We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel with exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Ranked #80 of 718 Hotels in Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel with exceptional service”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

What can I say, amazing hotel with fantastic service. From the moment they greet you until the time that you leave, you are treated like royalty.

I was there on business and stayed on the Club Floor Lounge and my experience there was nothing short of perfect.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and I really would spend a little more to have the facilities of the Club Lounge.

I would also like to say a massive thank you to all the wonderful staff. From the housekeeping, reception, service personnel in the Club Lounge to the Concierge; they were all fantastic and made my stay phenomenal so thank you.

When I am in Hong Kong, there is only one place that I will stay and that is the Marco Polo Hong Kong Hotel. What a wonderful hotel and once again, thank you for an incredible experience.

Room Tip: Go the Club Floor, well worth the extra dollars :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,309
    939
    287
    97
    47
See reviews for
637
733
154
735
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, QLD
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recent business trip to Honkong after many years i found it to be a charming spotlessly clean and fantastic for high end shopping. The Marco Polo Hong Kong Hotel is older style very stylish clean and friendly. The staff cannot do enough for you. The Hotel has a brilliant location especially for shopping, fantastic breakfast and buffet in the evening. The Chinese resturant on La Shanghia has a Michelin star but i personally found this food a bit ordinary. room could do with a new bed as this one is to hard for my taste.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Since we are traveling with a baby and another older child, space is an importance to us. Upon checking in to the physical room, to our pleasant surprise, we have been allocated to a spacious room with a separate living area. A king size bed and baby playpen was arranged accordingly. The housekeeper who assisted to setup the playpen was also very thoughtful, she returned to our room with an additional piece of base for the playpen which provides better support and will be more comfortable for the baby. We noticed that additional bottled drinking water was also given to us after every housekeeping service and we really appreciate the kind gesture. We had issues with the toilet and this was resolved within minutes and based on our experience with so many other reputable hotels, their prompt action is commendable. Our overall experience with this hotel has been great and memorable, we shall look forward to our return stay in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OliandVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Marco Polo for a week and we were spoilt. Room and facilities are excellent, staff couldn't be more helpful, location is easy to get to and the food was great.

We had an issue with our room and the staff immediately assigned us a new room so they could figure out the problem without disturbing us. We also were given a hamper in apology. Service was excellent.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank liss01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I recently book a 2 bedroom with 2 seperate bed with the hotel. We specified that we want 2 seperate beds, same floor, non-smoking floors upon our booking. When we arrived at 3pm for check-in the front desk informed us that only one room is available and we could put our items on that bedroom first while the other room is still being cleaned up. We agreed and say we'll just return later tonight to get the key for the second room. When we arrived at around 7pm to check for the second room, we went into the room on the same floor but the bed was only 1 Queen size bed. I knew from reading some TA advice that if you wait on the room to make the changes this will be a very frustating event. So we just left the room and went downstair to inform the front desk about the situation. They told me that they have another room but on a different floor, I agreed as long as it fits our need of non-smoking and two seperate bed.

Overall, our stay here is quite good since the location is basically very near a shopping mall, close to mrt, close to the ferry and relatively close to nathan road. The housekeeping staff is quite good, we requested for additional pillow and they came immediately, we requested for newspaper every morning and they oblige, they even gave us additional bottled water when we came back to our room one night after seeing them in the hallway.

For a hotel at this level, the rooms are pretty good size specially considering HK. However, it is a bit old already and needs some renovation or upgrade. The complimentary coffee is just instant coffee, which is far inferior to other similar hotel class that gives better quality of coffee such as nespresso. The bathroom amenities aren't that high class as well. But these are just small things that I didn't really mind since I don't use them as much.

I am a bit nitpicking here, but the elevators are a bit slow... there are days when only 4 elevators are working...and there are a lot of queue especially on certain rush hours of the day. On the day of our departure we also have to wait for a few full elevators running down before we can get in.

Having said these, I still think that this is a good hotel due to its location and bedroom size for HK.

Room Tip: I politely ask the front desk for any room upgrade, normally in other places I tried this and they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bidaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We've been staying at the Marco Polo for years and it still hasn't changed much. This is not to say that it could use some improvements in some areas, but the areas that matter - service, luxury, elegance have not changed a bit. It's been 20 years and this hotel has not faltered one bit. There are other, more modern hotels around the city such as the Mira and the Icon that I have stayed, but I find myself continually coming back to the Marco Polo. Call me nostalgic, but some brands just age well and the Marco Polo is one of them. Good breakfast too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Marco Polo Hong Kong is about what you would expect of a 5 star hotel. We decided to pay the extra and upgraded to the club suites that included breakfast, afternoon drinks and cocktails with canapés and drinks in the evening. All in the club lounge and all complimentary.

The breakfast was lovely as was the evening experience. Outstanding service by well trained staff.

The room was very well appointed with a super comfortable bed and very quiet. The view was "forgettable" with our window overlooking a loading dock 17 floors below. But apart from that it was exactly as you would expect for a quality hotel.

The location is ideal and only a short walk to the Star Ferry to Hong Kong Island.

So if you are prepared to pay the money, then this hotel lives up very well to its reputation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pisang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hong Kong hotels
Tsim Sha Tsui
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
Gateway Hotel Hong Kong
#33 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,178 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
Prince (Marco Polo Hotels)
#41 of 718 in Hong Kong
1,133 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Salisbury-YMCA of Hong Kong
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tsim Sha Tsui
The Langham, Hong Kong
The Langham, Hong Kong
#11 of 718 in Hong Kong
3,567 reviews
Tsim Sha Tsui
Sheraton Hong Kong Hotel & Towers
Tsim Sha Tsui
Hyatt Regency Hong Kong, Tsim Sha Tsui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel

Property: Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel
Address: No.3 Canton Road, Harbour City, Tsim Sha Tsui, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
Location: China > Hong Kong > Tsim Sha Tsui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Hong Kong
#23 Romantic Hotel in Hong Kong
#30 Business Hotel in Hong Kong
#73 Luxury Hotel in Hong Kong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 665
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the spectacular Victoria Harbour, the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel is located along Canton Road in Tsim Sha Tsui, at the heart of the city's busiest commercial, shopping and business hub. The Star Ferry and Hong Kong's cruise terminal are at your footstep, while shopping is right next door with the hotel forming part of Harbour City - Hong Kong's largest shopping complex. Guests enjoy easy access to the area's major tourist attractions like Kowloon Park, Hong Kong Museum of Art, Hong Kong Space Museum and Hong Kong Cultural Centre. After an exciting day of sightseeing or business meetings, settle into one of the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel's 665 guestrooms and suites while staying connected via the complimentary Wi-Fi internet service, which is now fully up and running throughout the hotel, or catch up with the latest blockbuster from the wide selection of movies while enjoying the hotel's In-room Dining service. For guests preferring the exclusive comfort and personalised service of The Continental Club, our designated guest floors come with unparalleled benefits that have become hallmarks of the Marco Polo hospitality. In a city known as the 'Culinary Capital of Asia', the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel features three of Hong Kong's most renowned restaurants and bars, to include Cucina which features Italian open kitchen, all-day international cuisine at Cafe Marco, and the Rum Bar at Lobby Lounge - conferred the Guinness World Record for "Bar with the World's Largest Selection of Commercially Available Rums." Whether you are looking to plan your dream wedding or the perfect corporate meeting, our 14 state-of-the-art function rooms will meet your every need. The built-in audio-visual facilities of the function rooms on sixth level provide the ideal setting for small- to medium-sized events. The Centenary Ballroom at lobby level is the perfect balance between elegance and intelligent architecture, where clients can transfer even the biggest display materials easily due to the ballroom's unique lobby level access. Stay connected with family, friends, and workplace from our Connect Lounge. Take a dip in our pool to unwind after a long day out, or do a quick workout at the gym. Better still, indulge in some retail therapy at the adjacent Harbour City shopping mall which is the ultimate destination for shopping, dining and entertainment with over 450 shops that feature the world's leading brands. Enjoy your journey in Hong Kong to the fullest with a handy, a complimentary smartphone for travellers with the power to keep guests totally connected while exploring the city. Built-in benefits include unlimited 3G mobile internet, unlimited local calls, Wi-Fi hotspot and tethering, dining and city guide and exclusive ticketing offers. Staying at the Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel gives you the perfect blend of warm Asian hospitality and a central location with its convenient access to Kowloon and Hong Kong. Hotel note: In our effort to continually provide a top quality environment for our guests at Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel, a hotel exterior upgrading programme will be carried out in phases, from Mondays to Saturdays between 9am and 6pm, with expected completion in the second quarter of 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Marco Polo Hongkong
Marco Polo Hotel Hong Kong
Marco Polo Hongkong Hong Kong
Hong Kong Marco Polo Hotel
Marco Polo Hongkong Hotel Hong Kong

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing