We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 730 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights on the way to 12 days in mainland China. The overall experience was absolutely sensational from check-in to check-out. And it is an experience. The staff from room attendents to concierge were fabulous - nothing too much trouble and accurate information whenever requested. Our experience was enhanced by 2 gastronomic delights. For fantastic food, fun and a great experience, take in dinner in the Krug Room - pre booking essential as it only seats 12. And for some of the best chinese (canonese) pop into Man Wah - very deserving of a michelin star. And what a view. There can't be a better place to stay in HK.

Room Tip: Don't skimp - make sure you get a harbour facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RodG_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,787 - 1,793 of 3,013 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stay here every time I visit Hong Kong and have yet to find any negatives. The location is great for business, the service and staff are welcoming and efficient, rooms are lovely, and the food is good. I could go on but it would be superfluous. All you need to know is that the Mandarin is great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tconroy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very upmarket Hotel bang in the centre of Hong Kong. Excellent rooms, really comfy beds, great food, brilliant location. The bar in the lobby is really good, very vibrant and really good fun. The service was excellent. All in all this is a first class Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Make no mistake this place is expensive but there is no way you can fail to give it five stars. The service is wonderful, nothing is too much trouble and all the staff seem to genuinely care that your stay is perfect. There are nice touches everywhere, little free gifts and excellent toiletries.
I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel - especially if someone else is paying - only complaint is when you're paying well over £300 a night maybe the (excellent) internet could be included? Breakfast was expensive too, but you don't come here to penny pinch you come to be made to feel special and for everything to be just about perfect, which it is.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simcfro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Spent 4 nights on a business trip to HK and ended up at the Mandarin (usually have stayed at the JW). Was getting a good deal so tried it out - also, it was a lot more central (read walk) to all my meetings.

From arrival to departure - perfect. Rooms are large and well appointed. Food is exceptional. Love the Captain's Bar - what a perfect place for a relaxed drink. It's very central to everything.

Only thing that got me was they charged for internet - which in this day and age is usally offered free - even at the small hotels.

This has got to be one of the top experiences I have had at a hotel in a long time. Would not hestitate to go back on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at the Mandarin Oriental in Hong Kong three times over the past few years and this last trip cemented our opinion that it is our preferred hotel to stay at whenever visiting the city of the fragrant harbour.

Although Hong Kong is geographically small compared to many other metropolitan areas, we believe the location of the Mandarin is second-to-none for all the activities we desire. It is attached through covered walkways to all the high end shopping malls. It’s also within comfortable walking distance to the bars of Lan Kwai Fong and the restaurant and bar area of SOHO.

The hotel itself has that old world charm that cannot be manufactured, it has to be earned. The Mandarin has served it’s time and deserves its reputation within the relatively short modern history of Hong Kong. There is history in the walls and the management has been wise not to modernize certain areas of the hotel to keep this charm intact. The Captain’s Bar is a great example, a perfect place to sit back in a red leather chair sipping on a gin and tonic, imagining the intrigue that has occurred here in years past.

For the second visit in a row our suite was upgraded to an Oriental Suite, this time on the 20th floor with unobstructed views of the harbour. The living area is of decent size and nicely furnished along with a very practical working desk. The bedroom is small but functional and the bathroom is as big as the lounge area, a real luxury for hotels in Hong Kong. The centerpiece of the bathroom, literally, is a free standing bathtub that looks out over the harbour. The stand-alone shower is wonderful and amenities in the bathroom are excellent. Many nice little touches in the suite, too many to list.

The breakfast in the Cafe Causette is of a high standard [try the Dim Sum basket] and the buffet breakfast in the Clipper Lounge is perfectly acceptable for a 5-star hotel.
The service by all the staff is faultless and we have never had anything to worry about in this regard. One evening on our last trip while dining at a restaurant outside the hotel we decided to have a night cap at The Peninsula hotel on the Kowloon side. All it took was a quick call to the Concierge and a car was waiting for us after our meal.

Having stayed at The Peninsula on a previous trip we know it is an excellent hotel, we just feel the location of the Mandarin Oriental in the heart of Central suits our requirements to a tea [High Tea mean!]

Room Tip: Suites on high floors are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwi_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

As with others in the chain you can expect a beautifully appointed room with lots of great little extra touches. The surprise for me on this trip was finding a Espresso machine in my cupboard - very welcome it was too.

The room was large and well designed with a lovely bathroom.
Service was first class and the location was perfect for me as I could walk to my appointments.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ServalontheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#3 of 730 in Hong Kong
6,244 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 730 in Hong Kong
2,395 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
InterContinental Hong Kong
InterContinental Hong Kong
#13 of 730 in Hong Kong
4,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Address: 5 Connaught Road Central | Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Spa Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $398 - $714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Mandarin Oriental, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing