smoking ban comes into force on 1 July (HK is a heaven for non smokers).

The hotel has a beautiful spa, with a very large and elegant fitness room, a fully equipped sauna (including hot and cold plunge pools), an indoor pool (rather small but with a stream that allows to swim laps) and a treatment area with a Chinese tea lounge. One unforgettable moment was the time spent at the Barber for a shave in a 1930s Chinese decor.

What really stands out at the Mandarin is the service, some of the best I have seen so far at any hotel, including in Asia (I also stayed at the Peninsula this time, and service was a big disappointment compared with the Mandarin). Just one example among many: while having lunch at Man Wah, I was escorted by a lady from the reception to the restroom, where a liveried butler opened the tap and handed me a towel and hand lotion (Connaught and Claridge's in London used to do this, but I am not sure they still do).

Definitely worth a trip to Hong Kong.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2009

Our first experience of an asian hotel. The room was wonderful and the 'captains bar' was a great place to while away the evening. Everything you would come to expect from a real 5 star hotel. We requested a high floor room with a harbour view (well recommended & binoculars included). Great location on the island, very close to the ferry pier for Kowloon and other places, some great restaurants close by. Can't fault the staff as they were excellent.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViolinDingue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2009

Just a classic hotel, since the refurb the lobby and captains bar are pretty much the same as they have been for 40 years and I love this place!
Best place to eat in HK is the Chinnery! Just upstairs!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiaflavour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Suisse
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2009

I was getting back to my room, and I could hear the phone ringing inside. What was that..."Sir, you forgot your mobile phone in the bar, somebody brings it back to your room".... 'nough said.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norber44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

We stayed at The Mandarin Oriental for two nights 13th and 14th March on our way from Perth to London.We found the Hotel to be in a good location but with a dissapointing view of the contruction site going ahead on the waterfront,this looks like being there for several years.Our room was clean and well maintained,but we found the layout to enjoy the view frustrating.
The breakfasts were excellent and the once we used them for dinner found them to be good.The staff were friendly and very willing to serve.
We enjoyed our stay but found it over priced compared to similar hotels.We would not stay there again but would consider the Shagri La on the seafront of Karloon.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManxManandWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2009

Stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to Hong Kong. The staff could not have been more helpful from those who met us at the airport, through the check in staff (done in the room not at the front desk), to the concierge and the restauraqnt staff..

The location is perfect as it gives easy walking access to just about everything - Peak cable car, Star ferry terminal and the MTS
(underground train system) which is about as efficient as any I have ever used. I would recommend buying an octopus card which allows the use of trains, buses and the Star Ferry and can be recharged if the credit runs low.

We had a harbour view room (view spoiled by the rebuilding project of the harbour). The room was spacious, very well appointed and came with excellent housekeeping and valet services - almost instant!

This is a great hotel. Fiendishly expensive but worth it if you are on a once in a lifetime trip!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,823 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,962 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing