We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Dissapointment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #78 of 721 Hotels in Hong Kong
Reviewed February 26, 2007

I was excited to go and stay at the Marco Polo HK Hotel bec it's supposedly better than Gateway. Whenever we go to HK, we stay at the Marco Polo Gateway. We were happy with the rooms/suite they gave us before. When my husband contacted the MPHK to book 2 rooms for Feb07, we were assured a free upgrade to a deluxe room. They gave us a confirmation number and all.

Upon checking in, computer showed that they accidentally CANCELLED our booking and gave away our rooms to other guests. Then they had a hard time finding us 2 rooms! After 1.5 hours in the lobby, they finally found 2 rooms for us. If we paid extra, they will give us a suite. Thinking a suite would be nice splurge, we agreed to pay extra. We ended up getting a deluxe room connected to a suite.

Having high expectations, I thought we would get nicer rooms. WE DIDN'T. Suite wasn't available till 7pm. So we got the Deluxe first. IT WAS TINY! Hardly any space to move around. around 40sqm only. They had the nerve to call it a deluxe. I wonder how the standard rooms looked.

But we were still optimistic bec we would have a Suite. But when the Suite was finally available, we were so dissapointed! It was cramped. There were so many corners/walls. The layout was weird. The couch had so much stains on it and it was so gross! I didn't want my kids to sit on it. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls and had bubbles in them. It was very dirty. Bathroom was regular. Nothing special at all. it looked like an ordinary hotel bathroom. Hardly a Suite's bathroom. Bed was like a small queen or a double! There were so much stains on the carpet, and there were even potato chips bits on the floor left by the previous guest!!! GROSS.

I really hated the room and dreaded spending time there. It was too bad that I was with a baby and toddler and we had to spend afternoons in the room for their naps.

It was also very noisy bec there was construction across the street.

On the other hand, the location is the only thing going for this hotel. It's very easy to access mall and good restos nearby. Very convenient that it's near Star Ferry to go to Central, 7-11, Starbucks, Grocery, etc. We had a semi Harbour View.

Aside from James at the Front Desk, all the rest of the staff were very nice, helpful and pleasant. Mr. Raymond Lao, the manager, was also very nice and tried to remedy the situation.

I'm NEVER staying in this hotel. Not worth the money. We should have stayed in Gateway or maybe in a hotel in Causeway Bay for lesser cost.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,768)
There are newer reviews for Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,935 - 1,941 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2007

Because of staying in the hotel for one week my travel agency had guaranteed an upgrade to a suite. At checkin they gave me a harbour room without any comment. Never stayed in a suite. So I realized the situation not till the last day. The management told me that my room had the same value than a suite - which is not true. At the end I didn't have to pay for 5 breakfasts. Not at all a real compensation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wizziwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

We spent a total of 9 days in the Marco Polo Hongkong (broken by a trip to Beijing) and it was excellent. Our first 4 days were booked into a standard suite which did not have a harbour view (didn't really care as we saw it every time we stepped outside) but had a bedroom, lounge, desk area, dressing room - tons of space for the 3 of us. It also allowed my son to go to bed, and my husband and I could sit in the living room and have a few dinks without disturbing him. ( a bonus if travelling with young kids)

When we left for Beijing the concierge held 3 suitcases for us at no charge for 4 days until we returned. Saved us carrying our summer gear to China and back and realy appreciated it.

On our return we were in a harbourview room- but on request we were ugraded to a suite for minimal extra cost (Breakfast was included and the entire upgrade cost was only the same as b'fast!)

Housekeeping, front desk and concierge staff excellent. As other people have said, location is everything for this hotel. Harbour City shopping centre is ENORMOUS.. restaurants, Star Ferry, MTR and buses close by. And lots to see and do in Walking distance.

Couldnt fault it! What a blast!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank LyndalPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2006

Stayed here 22nd - 25 Nov 2006. Nice, clean hotel. Spacious room with nice view but may need to get at least 15th floor and above and of course facing the harbour. Connected to a large shopping centre. Very convenient - near to MTR (subway), near the harbour to Hong Kong Island, Near to shopping area ie Nathan Road etc.

Stayed: November 2006
9  Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

On arrival at 1030 at night it was great to see how big the room was(regular harbour view) how clean it was and how efficiently it was designed. Our first view of out of the window was spectactular even late at night. As the harbour is one of the many interesting places of the city it was wonderful to be able to look at it on awakening and day and night whenever we were in our room. The staff were very pleasent and very helpful especially the housekeeping staff who responded to our requests almost instantly.

The location of this hotel is fantastic. Go out the back door and you are at the star ferry terminal. Out the front and you are a short walk to the MTR, Ashley Rd.,Nathan Rd. and go out on the 2nd or 3rd floor and you are in Ocean Terminal and Harbour City.

We had very enjoyable holiday ar this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
13  Thank flinx333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Stayed here as part of honeymoon. Hotel is in a good location with a huge amount of shopping on your doorstep. Has the atmosphere of a busy inner city hotel, geared up for the business traveller. However, we found no problems with the hotel during our stay.
All in all, a good hotel from where to explore and discover Hong Kong.

Stayed: August 2004
5  Thank Scarletchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2006

This is without doubt one of the worst experiences we have ever had at a supposed world class hotel On arrival we discovered they had somehow cancelled our booking in July although they had confirmed with travel agent in November. We were told to "go away"as they were full and we didn't have a reservation. They then demanded that we pay for the night which of course we refused and after much discussion they allowed us to go to a room. 3 adults in a room not much bigger than a closet and only 2 single beds! After we made several phone calls back to Australia and 24 hours later eventually the hotel admitted we did in fact have a reservation and we could stay in the closet sized room for the 15 day stay we had paid for. We of course refused and demanded the room we had paid for and finally had a real sized room although not a harbour view as we were expecting. Their website states the have queen sized beds. They don't they have 2 single beds and if you have 3 people you get a roll out for the 3rd.. The rooms were tardy and dirty and the staff were all rude and grumpy. We had been advised we could move to a harbour view room for the last 5 days which we accepted. It was also dirty and dusty and the air con was broken. We had blasting freezing cold air and it took 2 days to get a heater in the room. The bathroom leaked so every shower flooded the bathroom the toilet leaked and the plugs didn't work in the sink or the bath. They didn't seem to be bothered and not willing to fix anything. We will not be staying here ever again and we would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Aussietravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#36 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,251 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#43 of 721 in Hong Kong
1,203 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#9 of 721 in Hong Kong
3,740 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#70 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range: $199 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel has recently completed a comprehensive hotel exterior upgrading programme, all rooms are now available to provide exemplary standard of service and ensuring high level of customer satisfaction. Overlooking the spectacular Victoria Harbour, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is located along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, at the heart of the city’s busiest commercial, shopping and business hub. The Star Ferry and Hong Kong’s cruise terminal are at your footstep, while shopping is right next door with the hotel forming part of Harbour City – Hong Kong’s largest shopping complex. After an exciting day of sightseeing or business meetings, settle into one of the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel’s 665 guestrooms and suites while staying connected via the complimentary Wi-Fi internet service, and the complimentary handy smartphone which is now fully up and running throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing