We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #73 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Certificate of Excellence
bangkok
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We three people stayed in a Harbour View room, which is supposed to be spacious for two, but with us three it felt a little less ideal. (The triple rooms they have don't have the Harbour View room.) The view is quite nice.

Front Office failed to communicate to housekeeping to set up the extra bed and amenities for the third guest. Anyway they managed to come sort things out in less than 20 min after we first went to our room at 08:00PM.

The location is quite good. Steps from the Star Ferry, is right on the shopping street and situated in Harbour City shopping complex, and not far from Nathan Road and Tsim Sha Tsui MTR.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    910
    279
    92
    42
See reviews for
612
715
151
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel is very convenient to Harbour City, which is where we shopped mostly. It's easy access for the Airport Shuttle Bus as it stops right at the hotel.

The check-in when we got there took a long time. We got a room at around 3:30pm instead of the usual 2pm check-in. Their reason was there were too many guests that time so housekeeping took some time to clean up the rooms. It would have been ok if we did not have our kids with us, but since we have 2 toddlers tired from the trip, it had been a slight discomfort.

We just got a standard room with no view but it has good enough space for 2 adults and 2 toddlers. They were able to provide a crib for our other infant and the room was well maintained everytime. We'll definitely come back if we have the budget!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylovechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

While some 400 passengers were clamouring for a taxi after our cruise ship docked, we just walked about 10 minutes through the huge Harbour City Shopping Mall (it has some 700 shops) to the VERY conveniently located Marco Polo Hong Kong Hotel.

Our deluxe room #820 was large, clean & comfortable with views over the smallish hotel pool surrounded by building walls & windows.

Excellent location right near/opposite the Star ferry terminal and adjacent to all the harbour-front action along Tsim Sha Tsui, and an easy walk to the nearby Peninsula Hotel & Arcade.

BEWARE: You may want to have breakfast elsewhere as the coffee was near $AUD10 each per cup! When we complained about the price, the waiter advised "but it's a bottomless cup" but as they closed breakfast at 11am, we had no time for any refills! Also, as we turned up at 10.45am, the waitress was more interested in telling us they close at 11am ..... so instead of the buffet, we went à la carte.

The busy lobby was rather spartan with minimal seating and none of the 3 counters were labelled as to their intended separate functions - eg. Check In, Check Out & Information.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger! .... our friends told us so ( they had a "normal size" room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schuy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for my birthday and for Christmas eve/day for 5 days. They gave me an awesome Cheesecake for my birthday and on Christmas eve, left cookies for us.
Last trip we stayed at their sister hotel, Marco Polo Gateway and prior to that, Prince. We had a better room at the Gateway because we were automatically upgraded to a Club Room (with a Nespresso Coffee Maker in room and a wonderful bathroom) because we stayed for 6 nights and the room was a lot bigger - needs updating. Only thing that the Marco Polo Hong Kong hotel had to boot was the view (Heritage 1881 and a partial harbour view) and of course, the buffet breakfast included in the stay.
Overall, it was a pleasant one as my nephew immensely enjoyed using the pool and the service given to him. The daily breakfast was something to look forward to as there were different dishes available that weren't available the previous day. The security, location and ways to get to your room was great (via Ocean Terminal/Lane Crawford store and Star House plus through the entrance right at the Ocean Terminal Entrance). Would stay there again...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayn_dj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Excellent location, great hotel, every thing is good, the normal rooms or the executive ones. Service is at the level you can expect in Asia, breakfast buffet is great, and room very comfortable for HK.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerometm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

A harbour view and membership of the hotel's Continental Club are both worthwhile investments when staying at this excellent hotel. The former provides a wide panoramic outlook over the busy and ever-interesting harbour, from the Bank of China building on Hong Kong Island to the south and the massive Sky 100 building to the north. Membership of the Club rewards you with a room on the top two floors of the hotel, a separate check-in service on the 17th floor, as well as breakfast and early evening cocktails.

The hotel itself is brilliantly positioned - it's a three-minute walk to either the Star Ferry terminal for the ever enjoyable trip across to Central or to a 2.5 mile harbour-side promenade which is great for walks or runs.

On top of which the service is impeccable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeNZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I was at the lobby/cafe for a business meeting and I should say that I was impressed with the lobby and the classiness of the hotel.

Looking further at the photos posted by the management & travelers' certainly entice me to stay with Marco Polo for my next Hong Kong trip! Absolute delicious!

Located along the shopping district, near to the Hong Kong Cultural Center and Avenue Of Stars, you're certainly at the right place if you're looking to take a night off, looking across the beautiful nightview of Hong Kong.

Definitely will stay here for my next trip!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLim83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#32 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#37 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#13 of 718 in Hong Kong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,439 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#67 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the spectacular Victoria Harbour, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is located along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, at the heart of the city's busiest commercial, shopping and business hub. The Star Ferry and Hong Kong's cruise terminal are at your footstep, while shopping is right next door with the hotel forming part of Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex. Guests enjoy easy access to the area's major tourist attractions like Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong Space Museum and Hong Kong Cultural Centre. After an exciting day of sightseeing or business meetings, settle into one of the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel's 665 guestrooms and suites while staying connected via the complimentary Wi-Fi internet service, which is now fully up and running throughout the hotel, or catch up with the latest blockbuster from the wide selection of movies while enjoying the hotel's In-room Dining service. For guests preferring the exclusive comfort and personalised service of The Continental Club, our designated guest floors come with unparalleled benefits that have become hallmarks of the Marco Polo hospitality. In a city known as the 'Culinary Capital of Asia', the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel features three of Hong Kong's most renowned restaurants and bars, to include Cucina which features Italian open kitchen, all-day international cuisine at Cafe Marco, and the Rum Bar at Lobby Lounge - conferred the Guinness World Record for "Bar with the World's Largest Selection of Commercially Available Rums." Whether you are looking to plan your dream wedding or the perfect corporate meeting, our 14 state-of-the-art function rooms will meet your every need. The built-in audio-visual facilities of the function rooms on sixth level provide the ideal setting for small- to medium-sized events. The Centenary Ballroom at lobby level is the perfect balance between elegance and intelligent architecture, where clients can transfer even the biggest display materials easily due to the ballroom's unique lobby level access. Stay connected with family, friends, and workplace from our Connect Lounge. Take a dip in our pool to unwind after a long day out, or do a quick workout at the gym. Better still, indulge in some retail therapy at the adjacent Harbour City shopping mall which is the ultimate destination for shopping, dining and entertainment with over 450 shops that feature the world's leading brands. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Staying at the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel gives you the perfect blend of warm Asian hospitality and a central location with its convenient access to Kowloon and Hong Kong. Hotel note: In our effort to continually provide a top quality environment for our guests at Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, a hotel exterior upgrading programme will be carried out in phases, from Mondays to Saturdays between 9am and 6pm, with expected completion in the second quarter of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing