We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great... Everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great... Everything”
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mandarin for a 2-days shopping spree and it is definitely the best place for that in Hong Kong. Perfect location in central. The rooms are on the small side but that's to be expected Hong Kong side. Service is perfect like in most mandarin oriental properties. The only negative point I can think of is the "shopping mall" feel you may have in certain parts of the hotel but that's Hong Kong and shopping is the main activity.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,327
    349
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
377
770
230
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Thank you again for yet another lovely stay ~ always a pleasure and I wished I could have stayed longer. Unfortunately as we are there on a corporate rate, we only get to stay at the back of the hotel, which is not the best view. But that is not a complaint - I still feel so lucky to get to stay in such a wonderful hotel, so thank you again.

Room Tip: Obviously it goes without saying to try for a harbour-view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is easily the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The rooms were great, very comfortable, a view to die for, and the staff could not be more helpful. At one point one of the lifts/elevators was out of order (the other 3 were fine), so they had a staff member on every floor apologising for the inconvenience and handing out champagne and muffins.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank obrienk99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The mandarin oriental hotel group never disappoint and Hong Kong is no exception.

From the moment we were welcomed, shown our room, it was instantly like our home away from home, with all the luxury and modern comforts you crave whilst away.

The dining options are vast and meet the travellers needs well, whether a casual cafe meal at cafe causette or fine dining, the choice is yours.

Adjoining the landmark building will feed the retail needs of savvy shoppers.

The concierge provide great local tips and the entire team are always a step ahead of the traveller. On check in I was unwell and we we're promptly guided to our room with a pot of tea and Gatorade arriving in just a moment.

We booked a hotel car to take us to the airport. It's the small things that delight, on arrival to the airport we were greeted by another mandarin oriental staff member who assisted us with check in, told us which direction our lounge was and walked us to customs. On looking back after we were through customs a friendly wave from the delightful concierge was our lasting farewell to HK.

Treat yourself to the worlds finest hotel group, you won't be disappointed, we are still talking about our memorable stay and will continue to for the years ahead.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Global
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

It's the grand old dame of hotels in Hong Kong. Of course the Mandarin Oriental badge guarantees a level of service and quality that you don't need to read reviews to know about... That said, in some respect its slightly old fashioned - some may like this aspect of it, but personally I'd rather go for Upper House.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGlobalFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed here five nights and everything was top class. Beautiful rooms, surprisingly quiet for sleeping. Excellent toiletries and LOVED the entirely chocolate chess board that we received with Jasmine tea on check in. Beautiful hospitality. Spa treatments fantastic , highly recommend the exfoliation followed by full body massage. Captains bar has a great atmosphere at night and the cigar bar is so decadent , we loved it all. To finish we had a champagne afternoon tea which was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

At a business breakfast this morning we asked the waiter for a wifi password since we quickly wanted to access some information on the net. The poor lady was forced to ask us to go to the business center and buy a voucher. Her body language told that she was on our side but that she had to follow policy. We then asked for the email address of the GM in order to write a friendly complaint. We got the email address of a lady in the gm's office and who wrote a very curtious meaningless policy email apologizing that her GM had no time. Try to do the same thing for example at the Ritz Carlton in HK and you will get a personal email from the GM and I guarantee you he will make sure that this will never happen again. So my dear friends at the mandarin you have a lot to learn and the competition in town is leaving you in the dust

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank maxburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,737 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,191 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#10 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing