We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“By far my favourite hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“By far my favourite hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I just love this place. Everything is at the highest standard, the staff is very attentive, the interior very stylish and the service is excellent. Everything i really need from a hotel is perfect at the Oriental. There are lots of small details which make you feel special. I left my iPad on the table and when i came back a microfiber cloth was next to it. My all time favourite hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Elektra66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,231
    337
    57
    20
    10
See reviews for
357
736
225
1,095
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

My virgin stay at the MO and I truly hope that it won't be my last! Just sublime. My only complaint was that we were given a 'non-smoking' room which clearly had been smoked in. I got a very faint wiff when we first checked in, but was so blown away by the room that I forgot about it. However, when we went to bed, we realised that the pillows absolutely reeked, and I mean reeked of smoke. Unfortunately, by this stage it was too late and we were too tired to try to change rooms, but consequently I didn't have a good nights sleep.

When we called reception first thing the next morning, the explanation was that someone had probably been smoking on the balcony and the smoke had drifted in! Well, needless to say, we didn't agree with this. But as one would expect, we were moved to another room, a few doors down that was smoke-free and even more luxurious. Thank you MO, for listening to us and our needs. Once again 5* reaction/service.

Room Tip: Just make sure if you want a smoke-free room that you double-check and don't be shy to complain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanna63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights.Staff at hotel were extreamly helpful and attentive could not ask for better.
Room was spacious and comfortable. The bathroom area is divided in three with a separate shower and bath / toilet / sink and amenities area.
The breakfast in the clipper lounge was excellent with the eggs benedict being my favourite. Freshly made on order.

I enjoyed my say at the MO on Hong Kong island with the great location also.
The only downside was the wifi setup here. I felt it is outrageous that in this day and age that you pay for internet access when paying such a high room tariff.
As I needed to use the interest I paid the fee on two occasions. To further my annoyance it was not that fast of a connection and I was only able to use the connection on the device I connected with. Most people these days travel with both laptops/ tablets and smart phones and to have to pay for use per device I feel was not acceptable. Having stayed in other hotels in Hong Kong where internet is complementary it would unfortunately be a big deciding factor on what hotel I choose on my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We love coming to stay at the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong for weekend escapes. The service is always outstanding - we are always made to feel so welcome. From the moment you step out of the taxi you feel the genuine service. It is consistently outstanding - such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit extra to get a view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette_Kendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

A special thank you to the team at the Mandarin. Service was 5 star!! We stayed here to celebrate our 1 year anniversary - the team surprised us with a wonderful bottle of champagne in our room and an upgrade! Thank you to Kenny and the team for greeting us so warmly and for extending our check out to accommodate a late departure from HK.

The hotel is in a great location. Easy transport links and great shopping.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarJehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

hongkong is shoppings heaven.i cant stop myself!!!!cheap!!everthing!!!hotel is a single building it is really worthy.perfect service staff.and facility.they always smile very sweet.make me shy haha.very nice seascape and there is a telescope in room!!prefect

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong on business for a short trip, and it remains one of my most memorable stays of any hotel in the world. I loved every part of it - the outstanding service, the friendly staff, the great location, the huge rooms (relative to HK) and the amazing food.

I really hope to get a chance to stay there another time, and I will make it a point to stay at other Mandarin Orientals if I get the opportunity.

I could not recommend this hotel more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wissam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#4 of 718 in Hong Kong
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,464 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#12 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing