We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mandarin Oriental Should Be Number 1 on TA!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Ranked #6 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mandarin Oriental Should Be Number 1 on TA!”
Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental for 3 nights in November 2011. It was a fantastic experience. This was my husband's 5th time and my 2nd. They remembered my husband upon check in and welcomed us back. Check in took 2 minutes and we were escorted to our room. Everything was effortless.

We stayed at a study room. Which is smaller than a regular room and didn't have a bathtub. But the layout and hotel furnishings were nice and tasteful. We wanted a bigger room but the hotel was fully booked.

Service is excellent. Every single hotel staff member was smiling and ready to help or assist. Nothing was a bother for them and they were eager to be of service.

Breakfast had a nice spread and you have an option of Continental, American or Chinese. Everything was yummy.

Location was perfect. It was a 2 min walk to the MTR, and was across the street from all the high end shopping!!! Chanel, Prada, YSL, Church's, Tod's, Tiffany's, Bottega Veneta, Balenciaga and Celine were nearby!

Sheets and towels were of good quality. Pillow and bed hardness were just right. We slept well every night. There was turn down service every night.

Hermes branded bath products were nice. Bottled water was replenished every day.

Overall, it was a terrific experience. We will definitely be back. Mandarin Oriental is a great choice to base yourself in Hong Kong.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,295
    349
    57
    21
    10
See reviews for
372
757
228
1,124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed here on a stopover from Australia. We've stayed before and the hotel was, if anything, better than the last time. They seem to improve continuously and it's a real pleasure to stay here, the staff are really well trained, friendly and can't do enough to help you. We'll definitely be back !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_girl_2770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

the hotel has a great location in central hk biz district. it is a great starting point for touring around. on the day we arrived there was no internet or TV for over 7 hours, we weren't amused. but the mangement sent chocolates to all the guests to apologize for the inconveninece. well done. spa and gym are top notch. my only complain is the lady i dealt with at the concierge. she sent me to this terrible dim sum place, i ran out after 2 dishes to save some stomach for real dim sum. she also told me she didn't know where China is when i asked her whether i could see china from the peak. i am not sure whether she was snobbish or just ignorant.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoriaxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
239 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

I recently visited Hong Kong on business and as usual I stayed at a Premier Room at the Mandarin Oriental with my wife arriving to the hotel a couple of hours before me.
The room was overlooking Statue Square and the fantastic Central area skyline.
When I arrived later I just mentioned my name and I was immediately to our room. The bathroom amenities are Hermes and the room is large by Hong Kong standards and every night a small present is left by the turn down staff. The staff are always one step ahead of you always helpful, and friendly.
The breakfast and all day light meals at the Clipper Lounge are the best and the lounge is a favourite spot for the locals.
Don’t miss the afternoon High Tea which is really superb.
The hotel has the best possible location for both business and pleasure and within few meters walk to all the glamorous shops of Hong Kong.
This is still the most fabulous place to stay in this buzzing city and it is run by true professionals with exceptional service that comes naturally.
A truly fantastic experience!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor. Better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

.... and glad I did. Recently been staying at the Upper House when in Hong Kong. The grande dame that is the Mandarin can't compete with the Upper House or indeed most of the newer hotels in terms of rooms and often views but she is still supreme when it comes to service. Although if one is very picky, actually that isn't as good as it used to be. Only small things - mistakes in room service orders and the like. Also interestingly they are significantly less good at the personal welcome when you arrive/return than a) they used to be & b) the Upper House etc. Will I go back? Or will it be the Upper House again? Not sure....

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DemandingAlbion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This hotel is a great choice for the business traveler who seeks high quality service conveniently located in Central Hong Kong.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gahazlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The Hotel is great but the service is better. They go to pick you up át the airport. You will make the check in in your room and when you check out they go with you till the airline counter.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Central
The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Central
Four Seasons Hotel Hong Kong
West Kowloon
The Ritz-Carlton, Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hotel ICON
Hotel ICON
#5 of 718 in Hong Kong
5,632 reviews
Admiralty
The Upper House
The Upper House
#1 of 718 in Hong Kong
2,156 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Peninsula Hong Kong
The Peninsula Hong Kong
#8 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong
Address: No.5 Connaught Road, Central, Hong Kong, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Hong Kong > Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#6 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
#7 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong 5*
Number of rooms: 501
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The iconic Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong is the epitome of contemporary luxury combined with Oriental heritage. Having delighted guests with award-winning service and impressive facilities for over 50 years, it is the much-loved address for those seeking an exclusive sanctuary in the heart of this exciting city. The spacious rooms and suites offer magnificent views of the famous Victoria Harbour and the city skyline. A collection of ten outstanding restaurants and bars, including three with Michelin stars, and a Shanghainese-inspired holistic spa, indoor pool and 24-hour fitness centre, make Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong the recognised home away from home for discerning leisure and business travellers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong Hotel Hong Kong
Mandarin Hong Kong
Hong Kong Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing